We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place”
Review of Osteria del Borgo

Osteria del Borgo
Ranked #11 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Reservation is highly recommended especially for the terrace in summertime and in general for christmas markets
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Extremely friendly, local, and delicious. Try the Zuppa Englaise for dessert. The owners where very friendly. Some locals and some tourists

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtmt522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    353
    77
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had lunch in this faboulous restaurant:good Tuscan food,amazing wine(we took a case of Vino Nobile for a very Good price!) and friendly service!I can only complain about the weather as we couldn't eat on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside :( I will go back soon as I live close from Montepulciano to taste a good plate of Pici con la Nana!
Siamo stati benissimo,
A presto!
Gió

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giocalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Quiet, away from the crowds with a great view over the wall to the surrounding towns. The food was well prepared, a little rustic, but wine and food were excellent. Would definitely return. Good value surprise off the main piazza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
237 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Decent food, fantastic view from the terrace”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were in Montelpulciano in April and just dropped in at Osteria del Borgo because of the posted menu and the terrace. We only wanted a light lunch and so just ordered pasta and salad, with a half litre of Vino Nobile. Clearly this is not a challenge for the kitchen, but we certainly enjoyed our lunch. The best part was being able to eat outside on such a lovely day with such a wonderful view from our table out over the vineyards below. Because of the season, they were not too busy, and we had good service throughout. Clearly, in high season you could not just walk in and get the best table as we did. There is much more seating inside, but the real attraction is the terrace.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food, with a knockout view”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed in Montepulciano for 5 nights. After accidently finding this restaurant on the second night, we dined there twice more. An outdoor terrace has a beautiful view over the tuscan countryside. The staff are professional and friendly, and were happy to try and interperet our traveller's italian, our take our orders in english if we were too tired after a days sightseeing to attempt our very limited italian. The food was very tasty, authentic, local cuisine, and was fairly priced compared to other restaurants in the town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Borgo also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing