We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family Enjoyed Their Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Il Marzocco
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Family Enjoyed Their Stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I rented a house near Montepulciano and had to find a hotel for relatives to use during their visit. I had considered Il Marzocco for a travel tour I had organized several years ago and so I booked them into the hotel for two nights. To my delight they found the hotel perfect. I really does represent the fine quality you can find in small family-owned hotels. They were able to look at several rooms before choosing one with a panoramic view of the Tuscan countryside. They commented that the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water and for two days they could order scrambled eggs for breakfast! I think the best reviews come from family that you hoping will fall as much in love with Montepulciano and Italy as you are.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italophile173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    104
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
142
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very traditional and old fashioned. Great value for a hotel inside the town walls. Great location. Great base for touring the area. Lots of nearby bars and restaurants. just choose your price. Very helpful with parking. Delightful staff and owner and family. We had two lovely rooms with a terrace. The stairs didn't bother us except maybe at first with our luggage. It's still worth staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top were too old fashioned for our taste. Rooms 25 and 26 are great with fabulous views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosshogg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was shown a few rooms and selected the noisier street side one. It was not a problem as the town quiets down at a reasonable hour. There are sitting rooms on every floor and a general homey feeling to the hotel and most certainly with the staff. The breakfast is excellent. I mean, eggs to order in Italy? The cost is very reasonable for a centro location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely old hotel just inside the Porta al Prato, essentially at the bottom of the hill at one end of the fabulous hill town of Montepulciano. Can't beat the location, and the imposing uphill climb is more than offset by the downhill return to quarters, particularly after a day spent wine tasting. Our room was spacious, with a wonderful view, although there were a lot of steps to navigate. The staff was warm and friendly. This wasn't always the case with the merchants in Montepulciano-- or in Montalcino, for that matter--although politeness was never wanting, a certain reserve is perhaps a result of wine snobbiness? Two additional points: Parking is provided (a real blessing, since driving within the boundaries of the walls can be difficult), and eggs cooked to order were a highlight. In fact, the breakfasts were among the bests we had in Italy, and the option of scrambled eggs was a pleasant and much needed change from all that prosciutto and pecorino!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile93
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm not giving this 5 stars because its a 5 star hotel, but because it gave us everything we hoped for! My husband and I spent 4 nights here as a base to visit the hill towns of Tuscany. From the previous reviews we knew to ask for a room with a terrace (we had room 26) and it was one of the most beautiful,large terraces with an amazing view down to the Tuscan countryside below.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and big, and the bathroom was bigger than most with a fantastic shower with lots of hot water---it looked like it had recently been remodeled. Although the towels had been sun-dried(a little stiff), they were perfectly fine and plentiful.

The breakfast was fantastic---fresh OJ every morning, great cereals and homemade pies by the mother.

The staff was great, especially the young woman that serves you at breakfast, and the daughter of the owner who helps your every need.

I really loved grabbing a bottle of good wine after a long day, and sitting on the terrace relaxing! I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 25 or 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for the first night of my stay in italy. it's a family run place and you can feel they will put themselves out to help you. I didn't speak any italian but there is always someone around who speaks english. the room was fantastic, spacious and big terrace (room 25) shame the weather was so foggy as I didn't see any of the wonderful views! the building is an old palace so big rooms and corridors everywhere, very nicely decorated with old furniture. it was by chance (but had I known I would definitely have chosen this hotel) that if you arrive in montepulciano by public bus, this is the first hotel you come across inside the city walls having left the bus station. this means no climbing the steep hills with bagage and is definitely a plus worth considering. not only pleasant but the breakfast was good with a selection of sweet and savory, which is sometimes lacking in this nation of cake-eaters! they even offer eggs or fresh juice with the cold meats and cheeses. a great find and was also amoungst the cheapest in the city walls!

Room Tip: several steps and stairs and I don't think there is a lift so do be careful if handicapped or ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was such a delightful hotel. Our room was perfect with a double door that opened up to a gorgeous view of the valley below. Our room had great European charm which is so wonderful after the box like rooms of most American hotels. The room was very clean, the bathroom spacious and the hotel is unique with many antiques. We ate our lunches sitting on the balcony and the hotel had a delicious breakfast with eggs made to order if you are so inclined. I fell in love with eggs gently fried in olive oil!! The owners were attentive and the parking was free and just steps from the front door. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. The town of Montepulciano is breathtaking! The hotel is inside the wall and just steps away from shops. When we go to Tuscany again we will be sure to stay here!

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room with balcony and a view. Our room was on the top floor which requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gshwesternpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#8 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#17 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Marzocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Marzocco

Property: Albergo Il Marzocco
Address: Piazza Girolamo Savonarola 18, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Marzocco 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the Medicean column there is the Hotel Il Marzocco, the oldest in town. It was built in 1500 as a farm of the nearby convent. In 1860 it became a hotel and since the early 1900s it has been run by the same family. The hotel looks like a large house where the atmosphere of the old times is still kept. Its bedrooms open on wide lounges that, like the reading room and the sitting room, are furnished with genuine XIX century pieces. Some bedrooms have balconies or terraces with a view on the valleys, other ones have their windows over the Renaissance houses of the old town. The hotel has had important guests like actors, writers, politicians, all of whom are fond of the great view from its terraces. A free parking area is available, as well as comfortable relaxing spaces and a wide dining room where breakfast is served from a rich buffet with home-made bread and cakes, jams and pies. Among the roses of the garden, the Canada creeper climbs until the terraces and creates a pergola up to the roof, at first green in summer, than all red in September and yellow during the autumn. Red geraniums at the windows, together with the old lace curtains, add to the building a perfectly romantic touch. Wi-Fi Connection. We accept pets. Free Indoor garage for motorbikes and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo Il Marzocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Marzocco Montepulciano
Il Marzocco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing