We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative tour, excellent wine tasting experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avignonesi

Avignonesi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come visit Avignonesi, where our motto is "terroir speaks; we listen." Visit our cellars, taste our wines, talk to our people, learn about the philosophy behind our winemaking. Please contact us by email with any questions. Reservations are necessary for tours but not to taste our wines and make your purchases in our Cellar Door!
plainfield, nj
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Informative tour, excellent wine tasting experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was referred to the Avignonesi Vineyards by the staff at my hotel. It was a terrific tour. Learned so much, I feel like I could start a backyard vineyard if I had good soil. The wine tasting was excellent. I had a case shipped home. Definitely feel that I will beable to share these wines in a learned way with what I learned on my visit. Staff was super helpful and pleasant to spend time with.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank comicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    58
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Wine Estate Experience in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We toured Tuscany for two weeks in September and had pre-booked the wine tour and 5 course lunch at Avignonesi for an afternoon. One of us was driving and therefore wasn't able to take full advantage of the amazing hospitality at this place. I strongly recommend that you hire a driver if you can. We visited and had lunch at two other estates during our stay but Avignonesi was quite simply in a different league.

After a glass of prosecco as a welcome gift we toured the winery. The winery tour-guide Lorenza, has a wonderfully warm personality and explains the history of the place, the production process and has a ton of wine related anecdotes that keep the hour long tour fun and interesting.

After the tour we were shown to a beautiful, glass walled dining room overlooking the olive trees and the vineyard. It couldn't have been more perfect. The white table linen, elegant stemware, the perfectly baked bread with golden Avignonesi olive oil and the food at each course served to make this lunch experience probably the best we've ever had anywhere in the world. The service was formal, brilliantly skillful and very friendly and knowledgable; something we rarely experience. It's well worth taking advantage of the Vin Santo tasting as it's just not that easy to experience this anywhere else in the world.

Back at the shop the staff will help you ship wine home. We bought a case and it arrived in Singapore within 2 weeks. The staff here have a habit of topping up your glass and making you feel extremely welcome. (hence the need for a designated driver)

Couldn't ask for a better experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank epingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I will keep it very simple. If you are visiting the Tuscany region of Italy, plan to spend a morning at Avignonesi winery, getting the full tour (don't miss the room where they dry the grapes to produce Vin Santo) and stay for the lunch and wine tasting. Absolutely one of our highlights of our 10 day visit to Italy. Great wine, terrific lunch, knowledgeable and delightful staff, magnificent views while dining, and having wine being shipped back to the states as I write this!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with wonderful wine and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Our group participated in a cooking class, lunch on a veranda with a stunning view of the valley. We took a tour of the Vin Santo cantina and saw the new grapes for it coming in and being sorted. It was a lovely experience.

Helpful?
Thank Nalbonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our 3 Hour Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Can't believe 3 hours! But it was worth every minute of it. The winery tour was interesting but the lunch was the clear winner. Food was delicious, wine descriptions were great and the view was beautiful. Can't ask for more! We followed the recommendation of others and shared the premium wines. The Vino de Santo was incredible! Like syrup.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank segoldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avignonesi also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Avignonesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing