We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I decided 1 year ago to spend the month of Sep 2012 in Italy. Through a friend I was advised to use Montepulciano as a base. With the aid of Trip Advisor I noted that Il Palazzo dei Diavoli was highly rated and had the type accommodations that we sought, with bedroom kitchen and sitting area. The medieval town of Montepulciano was less than a km up the road, although it's all up hill and an auto is essential.
We flew into Rome and it took slightly more than 2 hours to reach Il Palazzo at dusk. We received a warm welcome from Teresa, who greeted us with a bottle
of wine from her wine cooperative, some bread and cheese to get us through the evening, having travelled by this time for more than 20 hours. She proved to be an invaluable resource of information regarding towns to visit, restaurants to try, roads to take,etc. She tolerated my fledgling Italian conversation and never declined answering my many questions despite her busy schedule of running this sprawling farm with grapevines, olive trees and other fruit trees.
We drove almost daily to a new hilltop town to discover cobblestone streets, quaint small churches and small museums with spectacular art or Etruscan artefacts. There was always a good meal at a restaurant daily whether it be lunch or dinner.
We are tennis players and had great fun on the two red clay courts only 5 minutes by car from our lodging in "Il Gelso". The accommodations in the unit fulfilled our expectations with a well-equipped kitchen, large bed room with comfortable queen
sized bed and an equally large bathroom. This was one of our rare experiences in not having to battle the shower head in getting a warm shower without making a mess.
The surroundings at Il Palazzo are typically pastoral with great views in all directions. We were fortunate to participate in "la vendemmia" [ grape harvest] and were given pruning shears to cut the grapes off the vines along with many of Teresa's family and friends. A great pranzo [lunch] followed. The area is quiet, being away from the city and only the rooster from a nearby farm is heard in the AM. As we would walk on that dirt road toward the city of Montpulciano we were honked at by numerous geese, and gawked at by their farmmates of sheep, pigs, chickens and ducks.
We are already planning to return to Il Palazzo so we can visit the many other towns that we missed on this trip.
This agriturismo and its host is "simply great".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundo6508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks !
That is perhaps the best review that i never got !
I think that will be very useful and helpful to other people, to well know my farmhouse and Montepulciano and to know what they could have during , even if for long time , their holiday here !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have visited this place for second time, and we love it! Not to write a lot, long story short, we have traveled to this place 12 hours from where we live just for 3 nights with 4 month old baby (you can imagine how hard this is), but we knew it will pay back, and it SURE did! We will be back there again and again! Teresa is super friendly and very welcoming, gives you tons of info even before you ask. Place is very well maintained, and clean. Easy located and close to town, surrounded with wine and olive plants. As I said, DREAM PLACE TO LIVE!

Room Tip: Any room is good as they all have same level of cleanliness, and tidiness. Its so peaceful so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virtusas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank so much......i haven't any different words!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our 5th stay and 5 years in a row at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli. We would not stay anywhere else when visiting Montepulciano. Teresa is truly lovely, she makes you feel so welcome and part of the family. The place is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The location is perfect, it is very close to Montepulciano, just minutes away - and to a small local market to buy your provisions. The views over the valley can only be described as stunning. We would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli. We will be back again next year.

Ciao - Bill and Jane. Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank so much .
I will try to keep the quality and if it will be possible , i will try to improve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The warmest welcome ever. An amazing landscape and location in the beautiful Tuscany hilly countryside, within a stone throw from Montepulciano lovely historical town and still very near to hundreds places worth a visit.
A perfect place where to rest or from which you can explore the wonderful treasures of the historical Tuscany with its portraying nature.
Accommodation is quite perfect as well: all rooms and apartments are wide, comfortable, incredibly clean, romantic, fully equipped and furnished with taste. Every room has its own private place in the wide garden where you can enjoy some open air relax or your meals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkypoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our friends recommended this place to us based on their experience so we made a reservation for two nights (La Camelia). We found the place with relative ease. The location is great; about 5 minutes driving distance to Montepulciano. Upon arrival, Teresa warmly greeted us and took her time to show up the room. She also showed us on the map where to park and where to go (e.g. panoranmic views, popular restaurants etc.) The agritourismo is surrounded by vines and olive trees. You can just hang out to drink wine and eat some cheese and salami. At night, the place is incredibly serene and quite. You will sleep blissfully. The night view of Montepulciano from this place is fantastic. Coincidentally, it was also full moon when we stayed there. The moon was so bright and "huge"! Free Wi-fi and laundry onsite. I'd absolutely recommend this place to anyone!! Teresa is the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is such a friendly place, with a hostess who cannot do enough for us, I would heartly recommend it.
You get a nice room with a view and very generous outside spaces with views again.
Breakfast is not really provided, but there is some local produce available (my wife was in ecstacy over the plums in our room) and the hostess gave us a bottle of wine made from her own grapes (I really liked it is it was very smooth and fruit - Rosso Di Montepulciano if you are interested and trust my taste in wine...I am no expert).
The place is around 1 km from Montepulciano, making it absolutely ideal as a base for exploring the area. Also, it is very reasonably priced.
The only thing I would change is I would update the TV, but this is probably not a big issue for you if you are staying here (and they have sat TV and wifi!!!).
Overall, absolutely excellent. Will definitely come again and will recommend to anyone who asks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, so don't worry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Teresa is a lovely and friendly hostess. The room, La Camelia, was fantastic. The breakfasts are a bit short of ideal (packaged toast with nutella and jam, yummy yogurt), but they're fine. Laundry is free, and YES, THERE IS AIR CONDITIONING. That's important to know.

Here's the rub. You NEED to rent a car. We did not, and it was the bane of an otherwise fantastic time in Montepulciano. Tuscany in July is HOT and DRY, and the bus stop is on the other side of the hill. With a car, it's five minutes away if you don't get lost. Without a car, we ascended and descended through Dante's Inferno with packs on and no clue. Suffice it to say, the road, Villa delle Colombelle, is about two football fields down the road that winds around San Biaggio church. It's just after the garden supply center on the left.

Anyway, Montepulciano proper is awesome, with wine cellars gallore and free tastings of wine, fresh pecorino cheese, and delicious cured hams and salami and olive oil and all the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmscrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Teresa thanks for your very kind and nice review but she disagrees about the opinion regarding the posizion of farmhouse.

A farmhouse is by definition , an house in the country and so outside every town !!!
I don't know any farmhouse inside !
To tell you the truth , il Palazzo dei diavoli is very close to centre of Montepulciano ( 1km) and usually many guest go to walk , but this July was very hot ...and i understand the problems ,
but i disagrees that is my fault or a fault of Palazzo dei Diavoli!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 78 in Montepulciano
208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Sanguineto Montepulciano Hotel
Agriturismo Sanguineto Montepulc...
#1 of 9 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
9.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli

Address: Via delle Colombelle 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful small farmhouse in Montepulciano , South of Tuscany , famous for its monumental palaces and for its " NOBLE wine. Is an ideal place to enjoy the wonderful, amazing Tuscany landscape ...A quiet and nice holiday , tasting a good wine and a good tipical food!Nice , quiet , with familiary management...Is a perfect place to stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing