We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place - ok wines”
Review of Avignonesi

Avignonesi
Book In Advance
More Info
$215.64*
and up
Chianciano Evo Oil and Montepulciano Wine Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come visit Avignonesi, where our motto is "terroir speaks; we listen." Visit our cellars, taste our wines, talk to our people, learn about the philosophy behind our winemaking. Please contact us by email with any questions. Reservations are necessary for tours but not to taste our wines and make your purchases in our Cellar Door!
Reviewed November 4, 2012

the location is wonderful - a borgo castle close to cortona. The set up is very professional with a knowledgeable staff and polite waiters. I wish I had visited the winery a few years back when it was more about the wine and the aviignonesi heritage in the area and less disneyworld like, but it was still worthwhile

2  Thank romano w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wine tour"
in 54 reviews
"our waiter"
in 11 reviews
"gourmet lunch"
in 9 reviews
"lunch and wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"drying room"
in 8 reviews
"glass of prosecco"
in 7 reviews
"dining room"
in 12 reviews
"cooking class"
in 18 reviews
"great tour"
in 15 reviews
"five star"
in 5 reviews
"excellent food"
in 5 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"amazing lunch"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 6 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 11 reviews
"hour tour"
in 5 reviews
"making wine"
in 6 reviews
Filter

331 - 335 of 572 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to attend a wedding at Avignonesi as well as enjoy a separate lunch there, The setting is simply stunning, the food divine and the staff at the cellar door are warm and knowledgeable. There is a variety of wine at different price points which you can arrange to have shipped home. The Vignola goes very well in an Aperol Spritz! Tours and cooking classes make this a fantastic destination in Tuscany.

Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to this beautiful vineyard in Montepulciano, in the heart of Tuscany, at the recommendation of our hotel proprietor. The guide and sommlier was a wonderfullly enthusiastic manTon, y who graciously shared his knoweldge and love of his work. We loved the wine and ended up buying a case which just arrived shortly after hurricane Sandy. It was the bright light after a hard few days. When we opened one of the reds and one of the whites, they proved as delicious as we had experienced them in Italy. The wine, the countryside and our guide made this vineyard a great find and a delicious memory

Thank michelerifkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We traveled by car to this wonderful picturesque tuscan winery to start our visit before resting in Montepulciano. Our guide was very helpful and willing to answer questions. We enjoy this wine back in the states and were eager to see where the magic happens. We arrived late in the day and at the end of the tour they were bringing in fresh grapes from the field, what a wonderful surprise!

Thank Matifer-in-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our visit started out well with a nice tour of the winery with an enthusiastic guide. After the tour we went to lunch which we had booked as part of the tour.

The dining room is spectacular – tall ceiling, glass walls and a stunning view of Tuscany. We were seated at a nice table with crisp table cloth and sparkling crystal. And there we sat and sat and sat. When our first course finally arrived it was wonderful and we almost forgot about the 30 minutes spent ‘enjoying’ the view. But when we finished, we sat and sat and sat. This went on through our entire four course lunch. An absolutely delicious dish followed by a half hour or more of dirty dishes. The entire dining room was sitting with dirty dishes and looking around in confusion. Also confused was the wait staff who made innumerable trips to the kitchen only to return empty handed. When dishes finally did arrive, they were passed out in no particular order – the table next to us received their first course before we did but were still looking at the dirty dishes long after our second course arrived.

It’s really a shame when a kitchen with the talent to turn out fabulous food is not able to competently deliver that food to the dining room. Our three hour, $200 lunch was a real disappointment.

4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvignonesiTeam, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Avignonesi, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

As promised in my previous comment (now deleted), we have looked into lunch service on October 4 and have learned that it was one of the busiest days of the year: we had more than 50 guests for lunch with more small groups and couples than usual. We had five waiters on hand, which is less wait staff than usual, and specifically we were missing two English-speaking waiters. We deeply regret the inconvenience and can assure future visitors that it will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avignonesi also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Avignonesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing