We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tuscan Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria del Conte

Osteria del Conte
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montepulciano is a magic city which offers its visitors unforgettable memories. A steep, winding road will lead you to a medieval hill town with a wonderful view over the surrounding valley. L’Osteria del Conte is situated in one of the town centre’s main streets, near the renowned Sanctuary of San Biagio and ontepulciano’s Fortress. After several years of experience in enogastronomy and catering, Lorena together with her son, Paolo, decided to open this cosy little restaurant in Montepulciano, where you will have the possibility of tasting the genuine, delicious dishes offered by the Sienese cuisine.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We so enjoyed our outdoor lunch of ravioli with pecorino cheese washed down with white wine that we made dinner reservations for the next evening. We started with an order of bruschetta and followed that with a delightfully fresh, simple mixed salad. We then shared a juicy steak seasoned with rosemary and a plate of pasta in cream sauce with truffles. Complemented glasses of the excellent local red wine this meal was outstanding!
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and although busy had time to talk and share a laugh with us too. You can't go wrong at this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneSusanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    396
    88
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely spot of autumnal lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

After a morning's exploration, we strolled about in search for a nice spot of lunch, and settled in the Osteria del Conte. We were met by a fun and entertaining waiter, who in the face of very demanding guests and a busy lunch shift managed to get some good banter and fun in. The outdoor seating was great, and we enjoyed some excellent pasta, all washed down with reasonably priced wine from their own brand. Definitely worth the few steps up from the main square!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p_c_f_21_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellently prepared local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here, sitting outside on a lovely fall day. It's conveniently located near the piazza, behind the church, at the top of the hill. We shared a wonderfully prepared bavette pasta with local black truffles, ravioli with pecorino, and a glass of wine. The service was friendly and we only wished we had had a chance to eat dinner here and sample more dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch in Montepulciano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found by accident was this very good restaurant, Osteria del Conte, behind the Piazza Grande on via San Donato. The service was very friendly and the pasta con fuhgi was excellent! Perfect for a light lunch while exploring the beautiful hill town of Montepulciano - close by is Siena.
The bills was only 72 euros for four which included a liter of wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robken16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great outdoor dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went here our first night in Montepulciano it it was outstanding. We sat outside on their beautiful patio. The prosciutto with melted pecorino cheese was ridiculously good as was the homemade pici with tomato, basil, and garlic. Would get both again every time. We also had the bruschetta and the tagliatelle with wild boar, both excellent. At the end of the night we ordered 2 cappuccinos and they only brought one by mistake. We never said anything but the waiter figured it out and the owner then came out with complementary house made grappa and lemoncello. Overall great food and dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kjmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Conte also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing