We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place! Love the hedgehogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place! Love the hedgehogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Probably my favourite town and favourite hotel in all of Tuscany. The rooms at il Riccio were beautifully renovated within a stunning historic building which has been in the family for many generations. Gio, Ivana and Simone are very gracious hosts. We had a room with spectacular views over the valley, and a lovely evening was passed watching the sunset from our balcony with cheese, bread, olives and fruit from the wonderful providores in the village. We immediately recommended the hotel to close friends who were travelling through Monte a week later. Getting to the hotel is a bit tricky, beware the GPS instructions and make sure you download the maps and permits provided by the hotel and follow the Mueble Il Riccio signposts on the streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Rosa F,
we remember you and your love for the hedgehogs. We are glad that your stay here in Montepulciano was favourite in all Tuscany and thak you for recommended the hotel to your friends. Hope to come back together.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    84
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
103
432
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying here. It was absolutely amazing! It is a beautiful place, the rooms and views are breathtaking, and Gio, Ivana and Simone are amazing hosts! We felt transported back in time, and this was a great "home base" for exploring Montepulciano and the surrounding area. We bought a bottle of wine and some meats and cheeses from some of the local shops and had them on our private balcony overlooking the countryside...bellisimo!. A truly authentic and unforgetable experience!

Room Tip: Spring for a little extra and get one of the rooms with a balcony (I think it was rooms 32 & 34...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Gabrielle B,
Nice to see that you found a good place to stay in Montepulciano and remember that at Meublè IL RICCIO you never feel alone. A bottle of wine, a truly authentic and unforgetable experience like back in time and us!
Thank you and Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a truly outstanding small hotel in the center of one of Tuscany's most delightful hill towns. The management and the staff are friendly and helpful and the settings are generous. If you are in the Siena area and want a delightful and refreshing retreat then this is a definite must.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Dean M,
Thank you for your post and thank you for your words of appreciation, we really try hard to provide good service for our guests.
We are very glad to be for you " a definite must ".
My best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are so glad we stayed at Il Riccio for two nights in late September. We were welcomed into a beautiful historic home that had just enough modernity about it to make us feel superbly comfortable. The location is perfect -- footsteps from the plaza and at the tippy top of Montepulciano. Our room looked out on the beautiful courtyard. Make sure to visit the roof garden, to print out the parking permit that is given to hotel guests, and to ask Gio for the history of his home. Staying at Il Riccio made visiting Montepulciano even more memorable.
Liz and Tony

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Liz B,
I thank you for your post and Delightful words. I'm very happy you found what you were looking for and I'm happy you keep good memory of your trip to Montepulciano.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I can not imagine staying anywhere else in Montepulciano. Gio and Ivana have created both a hospitable and historic atmosphere in their beautiful hotel. The rooms are nicely updated and common areas are charmingly intimate on the upper floors, including the exterior rooftop seating. The star, though, is the huge entry common area where you check in and eat breakfast. Photographs don't capture the beauty of this area's extremely high ceilings and intimate seating area. You feel enveloped by history, but with a comfort those in the past never had. After dinner one night, after climbing the stairs the entry room lights were dimmed and it was quiet, so we sat there soaking it in, trying to remember every detail.

We stayed in Room 31 in late September for two nights. It is large, especially compared to normal European hotel rooms. Since the hotel was busy, our traveling companions had to change rooms, from 3 to 4. However, they were able to overlook the city one night and the spectacular Tuscan countryside the second. The mattress is quite firm for my taste, but that's not unusual in European hotels. Our bathroom was large and modern, while the closet provided enough space to allow space to hang clothes for weeks if you chose. Room 31 has a window overlooking the beautiful interior courtyard and a window opposite overlooking narrow via Talosa with a wine tasting room.

Driving to the hotel can be tricky and we, on GPS instructions, tried to enter from the lower town - a mistake. It's important to not turn into Montepulciano until you're at the upper end with the Duomo as your landmark. If you're coming from Florence, you drive all the way past town and come back in. The signage to the hotel is pretty good. We had a small car and were able to drive to Il Riccio and unload before returning to the parking garage. The map on the hotel web site is quite good, but I'd hadn't printed it out. Do NOT use your GPS in town - useless.

There's no better overnight experience in Montepulciano than that offered by Meuble (hedgehog-you'll see them everywhere) Il Riccio. The hosts are wonderful, the building is historic and the location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "first floor" are recently renovated, while the upper rooms are not. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
you described your stay in a wonderful way. We have nothing to add, and we are happy to have nice guests like you. It 'been a pleasure talking with you.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Il Meuble di Riccio is a good place to stay but I wouldn't rate it as highly as many other reviewers have. My wife and I are fit people in our sixties who regard walking less than 25000 steps a day as slothful. But be warned. It is a long uphill walk from the bus stops and then there are many steps up to the hotel and then to the rooms. There is a minibus that will take you relatively close but no-one told us about that and besides it did not seem to be all that regular. There are five new rooms here but we stayed in one of the older ones on a higher floor with a wonderful view out over rooftops and the valley. The room was comfortable and not too small but the bathroom was cramoed and the shower small. But our room's bathrom was large compared with one we saw here where you had to squeeze sideways past the basin to get in. Males and females could do damage to sensitive body parts here if not careful.

As many other reviewers have noted, Gio and Ivana are gracious hosts but we did not think the breakfast (optional, not included in the room rate) was as good as others have said. Only one juice, no yoghurt, fresh but dry bread (well, this is Italy!), no fruit at all. Good local cheese however and excellent local sausage, and a daily fruit tart made by Ivana a that was always very good. Excellent free wifi included. Quiet location. We appreciated the wonderfully warm welcome from Simona and her friendly advice whenever we asked questions.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear DeeKayAdelaide,
thak you for your post. Unfortunately, we know there are some drawbacks but not always depend on us. We will try to do our best for all our guests.
Hope when you will come back to see and find this.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I spent two weeks at Il Sasso in Montepulciano this summer as a much-needed "sabbatical" from 3 teenagers. I cannot say enough about the kindness of Gio and his family. They made sure that I had everything I needed and were always available. The location was fabulous... at night, I'd open the windows and listen to the local folk rehearsing for the Bruscello. The room was small for a 2-week stay, but I have no doubt I could have moved had I asked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonivdhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear ToniPaterson,
Giò, Ivana and all the staff would like to thank you for your two weeks stay in Montepulciano.
After all this time is normal to feel you like at home.
Hope to see you next year!
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing