We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners that care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Save
You added Meuble il Riccio to your Saves list
Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owners that care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location right off Piazza Grande. Everyone we encountered, especially the owner Joe, was friendly and welcoming. Beautiful terrace with a view of Montepulciano, perfect for drinking wine and taking some pictures. We did not choose to have the breakfast for an extra 8 Euros/person, which we regretted once we saw the spread! Rooms/bathrooms had enough space and were private and quiet. Rates were very reasonable. Loved our visit and our stay, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear MLO427,
that you for your review and for having described so well everything.
We will wait you next time and .... remeber to choose the breakfast at least once and taste the Ivana cakes.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    77
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
88
394
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Last year we stayed with Gio and Ivana, who took great care of me during a bout with the flu. I was so humbled by their caring that we had to go back and see them during our most recent trip. It was like coming home to family. Their B&B is charming, comfortable and welcoming. Ivana makes the most delicious breakfast and cappuccinos with a smile. We brought a small gift of a hedgehog (or Riccio) statue; I will never forget the look of joy on Ivana's face. We know we can always come back and visit and feel so welcomed. This is a great property, well run with an incredible location and Ivana's pastry. If you're going to stay in Montepulciano. don't stay anywhere else. If our travels take us back to Italy again, we will certainly stop to see our friends!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley...the views are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear beachgirlamy,
we remeber you very well. As you said in your review, "we had to return" we respond: we are waiting you with infinite pleasure.Thank you for your post and take care of you.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We could not have been happier with Meuble Il Riccio. The view from our room was incredible, and the town was wonderful, the staff friendly and inviting. I could not recommend the "Superior" room more highly!!!, highlight of our trip so far, it will be hard to beat!
David from Perth Australia

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear DSparrow,
even if you stay only one day, we remember with pleasure of your wonderful family. We are delighted that your stay here was highlight of your trip.
Grazie and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I strongly recommend Meuble Il Riccio in Montepulciano, owned and operated by the Carota family. Signor "Gio" Carota is a jovial, gregarious gentleman; his wife la Signora Caroti is the embodiment of quiet graciousness and natural refinement. Together they manage this gorgeous small hotel with efficiency and skill. The hotel is perfectly located. Although the hotel lacks a restaurant for lunch and dinner, there are many places to eat within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Barry G,
Thank you for the title "simple the best"; as we wrote in a previous review we try to do the best for our guests. We will never stop to improve the quality of our small hotel.
Hope to see you next time.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved Il Ricco... Gio, Ivana and the staff were great. Our oversized corner room (35) had the most amazing view of the valley and the city. Gio proved to be the perfect host when we needed an emergency dentist visit. Grazia Gio. Ivana's home baked goods were the best. Their restaurant recommendations were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmt522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Maria T,
we try to do the best for our guests. Sometimes they are happy sometimes a little less. But of course we are always at your disposal. In you case, we find a good dentist.
Thank you for your post and Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We learned of Meuble il Riccio from my brother who stayed and loved it two years ago. Rick Steves continues to recommend the B&B, and we even saw his picture in the breakfast room! The name means "hedgehog" and there are hundreds of hedgehogs throughout the lovely medieval home. Gio and Ivana are gracious hosts, and Ivana's homemade tarts on the breakfast bar are TO DIE FOR! Each day I found a new favorite. Our room, #33, was the nicest of all the rooms we enjoyed in 19 days in Europe. The bed was firm and comfortable, the entire property was clean-as-a-whistle, and the view from our balcony was surreal. We love the small hill town of Montepulciano, and hope to return. When we do, we will stay at Meuble il Riccio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drlynn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear drlynn525,
thanks for " bucket list" and everything that you described so detailed.
We are happy when our guests are happy.
Hope to see you soon.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saw hotel on a Rick Steves' TV show, and read up on it. We made a good choice. It was a great place to stay in Montepulciano. We had a room in the new wing. The view from our room (and bathroom) was fantastic. Our hosts were very friendly. The hotel is more like a B&B. Great small town to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansBenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NewOrleansBenmo,
we are glad that you have been well at Meublè IL RICCIO and you enjoy the town.
Yes is true: in a small town you may find great things to explore and to in a small hotel, great things to do.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing