We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel ! Rick Steve's needs to correct his "unremarkable" comment about this hotel”
Review of Albergo Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Duomo
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel ! Rick Steve's needs to correct his "unremarkable" comment about this hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Montepulciano and somehow entered the very narrow winding maze of streets! We were hopelessly lost and my husband set out on foot to find it. Twenty minutes later Severio came down to our car and drove it up up up to the hotel. Very helpful staff nice clean room and clean bathroom ... good location... would recommend this good value for money. Should have booked another night before driving to Florence...next time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    126
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
51
184
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidson, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The sister of the owner was a charming host.
The hotel has a tiny elevator to help with moving your luggage or your tired mother (like mine).
The room was big enough and had a good bathroom. We were one minute from the Duomo and central square. We were at the top of the hill, we used all afternoon to walk down and took the bus back up at the end of the day - perfect!
Parking was included and the lot was about 2 blocks away.
This was the best breakfast in the 3 weeks in Italy. Likely a 15Euro breakfast at a restaurant. The picture on the site is pretty accurate. The list of items, including protein items, was long and delicious. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison55302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyton, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had an excellent stay in Montepulciano. Severio was extremely helpful. He took the time to help us map a route to see the countryside and recommended sites. He also spent time with us during breakfast and explained some of the Italian cultural practices. The hotel is in a great location near the top of the town. The breakfast was very good and only 5 euro, and they have parking available close by. The bed is very firm and the shower is small- but after touring Italy I've learned that such is par for the course. If you want a plush, luxury bedroom, stay in america. Hotel Albergo Duomo is very clean, quaint, and offers everything you need for a stay in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are a twilight fan you may be intrigued to know this is where the cast stayed during filming. However that does not mean it is Hollywood standard.

It had all the character of an Italian B and B, old Tuscan bed and wardrobe, strange angled staircase and a nice sitting room area with breakfast terrace.

It is situated at the top of the hill just off the main Piazza which is a great location. The receptionist was full of knowledge and very helpful. The bathroom was not as good as I would hope, with a pretty annoying shower and the bed was not the comfiest and a bit squeaky every time I rolled over. However I have come to learn this is the Italian standard so as far as places to stay in Tuscany go I would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The great place from all perspective. The best location, parking, and staff. Unfortunately I don't remember the name of a manager who helped us with parking, who offered us a free of charge coffee, who was amazingly helpful will all our requests and questions. It made our stay here. Maybe you can find a 5* hotel somewhere but you won't find such a cozy and nice place, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My Husband and I had an amazing experience at this hotel. We drove to Montepulciano from Siena and one of the front desk workers could sense our anxiety about parking our car as we parked at the town gate and walked up the big and steep hill top to the Duomo. This kind man took us in his car and drove us to our car rental, exchanged our bags into his car and we followed him to the hotel parking (100 meters from hotel) and dropped off our bags with his car right at the front door.... now THAT is service!

We stayed in a double- the bathroom was small but that's Europe for you (we stayed in about 6 hotels in one month and they were ALL small), bed was comfortable for a European double (actually a double, not two twins!!). We did not eat at the hotel because it was 5 Euro's each and we referred to eat elsewhere but we were told the food was amazing. There is a wonderful livingroom for guests to enjoy downstairs- the fire is gorgeous, the hotel cat is adorable and cozy- PLUS there is free ice wine and biscotti next to the couches for all guests to enjoy... how fabulous!

Desk staff were also very helpful with tips for wineries to enjoy, sights, walks and restaurants!
We would love to come back!
Thank you so much Duomo for a fabulous time!!!

Room Tip: Our room had beautiful character, comfy bed and nice shutters to view the garden. Check out the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunGoddess23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has nice rooms, is clean and is very well situated in the centre of a very nice town. There are 2 things we found really better than in many other Italian hotels: the staff and the breakfast. The staff was very helpfull and friendly, and the breakfast was beyond our expectations (travelling through Italy, diners are great, but breakfasts in general are poor). If you visit Montepulciano, we absolutely recommend this place. Good price/quality relation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Marieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Duomo

Property: Albergo Duomo
Address: Via di San Donato 14, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Duomo is a small family run hotel near Piazza Grande the main square of Montepulciano historical centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Duomo Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing