We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Coming Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Pietrasanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coming Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have been coming back to Meuble il Riccio for many years now and we have never been disappointed. It is located at the top of Montepulciano on a side street just off the piazza. This historic property has been beautifully renovated and just recently they have added 5 newly renovated rooms. No attention to detail was overlooked. All the rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. There are beautiful views from the rooms and also from the rooftop deck - a must see. The breakfast is sumptuous, located in the beautiful reception room, with delicious Italian coffee - espresso, cappuccino or americano. Gio and Ivana are wonderful hosts and make everyone feel welcome. Gio is an accomplished photographer so check out his photographs. The paintings were done by his father. When we come here we know we can relax because it feels like we are coming home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Marjorie T,
thank you very much for your opinion. Is always a pleasure to have you here with us. Our home is your home. We are waiting for the next time, hoping to show a novelty.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    80
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
95
416
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dana point california
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had an OK stay at this hotel. We've been to Italy several times and this trip has been over 5 weeks long. We enjoyed Montepulciano and the location of Meuble ll Riccio is very good indeed. The hotel is in a historic building which gives it great character, but lacks some creature comforts. Our room was clean, but smal,l and the bathroom was very small. We had some problems with water pressure in the mornings. It can be a long walk from their parking location and up a flight of stairs - it was no problem for us, but anyone with walking issues might have trouble. I felt the 8E breakfast was overpriced, but of course you don't have to purchase the breakfast. We've stayed in over 20 inns, hotels and b&b's this trip and I would rate this hotel was average to good in comparison.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rewirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinion. We work very hard to improve the quality of your stay here at Meublè IL RICCIO and we do our best for our guests. Unfortunately, some defects not depend on us but from the structure: the stairs, the measurement of the standard rooms, the size of the bathrooms. For this we made available to our guests THE NEW RICCIO SUITE. Two different facilities with different quality and comfort. So that you can choose the room you prefer.
Hope to see you next time.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have just returned from a month long trip in Italy and my favorite hotel was Meuble Il Riccio in Montepulciano. The room was beautifully updated with attention to detail. The courtyard was beautiful and lovely flowers abounded everywhere. Our room had a lovely balcony which overlooked the Tuscan valley. The owners Gio and Ivana were very gracious and made us feel as though we were at home. Don't miss this hotel if you are in the Tuscan area!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #34. It is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your words of appreciation and for your post. We really try hard to provide good service for our guests.
Especially we are proud to be your "favorite" Hotel.
Kind Regards and Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in Montepulciano for my wife's birthday, we chose Meuble il Riccio because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor ... we were not disappointed, the hotel was unique and very homely. Gio and Ivana were wonderful hosts and they made my wife's birthday a special day for her. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Saundie,
have celebrated the birthday of your wife to Meublé IL Riccio was an honor for us.
Thank you very much for your post and hope you will come back again with your wife and your friends.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you like staying in historic surroundings, this is a treat. Located in the ancient hilltop town of Montepulciano, there is abundant opportunity to sample the local food and wine. There are wine cellars and good restaurants in walking distance - the main town centre is down the hill. Gio Allana and Simone are genial hosts who will ensure a great stay - it is very peaceful here especially at night when the day trippers have gone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Robyn B,
Yes is true. Montepulciano is a small Tuscan delight. We are very glad to give all the informations to our guests and make it feel like at home.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Joe is amazing, very friendly and helpful. Recommendations on food and the area, comfortable beds, can't beat having some extra living space. We got there a little early and they hurried to get us into our room. Be sure to stop here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Bryan S,
I thank you for your post and I'm happy to see that you had good time with us. I'm sure you will be back and we will be here to welcome you!
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Probably my favourite town and favourite hotel in all of Tuscany. The rooms at il Riccio were beautifully renovated within a stunning historic building which has been in the family for many generations. Gio, Ivana and Simone are very gracious hosts. We had a room with spectacular views over the valley, and a lovely evening was passed watching the sunset from our balcony with cheese, bread, olives and fruit from the wonderful providores in the village. We immediately recommended the hotel to close friends who were travelling through Monte a week later. Getting to the hotel is a bit tricky, beware the GPS instructions and make sure you download the maps and permits provided by the hotel and follow the Mueble Il Riccio signposts on the streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Rosa F,
we remember you and your love for the hedgehogs. We are glad that your stay here in Montepulciano was favourite in all Tuscany and thak you for recommended the hotel to your friends. Hope to come back together.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#18 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing