We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View from the room's balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Il Marzocco
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The hotel had provided us directions and arriving inside the walls of the city, the hotel is immediately inside the gates. Parking was a bit of a challenge, getting to the lot through some very tight streets/turns. The hotel has no elevator, so all luggage must be carried up stairs. Our reception was pleasant and efficient, even though the receptionist did not speak English. Our room was just off of the "Billiard Table" area. The view from the balcony off of the room was gorgeous. The room was furnished sufficiently and comfortably. The bath was large- no tub, but a good-sized shower. Breakfast the next morning was very good. There were typical cereals, fruit, pastries, bread, jams/jellies but also scrambled eggs were offered. Both our room and the breakfast area were very clean and nicely appointed. We had a wonderful one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Il Marzocco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed here for two nights during a rainy cold snap in mid June. We drove straight past the hotel also and had to do the rounds! It is so easy to find we all miss it. Go through the gates and it really is in front of you before you make a right turn. We scored a fabulous park right out the front on our first night, but had to use the gated park on the second night.

Reception is on the first floor. Check in was effortless despite the English/Italian hurdle. Our room on the top floor was larger than expected, with an entrance, normal size bathroom, generous layout with two windows, and a small balcony with a great view of the countryside. I requested this top floor room with a view and balcony after reading reviews.

A mini bar, wardrobe, table and chair, two armchairs. The blankets in the wardrobe all smelled like very old wet dog so beware! I tried them all but had to layer up with clothing instead as the smell kept me awake. The bed was very comfortable otherwise.

We were the only two in the breakfast room each morning. The usual fare of cereal, juice, jam but the fruit was past it. A welcome addition of two different cheeses to try each morning, scrambled eggs, and a large rustic loaf of bread to slice yourself.
Two capuccinos each. More than adequate.

We had dinner one very cold evening at Gambe Di Gatto. That was an experience and a whole review in itself! A bit like a Faulty Towers episode on this particular night. Emanual hosts the dinner, literally, with wine and olive oil tastings between courses. His wife, Laura is the chef who comes out to see if you are enjoying her dishes frequently. Emanuals enthusiasm is unbelievable! You are talked through every detail of the menu. Where the meat is purchased, the cut, the preparation. The type of vegetables and where it is grown. The origins of the bread - everything! You will need several hours if you want to dine here, and book in advance as there are only 8 or so tables. They said they were booked out but there were only 5 of us. It was explained that as it is just the two of them they have very few diners. We were cold and very tired on that particular night. It poured. The roof leaked and dripped into strategically placed ice buckets and we think something was amiss in the kitchen. Emanual had to take leave at one point and retreat out the front door to regain his composure! . We didn't expect the level of attention to detail. Emanual puts alot of pressure on himself in his persuit for perfection. It was a great meal; one of those priceless experiences that made our journey special!

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, however, next time we are going to enjoy a longer stay in a villa.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The hotel is in a great location and has parking. The parking is difficult as a person must direct you through a maze to get there. The breakfast is included and was wonderful. There is NO ELEVATOR so you must carry your luggage to the first floor to check-in and then up additional flights to the room. The rooms are nice, clean and have clean bahrooms. The hotel does not use a dryer for the towels so they were rough. It was quiet and had a great view of the countryside. The hotel does not provide use of Internet for guests.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ppressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We haven't got elevator because the building is very old (XVI sec.) and is not easy install an elevator.
From 2010, we have wi-fi gratis for all the rooms.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Montepulciano was our favorite stop during our Italy vacation. And, Il Marzocco was superb. We had a little trouble finding the hotel at first - we drove right by it down the tiny streets in the historic center of Montepulciano. Once we checked in, we were able to park our car in a gated area, which was great.
Our room was very spacious and clean. We were surprised at how large our room actually was. And we loved the building itself - very unique and old world. We had a walkout terrace with the most incredible view of the Tuscan countryside (see pics). The staff was very courteous and helpful - and the complimentary breakfast was nice.
We highly recommend staying at Il Marzocco if you're heading to Montelpulciano. It's right in the center of the city and is a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlw62605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Il Marzocco is located just inside the historic town of Montepulciano, about 75 metres from the Porto de Prato entrance. It is a characterful historical building which has been sympathetically converted to a hotel without losing any of its charm. Rooms are large, almost all with a significant size terrace. We had a warm and receptive welcome, and there is an air of peace and tranquillity about the place. The breakfast room is, like all the public rooms, characterful and interesting ( as was the breakfast itself, it breathed tradition in a very positive way ). The hotel is not for you if you value modernity, functionality and overt service. However, if you value a sense of history, charm, seredipidity and tradition, and can tolerate or even are attracted by the odd eccentricity, it is definitely for you. The location is ideal, and we had a superb meal at the restaurant beneath the Caffe Poliziano which mirrors a lot of the values of Il Marzocco, has quality food, wine and service, is an interesting building, and is much better value than you would expect from an establishment which is part of a famous cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Excellent place to stay in a real lovely Tuscan Hill town! right in the centre of the old town the hotel has a nice victorian feel to it. Room was spacious with decent bathroom but main selling point was the balcony and view! our room was on the top floor and looked out over the countryside (i requested this following other reviews on trip advisor) please see the pictures. Really good value for money, nice breakfast and great place to base yourself for a few days to exlpore southern Tuscany. Would definatly go back!

Practillites now, to get to it (if your driving) you have to go right into the old town through the main gateway arch and then drive up the hill along narrow street and hotel is right in frount of you. Montepluciano is a great place but is very steep so wouldn't recommed for young children or those who have difficulty getting around.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Had trouble finding this hotel, despite the clear directions.
This was because there is just a simple gold name plate by the buzzer. I was told this was due to planning restrictions in Florence.

I've been all over the world and can safely recommend this place as great value for money (esp. in Florence!!). This listed building has been restored over 2 years and the rooms we were staying in were subtly different and to a very high standard. Beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms beautifully decorated, with all furniture being period and blending in with the pleasant frescos(15th century I think?).

Breakfast consisted of good quality cappuchinos, various pastries and the usual juice/rolls/cereal etc.
The location was about a 3 minute walk to the Santa Marie (central) station and about 10-15 mins walk to the Duemo (Dome), considered the center of the city.
The owner of the hotel, Marco, really couldn't do enough for us. Very pleasant, interesting and was happy to assist when he could.
If you like intimate and reasonable hotels rather than pricey 500 room chain types then this place is for you.
Enjoy,
Ross (Ireland) & Uly (Australia)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank degrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#9 of 28 in Montepulciano
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Marzocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Marzocco

Address: Piazza Girolamo Savonarola 18, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Marzocco 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the Medicean column there is the Hotel Il Marzocco, the oldest in town. It was built in 1500 as a farm of the nearby convent. In 1860 it became a hotel and since the early 1900s it has been run by the same family. The hotel looks like a large house where the atmosphere of the old times is still kept. Its bedrooms open on wide lounges that, like the reading room and the sitting room, are furnished with genuine XIX century pieces. Some bedrooms have balconies or terraces with a view on the valleys, other ones have their windows over the Renaissance houses of the old town. The hotel has had important guests like actors, writers, politicians, all of whom are fond of the great view from its terraces. A free parking area is available, as well as comfortable relaxing spaces and a wide dining room where breakfast is served from a rich buffet with home-made bread and cakes, jams and pies. Among the roses of the garden, the Canada creeper climbs until the terraces and creates a pergola up to the roof, at first green in summer, than all red in September and yellow during the autumn. Red geraniums at the windows, together with the old lace curtains, add to the building a perfectly romantic touch. Wi-Fi Connection. We accept pets. Free Indoor garage for motorbikes and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Il Marzocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Marzocco Montepulciano
Il Marzocco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing