We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I`ve spent 2 nights in this wonderful place!!! Teresa is a great person, very kind, and make our days perfect! We stayed in Camelia, a very nice and romantic room, with everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent! The location of this farm is perfect, very close to Montepulciano and from there we known Pienza, San Gimingnano, Volterra, Montalcino, Montichiello, San Quirino D`Orcia... they`re very close to each other! Even in winter time, we had amazing views and loved this place a lot! Thank`s Teresa for all your Kindness!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaMoraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank so much Roberta !!!
You and your husband were some amazing guests ...
Your review is very nice , " unexpected " and useful for me and IL PALAZZO dei DIAVOLI" .
I hope you will come again and meeting !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

After researching various accommodation options in the Montepulciano area, this became our first time stay in an agriturismo (farm stay) and it definitely will not be the last. Do something for the local economy and your soul. Il Palazzo has accommodation that would suit almost everyone. There are 3 units. We stayed in Il Gelso which has a double bedroom, nicely equipped kitchen and modern bathroom, which incidentally is also equipped for the disabled. Il Sorbo has 2 bedrooms, adequate for 2 couples or one couple with 1-2 children, and a kitchen also. La Camelia is a romantic hideaway bedroom suite above Il Gelso, with its own private entrance, wonderful hardwood flooring and a breakfast nook, although no kitchen, but Teresa the owner provides items for a continental breakfast. As a couple without children, we chose Il Gelso since it was the perfect size for us and it allowed us to prepare our own breakfast and occasional dinner. My wife soon grew to love the Italian coffee pot. Compared to a conventional hotel room, it was great having the extra space in the kitchen/dining area to work on the laptop planning our day trips and being able to relax on the sofa. The included Wi-Fi is very good and adequately powered a laptop and 2 mobile devices. There is even a barbecue area outside the apartment for those who want to grill their own Bistecca alla fiorentina! The added bonus is that parking is free and spacious, without having to squeeze your little hatchback into an even tinier parking spot. Even though Il Palazzo is a mile or two down the hill from Montepulciano, I would recommend you rent a car to stay here, since public transport to the farm is non-existent, unless you decide not to move from these tranquil surroundings and don’t mind occasionally hiking into Montepulciano to enjoy the fabulous restaurants and wine cellars. Otherwise one could always help Teresa pick olives or grapes if you get bored. However there are so many easy day trips from here to Siena, Chianti, Cortona, Civita and the Val d’Orcia, to name just a few. Even after a week here, we felt we had still not discovered all there is to enjoy in the area. As for our hostess Teresa, the wife of a physician, she was absolutely wonderful, readily available for any question or need, even calling and making enquiries herself when we asked about the timetable for the Gregorian chanting by the monks at the Abbey Di Sant’Antimo. No task seems too difficult for her. Furthermore, we appreciated the bottle of wine from her own vineyard that she supplied on arrival. So if you have ever wondered about staying in an agriturismo, stop wondering and stop worrying – STAY HERE. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want to cook or prepare your own meals, choose Il Sorbo or Il Gelso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onebagtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a wonderful place! The weather was beautiful, the scenery was amazing, and Teresa was delightful. She went out of her way to make us welcome - wine, goodies in the kitchen, use of her washer and the great outdoors for the dryer, info about the area and city of Montepulciano. The grounds were lovely and especially enjoyed the vineyard and olive groves.
We saw Siena, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona, Mount Oliveto Maggiorre, and many other sites. It's amazing to view from hilltop village to hilltop village. Everyone was friendly and helpful in so many ways. We spent our entire last day just seeing Montepulciano and walking about. Of course, the mandatory daily afternoon gelato was a must!
Highly recommend this Agriturismo for location,location, location and Teresa, Teresa, Teresa!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodging with the kitchen area and made our own breakfasts and dinner. The Conad su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedfree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A wonderul experience from the time we arrived until we left 4 days later. Teresa went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I recommend this place to anyone who is after some good old-fashioned Italian hospitality in a beautiful Tuscan setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayward_traveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like an open bottle of Red, the experience got better each day. Terresa and her husband were fantastic hosts, knowing when to give us space and when to deliver the wine. We found the walk into the village short (40 mins) and a good way to start the day. On our arrival at the Tourist information centre, in Montepulchiano, our young clerk was very friendley and exremely helpful, we were travelling without a car and he organised his friend to drive us down to the farm in his 1950's Citroen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivabiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Palazzo dei Diavoli. This is a beautiful and restful place to stay and you can use it as a base to visit the many historical towns or typical tuscan villages around.
Montepulciano is just 5 mn drive (if you want to go by foot, you must know that it is placed on the hilltop and you will have to walk hard!). Don’t miss Pienza, Montalcino or Montefolonico !

We stayed in the apartment « Il Sorbo ». This was just perfect ; wide space with 2 separate bedrooms, furnished with taste, each bedroom with its own bathroom and a kitchen well equipped. There was a very large outside private place where you can relax and enjoy the wonderful landscape all around. We also enjoyed our dinner prepared on the barbecue and the lovely terrace near the vineyards and the olive-trees.

Every evening, we were charmed by the spectacular sunset on Montepulciano and the so calm atmosphere around the Agriturismo.

But Il Palazzo dei Diavoli wouln’t be what it is without the farm-owner, Teresa !!!
She was a charming and very friendly hostess, helpful in every way. She told us about all the places worth going to. When we arrived, she offered us fresh bottles of fruits juice and homemade jams. She made our stay to feel us at home. As we didn’t speak Italian, Teresa was speaking a mix of French, English and Italian. That was really funny and friendly.

We highly reccomend staying here for everyone.
Thank you Teresa ; we will keep a wonderful memory of our stay in Montepulciano !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kichkich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank so much for this review !!!
I think will be very useful to know Palazzo Diavoli and its correct position ...... and its positive or negative lights ( depending on different needs) !!
Thank this review everyone could better choose your correct kind of holiday !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I decided 1 year ago to spend the month of Sep 2012 in Italy. Through a friend I was advised to use Montepulciano as a base. With the aid of Trip Advisor I noted that Il Palazzo dei Diavoli was highly rated and had the type accommodations that we sought, with bedroom kitchen and sitting area. The medieval town of Montepulciano was less than a km up the road, although it's all up hill and an auto is essential.
We flew into Rome and it took slightly more than 2 hours to reach Il Palazzo at dusk. We received a warm welcome from Teresa, who greeted us with a bottle
of wine from her wine cooperative, some bread and cheese to get us through the evening, having travelled by this time for more than 20 hours. She proved to be an invaluable resource of information regarding towns to visit, restaurants to try, roads to take,etc. She tolerated my fledgling Italian conversation and never declined answering my many questions despite her busy schedule of running this sprawling farm with grapevines, olive trees and other fruit trees.
We drove almost daily to a new hilltop town to discover cobblestone streets, quaint small churches and small museums with spectacular art or Etruscan artefacts. There was always a good meal at a restaurant daily whether it be lunch or dinner.
We are tennis players and had great fun on the two red clay courts only 5 minutes by car from our lodging in "Il Gelso". The accommodations in the unit fulfilled our expectations with a well-equipped kitchen, large bed room with comfortable queen
sized bed and an equally large bathroom. This was one of our rare experiences in not having to battle the shower head in getting a warm shower without making a mess.
The surroundings at Il Palazzo are typically pastoral with great views in all directions. We were fortunate to participate in "la vendemmia" [ grape harvest] and were given pruning shears to cut the grapes off the vines along with many of Teresa's family and friends. A great pranzo [lunch] followed. The area is quiet, being away from the city and only the rooster from a nearby farm is heard in the AM. As we would walk on that dirt road toward the city of Montpulciano we were honked at by numerous geese, and gawked at by their farmmates of sheep, pigs, chickens and ducks.
We are already planning to return to Il Palazzo so we can visit the many other towns that we missed on this trip.
This agriturismo and its host is "simply great".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mundo6508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks !
That is perhaps the best review that i never got !
I think that will be very useful and helpful to other people, to well know my farmhouse and Montepulciano and to know what they could have during , even if for long time , their holiday here !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#2 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
9.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli

Property: Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Address: Via delle Colombelle 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful small farmhouse in Montepulciano , South of Tuscany , famous for its monumental palaces and for its " NOBLE wine. Is an ideal place to enjoy the wonderful, amazing Tuscany landscape ...A quiet and nice holiday , tasting a good wine and a good tipical food!Nice , quiet , with familiary management...Is a perfect place to stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing