We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start, great vacation, best wine!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Falconara
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not far down a country road from Montepulciano, then down a dusty road and past the "pine tree", you'll find the the quaint, somewhat rustic Agritourismo of La Falconara, guided from the birds eye view of the 2nd floor by the owners, Alex and Ingrid. With the complete knowledge of 100+ kilometers in any direction, Alex can direct you to the incredible sights and fabulous restaurants. Surrounded by vineyards and olive orchards the secluded hilltop location touts a phenominal view from the edge of the swimming pool.
Then there is of course the wine. The best local wines we tasted in the Montepulciano region. We brought 2 bottles back to California to share. If you can't arrange a stay at La Falconara at least arrange to visit and buy their wines.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo La Falconara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our Australian family including two teenagers recently spent a week with Ingrid & Alex at La Falconara. We chose the apartment with a small wood stove. We had a truly fabulous time & can only agree with all the other reviews. The location was perfect to explore Tuscany - we were particularly interested in the red wines & were centrally located for all the famous varieties/districts. Alex & Ingrid directed us to the perfect places to eat for lunch & dinner & also our breakfast expresso, which for us addicts - is essential. We spent a memorable New Years Eve with Alex & Ingrid at Ristorante Da Ciacco - cannot praise the food & company enough. Alex kindly drove 20 minutes to the railway station to bring a bag we had left behind. (We took up his suggestion to hire a car from Chiusi -perfect.) On some days our children didn't leave the farmhouse they were so happy with it (& the kittens.)Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alial11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Recently my wife Lorri and I were looking to celebrate our retirement with a Tuscan vacation. I looked on-line at many places and it was hard to determine which one to choose until I came to La Falconara. Having read about so many places they all try to sell you on their property but the thing that stood out about LaFalconara was the passionate way that the owner Alex described Tuscany. It was almost poetic and even though his place was available for only one of the three weeks that we needed he helped us procure accommodations elsewhere encouraging us to savor the beauty that Tuscany had to offer. We stayed at LaFalconara for one week and it was easy to see the inspiration for Alex's passion. The place is an oasis off the beaten path where one immediately feels like they are guests in the home of longtime friends. Alex and Ingrid take great pride in the little details that make you both welcome and comfortable and they succeed brilliantly. I think that, with his broad smiling face,bushy eye brows and seemingly limitless fountain of Tuscan experiences wisely dispensed (shared) to match your individual desires,that Alex has named his place after the the wrong bird. But then I realized that the name is probably more a reflection of the grace and elegance that Ingrid brings to her role as hostess. After a lifetime of work we had the vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylansPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I don't need to repeat all the wonderful things people have been saying about La Falconara but they are all true. All I have to say is we arrived as guests of Alex and Ingrid and left as family. The hospitality and wealth of knowledge was more than we expected.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I must admit we did not stay here because they did not have room for us at the time we were scheduled to be in Tuscany. I had wanted to stay here based on all the TripAdvisor reviews. I cannot tell you how helpful Alex and Ingrid have been. They found us a place to stay and negotiated everything with the owner of the other agriturismo. They have even offered to help us with tickets, itineraries, recommendations in Tuscany.
If we have received this service and we are not even staying there, I can only imagine the warmth and service they provide in La Falconara.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gwenmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We returned to our favourite Tuscan agriturismo this year and brought friends with us for their first visit to Italy. The agriturismo is called LaFalconara and the four of us think of it as our home in Italy. The amazing hosts, Alex and Ingrid, will make you feel that you have known them all your lives. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area, can give you great advice and even have a library of travel books you can borrow. Alex has been described as a ‘renaissance’ man and we love to sit and talk with him on a wide range of topics. Ingrid is always the gracious hostess who will make you feel that you are a guest in her home. You will have access to good wines and great knowledge about them as Alex is a partner in an award-winning local winery as well.
LaFalconara is just minutes from the north end of Montepulciano and also convenient to a small town called Acquaviva. This location is very central and allows easy day trips to San Gimignano, Siena, Pienza, Assisi, Orvieto and Civita di Bagnoregio among others. We have stayed in several other Tuscan agriturismos and these apartments are by far the best. There are only 3 on the ground level with Alex and Ingrid living upstairs. Each apartment is spacious, nicely furnished and have well equipped kitchens, even dishwashers. There is a pool and the view is what you see in those fabulous coffee table books. You sit with olive groves on one side and vineyards on the other and have an expansive view across the valley to Cortona. Although we enjoyed other Tuscan agriturismos (including one that gets many recommendations) this is the only one we have returned to and would again.
On our first departure we were told “you always have a home in Tuscany”........ the first words Alex said on our return were “Welcome home”. Perhaps that will give you a better idea of how wonderful a place this is to stay than any words we could write. If you have any specific questions or want more info we would be happy to provide it. Their website is www.lafalconara.it

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keesha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The owners, Alex and Ingrid, will feel like family when your stay is over. They have a lovely and modern restored agritourisimo (B&B). The views of the hills, olive groves and vineyards are gorgeous and the hosts are always available for anything you need - restaurant recommendations, travel to nearby towns, directions. Alex even helped me cure my horrible cold by calling a doctor in town and recommending medications to help. Our end apartment unit was furnished with extras (olive oil, coffee), very clean and had a wonderful stone patio with table and chairs to sit and enjoy the countryside. They also hosted a wonderful dinner one night with a several courses and wines to sample. It was informative and delicious, with Alex as the chef. The town of Montipulciano was one of favorites in Tuscany and offers everything. If we return to Tuscany, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMFNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 79 in Montepulciano
204 reviews
6.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalie...
#11 of 79 in Montepulciano
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casalone
Agriturismo Il Casalone
#13 of 79 in Montepulciano
79 reviews
5.5 mi away
Podere Le Manzinaie
Podere Le Manzinaie
#3 of 79 in Montepulciano
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Falconara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Falconara

Address: Via delle Badelle 3 | Via delle Badelle 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: $90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged and strategic geographic location of the La Falconara, very close to Montepulciano in central South Eastern Tuscany, permits you to visit the many marvellous places on day trips (Pienza, San Quirico, Cortona, Arezzo, Montalcino, Perugia, Siena, Firenze). During your stay at La Falconara, we offer you plenty of material regarding suggestions and itineraries, the "secret roads", guides and maps to the towns and cities. Including information (and the reservations) to the many Thermal Baths and Beauty Centres. Plus our restaurant recommendations. Encircled by the gorgeous hills of the province of Siena, our guests can tour our many world renowned wineries that produce only Estate Grown Wines, the prince of which is Vino Nobile di Montepulciano DOCG. Amusements and Comforts of La Falconara:- An attractive swimming pool (60 mt2), with a beautiful view (shallow part is 1,20 mt or 4 ft. deep)- Bocce field - Barbecue area, with tables and benches, which can be lit by night - Old wood oven- Kites, badminton, mountain bikes - Children's playground (toboggan and swing). We are pet friendly: your dog is welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing