We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old style hotel, beautifully furnished.”
Review of Albergo Il Rondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Il Rondo
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our group of 5 stayed here one night as part of our Vespa Tour through Tuscany. We were delighted with this quaint hotel with no two rooms alike; all with lovely antique furniture. Three of our group had a lounge between their two rooms and the other couple had a suite with door to outside rather than into the hotel. I loved our 'pastel blue room' which was large, well-furnished and had a large bathroom with lovely old pictures of Montepulciano decorating the walls.
There was no pool here but nice just to use the garden furniture and sit under the trees in the garden.
Breakfast was a very good buffet continental, including yoghurts, pastries etc, and we were waited on for our teas, coffees which were brought to us at the table.
The hosts here were very friendly and professional.
There is a lock up garage we were allowed to use for our Vespa's.
We enjoyed this semi rural setting and spent time late at night lying on the grass in the garden watching fireflies under the Tuscan stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 295 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Wonderful surrounding, very cozy rooms, quiet and amazing interior.
The staff –owners- are friendly and the breakfast is sooo different to the average Italian ones.
It looks like you are a special guest.
5* in any category !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really appreciated the peaceful grounds, helpful owners, inpeccably clean rooms and very nice breakfast. buffet. We used the hotel as a home base to tour central Italian hill towns and it was always nice to return to this restful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easternoregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Il Rondo after reading the positive reviews and planned to stay for four nights. It is a nice hotel without reception (this does not make a b&b in our opinion). Rooms are very clean and spacious and furnished with what a traveller would like to expect in a Tuscan house. Breakfast was good for Italian standards.

What really surprised us and led to our decision to leave after one night was the location and setting of the hotel. After looking at the website and reading the reviews we expected a nice and cosy house in a rural setting. The hotel is located in the modern outskirts of the pretty city, next to it is a sports field with floodlights, it's close to the bus terminal and tennis halls. This was not the setting we expected.

The hotel itself is nice and in 15 walking minutes along a road get you to the lovely town (10 minutes to the town wall).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClGrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2012. The family that runs the B&B were very nice and helpful. It was a great base location for touring Tuscany. It was an easy drive to Banfi vineyards in Montelcino, Siena and Cortona. The breakfast was very good and the gardens around the house were stunning. It was great sitting out there and drinking wine in the afternoon when we returned from exploring. I would recommend this B&B to friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosoxfanindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Small hotel, outside the historical center, but in a walking distance to restaurants. Very clean, quite and comfortable, free parking and free wi-fi. Our room was outside the main house. The breakfast was very good. There is no restaurant at the hotel, and you can't eat in the room. We used Montepulciano as a base to visit Tuscany cities. It is a nice family run hotel, and we were happy staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited some friends in Tuscany and we decided to spend couple of nights in this hotel. An ancient villa, amazingly refurbished, located just 5 mins walking distance from the old town. The bedrooms are all very nice, clean with mural decorations. Our bathroom, with a shower, was brand new too. Hotel has 7 rooms only, a familiar way to enjoy Tuscany. Let me add we got there with 3 kids, they fixed all of us in a junior suite without asking for additional costs. Value for money was extremely good. I reckon this a nice corner to visit for a short stay (no pool available).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
810 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 28 in Montepulciano
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Rondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Rondo

Address: Via di Martiena 9, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: $136 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Rondo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rondò Bed & breakfast is located near the historical centre of Montepulciano, in the middle of olive groves and vineyeards which distinguishes the countryside of the Renaissance town. It is surrounded by a large garden which grants its guests quietness and fresh air, even if it is only at 500 mt from the walls of the town, easily reachable by a short walk. The hotel has also a private car park which is reserved to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Il Rondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Rondo Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing