We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family vacation home base in Tuscany”
Review of La Pievina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pievina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband, 2yr old son, and my husband's parents all travelled together in Italy in October 2011 and we spent 1 wonderful week in the 2 bedroom apartment at La Pievina. The apartment was perfect for our family and the addition of Sonia's wonderful homemade wine and olive oil and a few extra treats made it even better. We loved this location as it allowed us to easily do day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, and even Sienna. With a 2 year old it was great to have our own kitchen and space so we could come back for his nap in the afternoon. The family that runs this agroturismo is just lovely and gave us a warm welcome. I was so glad that Sonia was ready and waiting when we arrived from the airport even though it was after 11pm.

The apartment was beautiful and had all the amenities we needed to cook and Sonia provided the basics for coffee. There's a grocery store just in town where we were able to stock up as we like to cook. We had our own outdoor space where we could grill, enjoy a meal or just a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The beds were very comfortable and Sonia provided a "pack and play"/crib for our son to use (we requested that in our reservation). The bathroom and shower were also great.

The farm which is run by Sonia's husband's parents was a great treat for my son also. He got to feed the cows, see a pig, and pet some rabbits all of which he was really excited to do. In the afternoon he always wanted to see the "Mukas"! Sonia doesn't speak a lot of english but it was not a problem for us as my father-in-law is from Italy. I would go back without him in a second though as I know we could muddle through with a phrasebook etc to communicate the basics. Sonia is so great that I wouldn't worry much about the language barrier if you're even the slightest bit adventurous!

We can't say enough nice things about La Pievina and the wonderful family who run it. The next time we visit the hill towns of Tuscany we will be sure to try and stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 2 one bedroom hotel type apartments below which have breakfast included and served at the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for La Pievina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 115 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
494
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank filippo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank kirin-motoguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabrizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vale_grando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 79 in Montepulciano
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pievina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pievina

Address: Via di Totona 32, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: $96 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pievina is a small family-run farmhouse that belongs to a farming business estate set into the tuscan countryside, 3 km away from the enchanted historical center of Montepulciano, one of the most important small town of the tuscan Renaissance overlooking a huge, unique, scenic view on the whole surrounding hills and churches. The family farming business estate of la Pievina is constituted by 24,7 acres of vineyard, orchad, olive tree grove, vegetable garden and is based mostly on cattle breeding. La Pievina farmhouse, is placed in a panoramic location and it is simple to reach by a paved road. La Pievina farmhouse is constituted by 1 apartment (IL PERO) for 4/6 guests and two separate private access bedrooms (GLI ULIVI and I CIPRESSI), 2 guests each. "Il Pero" is formed of: 1 living room with a fireplace, 1 well-equipped kitchen, 2 double bedrooms, 1 bathroom with shower. It is possible to get additional sleeping accomodations for 2 other persons. "Gli Ulivi" and "I Cipressi" are both constituted by: 1 double bedroom and 1 bathroom with shower. All rooms are stocked with towels and sheets. In the outside there is a spacious furnished area where to stay or have a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Pievina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing