We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montorio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would highly recommend Montorio. The location is great, it has laundry and a beautiful view. Stefania is a very hostess and helped us find some good restaurants.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GautamMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
dear Mr GautamMumbai,

Thank you for your review and your lovely words. I am very pleased that you like MOntorio and its unique location.

All my best regards to all your family

sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On the hill above San Bagio and within walking distance of Montepulciano this is a perfect place to stay. The apartments have everything you need for a relaxing holiday, the garden has great views of the surrounding countryside and is well laid out for relaxing outdoors. The grounds are terraces of fruit and olive trees with a gated drive so it is a private and tranquil place to be. Ample parking available for residents. A perfect place for a family gathering or couples.
The owner Stefania is friendly and very helpful, providing local knowledge and advice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamourna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mr Lamourna,

thank you very much for your fantastic review and thank you to have choosen MONTORIO during your stay in MOntepulciano area.

I hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely

Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Situated at the foot of Montepulciano, this set of classic Tuscan apartments offers a wonderful setting, well maintained accommodation, and friendly service. The apartments are about 15 minutes walk or 3 mins drive from the centre of Montepulciano, and the property's terraces provide great views of the surrounding countryside, and stunning out door eating settings.

The owner Stefania is very welcoming and helpful, and justifiably proud of the accommodation. We stayed here for a week, touring by car and walking out with plenty to see.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueTim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Sue-Tim,
thank you very much for your review and thank you to have spent a week in MOntorio.
I hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We rented two of the self catering apartments for a family birthday celebration. Location is excellent with the town a 10 minute walk away (up a hill). Tastefully furnished and well equipped with help on almost any matter only a phone call away (to owner Stefania who also owns the beautiful Villa Poggiano hotel about 1.5 km away). The grounds, full of olive trees, are beautifully maintained. The apartments were serviced and cleaned daily. The availability of a laundry room with washer and dryer (no additional charge) was a real plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Mr Unter,
thank you very much for your review. This is very important for us because the only way we can have new guests is by "word of Mouth", and I am sure this will help.

I am very happy that you decided to spent your holiday birthday with your family in MOntorio and It was really a pleasure to see you again.

I hope I will guest you again , for your third time, at MOntorio or at Villa Poggiano.

Kind regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This is the place to stay in Montepulciano and is at the foot of the city. We had a car and it was in the perfect location. The apartments were amazing. Nice kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. I prefer staying in apartments because I love to cook and get extremely excited buying fresh food in Italy. We found fresh truffles in the city :) There is also a really good cheese shop on the highway to Pienza that has truffle cheese. The villa complex had an area where you could take supper and eat it at night. It was extremely romantic. The villa is perched on a hill, so the views are nice.

I only recomend staying here in Montepulciano!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We had a wonderful time here - in part because we had the place to ourselves. Why? Stefania explained that it is July, and most of the people traveling are Europeans with familes, so they want a pool and air conditioning. Montorio doesn't have these. But it does have a spectacular location. It sits on a hill just outside Montepulciano, overlooking the beautiful church, with a panoramic view of the nearby Tuscan hills, including Montepulciano itself. Our suite included a small kitchen, most of which worked. We prepared several meals and ate our on the grounds overlooking the views - this was fabulous especially since no else was there. The room was large, with a sitting area, bathroom, bed area and kitchen/breakfast table, and dining table. So lots of room.

Although it was very hot in Tuscanny, and the rooms don't have air conditioning - there is a nice breeze in the afternoons and evening in this area - so it didn't matter.

Stefania was very helpful and friendly - gave us good restaurant recommendations which, for the most part, overlapped with Rick Steve's recommendations. She speaks very good English as well.

We enjoyed walking back and forth to Montepulciano - up a steep dirt road past the cemetary. Probably a 20 minute walk to get into town that route, you should be in pretty good shape to do that one. Other routes are less steep - but will take longer. We had a car, but didn't use it since parking in and near Montepulciano is difficult. From Montario we also ventured out to Deruta, Todi, Montelcino, and other little Tuscan towns by car. So it was a great location to explore Tuscanny and Umbria. Siena is about 90 minutes away too.

The only negative - there were nearby barking dogs at night - a common thing in the counry. But with ear plugs we were able to sleep well. Also in the hot summer it would be nice to have a pool and or air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Montorio is a former convent which has been divided into a number of self catering units. The one we stayed in was very comfortable, effectively a one bedroomed apartment with the necessary facilities. However, when you see the views this place has you will want to spend as little time as possible inside. For starters, it overlooks the church of San Biagio which was apparently designed by the same designer of St.Peter's in Rome, the view is just stunning. Montorio is perched on its own little hilltop offering panaormic views of southern Tuscany and beyond. There are tables and chairs including sunbeds provided allowing you to relax in the Tuscan sun. The owner Stefania is very helpful and has excellent English.

Montepulciano itself is a pretty town though hilly and is a great location to visit other southernTuscan towns such as Pienza etc. You will need a car as public transport is not good. I suspect the only reason why there are not more reviews about this place is that people want to keep it a secret!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
0.5 mi away
La Dimora del Corso
La Dimora del Corso
#11 of 44 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montorio

Property: Montorio
Address: Strada Per Pienza 2, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montorio is an ex monastery builted in 1300 Located just outside the city town of montepulciano in a walking distance My family bought montorio 1996 and was abandoned. Took 3 years to redone respecting the original design. Montorio is today a villa with 5 indipendent apartments wich kitchen or kitchenette, in a tuscan traditional elegant style , with all modern facility as: air condition in the bedrooms, satellite tv, wifi connection, laundry. Even if apartments we have a daily maid service except on sunday . Near montorio there are facilities as supermarket, restarants, bar. Montorio has the peculiarity to be very private because located on the top of a hill , with beautiful garden and unique view, but at the same time near to town that can be reached by foot in 15 minutes maximum. To garantee the privacy of our guestes and to make fell like home at the entrance of the property there is a gate that we keep closed and we provide a remote control to our guest montorio is your home away your home, perfect spot to relax and centrally located to explore the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Montorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montorio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing