We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magical Montorio!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montorio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montorio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical Montorio!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Montorio is a truly magical place. This was our fourth consecutive visit and each time we leave, we promise to return again.

Picture this. A beautifully restored ancient building situated on its own little knoll just outside the hilltop town of Montepulciano. Stunning panoramic views of the southern Tuscan countryside. Simple and well maintained gardens and terrace overlooking the renaissance church of San Biagio. Mature cypress trees to keep you cool and plenty of room and sunbeds to laze about in the sun. Even on the hottest of days at the height of summer, a cooling breeze seems to create a natural outdoor AC system. Very tastefully designed apartments with Italian furniture and all the facilities one needs for a self catering holiday. Montorio really is a truly magical place.

If you can drag yourself away from Montorio, there are plenty of picturesque hilltop towns to visit nearby, for example, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and Montichello (go there in the evening time to see the sunset). Along the way, you will meander through the rolling Tuscan hills, a treat in itself. Florence is 90 minutes away and San Gimignano, Siena, Cortona etc are also within easy reach. You can even go to Rome by train on a day trip from nearby Chiusi station – about 20 minutes away by car - cars can be hired at the station also if you are coming from Rome or other cities and don’t relish the thought of driving on the A1.

The owner of Montorio, Stefania, is extremely helpful and friendly. She has excellent English and always has good suggestions for trips and restaurants.

A stay in Montorio will be unforgettable and no matter how long you spend there it won’t be long enough!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Mr Seirl,

thank you for your fantastic review, thank you to have been already 4 times at montorio, thank you for your lovely words and to love so much Montorio.

Looking forward to see you next year

Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Inn was recommended by a family member who had previously stayed there. It was all that we expected. Montorio was in a great location, centrally located in Tuscany which allowed us to drive to different towns during the day and return at night. The view from the inn was beautiful and the owner Stefania was very nice and accomodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mrs Lisa,
thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again maybe with all your family
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved our time at Montorio. The location was perfect for all the touring we did in Tuscany and offered a restful place to return at night. Our apartment generously accommodated us and our two kids with room to spare. Everything was impeccably clean and neat and well cared for and Stefania offered perfect recommendations for sites to see, places to experience and places to eat. We've already recommended Montorio as a great base to stay when you want the option to either be active or kick back and relax. The view is captivating. Could spend a month a year here after retirement.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mr Tom,
it was really a pleasure to guest you and your family and It will be great if you could spent a month with us, I will give you nice advise about what to see, this is a region that offer a lot.
Looking forward to the next time
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would highly recommend Montorio. The location is great, it has laundry and a beautiful view. Stefania is a very hostess and helped us find some good restaurants.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GautamMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
dear Mr GautamMumbai,

Thank you for your review and your lovely words. I am very pleased that you like MOntorio and its unique location.

All my best regards to all your family

sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On the hill above San Bagio and within walking distance of Montepulciano this is a perfect place to stay. The apartments have everything you need for a relaxing holiday, the garden has great views of the surrounding countryside and is well laid out for relaxing outdoors. The grounds are terraces of fruit and olive trees with a gated drive so it is a private and tranquil place to be. Ample parking available for residents. A perfect place for a family gathering or couples.
The owner Stefania is friendly and very helpful, providing local knowledge and advice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamourna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mr Lamourna,

thank you very much for your fantastic review and thank you to have choosen MONTORIO during your stay in MOntepulciano area.

I hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely

Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Situated at the foot of Montepulciano, this set of classic Tuscan apartments offers a wonderful setting, well maintained accommodation, and friendly service. The apartments are about 15 minutes walk or 3 mins drive from the centre of Montepulciano, and the property's terraces provide great views of the surrounding countryside, and stunning out door eating settings.

The owner Stefania is very welcoming and helpful, and justifiably proud of the accommodation. We stayed here for a week, touring by car and walking out with plenty to see.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueTim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Sue-Tim,
thank you very much for your review and thank you to have spent a week in MOntorio.
I hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We rented two of the self catering apartments for a family birthday celebration. Location is excellent with the town a 10 minute walk away (up a hill). Tastefully furnished and well equipped with help on almost any matter only a phone call away (to owner Stefania who also owns the beautiful Villa Poggiano hotel about 1.5 km away). The grounds, full of olive trees, are beautifully maintained. The apartments were serviced and cleaned daily. The availability of a laundry room with washer and dryer (no additional charge) was a real plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Mr Unter,
thank you very much for your review. This is very important for us because the only way we can have new guests is by "word of Mouth", and I am sure this will help.

I am very happy that you decided to spent your holiday birthday with your family in MOntorio and It was really a pleasure to see you again.

I hope I will guest you again , for your third time, at MOntorio or at Villa Poggiano.

Kind regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
0.5 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#6 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo San Gallo
Agriturismo San Gallo
#34 of 76 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Dimora del Corso
La Dimora del Corso
#15 of 44 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montorio

Property: Montorio
Address: Strada Per Pienza 2, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montorio is an ex monastery builted in 1300 Located just outside the city town of montepulciano in a walking distance My family bought montorio 1996 and was abandoned. Took 3 years to redone respecting the original design. Montorio is today a villa with 5 indipendent apartments wich kitchen or kitchenette, in a tuscan traditional elegant style , with all modern facility as: air condition in the bedrooms, satellite tv, wifi connection, laundry. Even if apartments we have a daily maid service except on sunday . Near montorio there are facilities as supermarket, restarants, bar. Montorio has the peculiarity to be very private because located on the top of a hill , with beautiful garden and unique view, but at the same time near to town that can be reached by foot in 15 minutes maximum. To garantee the privacy of our guestes and to make fell like home at the entrance of the property there is a gate that we keep closed and we provide a remote control to our guest montorio is your home away your home, perfect spot to relax and centrally located to explore the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montorio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing