We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of Trattoria Diva e Maceo - CLOSED

Trattoria Diva e Maceo
Price range: $27 - $76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We found ourselves in Montepulciano for the evening and hadn't booked anywhere for dinner so tried this place as it looked OK from the outside. I wish that we'd spent a little more time (on Trip) as it was disappointing - my steak was chewy. There were only a few other diners and 2 of these appeared to be friends with the owner. They had a dog with them which was allowed to roam around the tables and even went into the kitchen. Not good - avoid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    98
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very good regional cuisine”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We came here for dinner on a winter night and really enjoyed our meal. It was way off-season so it was quiet. We had good pasta and split a wild boar dish -- wonderfully prepared and huge portions. Very satisfying in every way!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Danmark
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had the pleasure to visit this restaurant the 28nd of August 2013. I ate very Tuscan and had both rabbit and wild boar. The dishes were rustic but very well prepared and all served in a nice atmosphere. This place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MoKLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Innovative Cuisine”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our tour guide arranged for a special meal at this trattoria. The chef, noted for "pushing the envelope" prepared a 7 course meal, highlighting the various foods and specialties of Tuscanny. Somehow, the idea of "tasting" was replaced with much larger portions. The pastas were simplly spectacular. Any sauce or accompaniment did little to mask the flavor, but rather enhanced some subtle hint that might have otherwise been missed. The wines were all of the Nobilo class, that is, the best of the vintage. Probably the only dish that was just OK, was the pasta cooked in a red wine. Unfortunately, it came out looking like a plate of worms - it tasted fine, but here, the wine overpowered the pasta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AGAIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant because I saw some nice reviews on Trip Advisor.
The food was very good, the wine was excelent and the "antipasti" was the king of this lunch.
It's a nice place to have lunch, very discret and not expensive.
We try some chicken they had that day and we didn´t like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Diva e Maceo also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing