We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Villa Mazzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Villa Mazzi
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tuscan Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you are looking for a serene home base while you enjoy all that Tuscany has to offer, I don’t think that you could find anything superior to Villa Mazzi. It’s extremely convenient location affords you easy access to the mountain towns throughout Tuscany, should you choose to spend your time out exploring (having a car is recommended in this rural – relatively non public transportation supported area). However, should you choose to stock up on local produce and other supplies, the apartments at Villa Mazzi provide you with all the comforts of home, unparallel views of the picturesque town of Montepulciano, and blanket you in the peacefulness of the Tuscan hillsides - complete with the gently sounds of the sheep bells in the neighboring pasture. It is quite possible that you will feel uninspired to leave the tranquil oasis that is provided on the grounds of Villa Mazzi. You will surely be tempted to also try the wine, olive oil and honey produced on site, it is truly spectacular.
As for the welcoming and warm hosts at Villa Mazzi, I cannot express how much that increases the enjoyment of your experience. Confirming this is the fact that while I was staying there we witnessed a family who stays at Villa Mazzi consistently 3-4 times per year, come to visit with our lovely host Loredana – even though they were unable to book an apartment for their holiday at Villa Mazzi as they usually do. I predict that you will be planning your return trip even before you have left (I know that I am!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

Located on the Strada per Pienza but set far enough back from the road, Villa Mazzi is beautifully situated with a stunning view of Montepulciano. The pastoral scene includes grazing sheep and a 360 degree view of the Tuscan hills and valleys. Laze about and watch the light change, playing on the amazing scenery throughout the day, take a day trip to Siena or numerous other hill towns, or just drive the Strada and see where it takes you.
The hospitality was gracious and warm. We felt quite welcome here, and the hosts were always willing to help with ideas for food, wine, or activities. The apartment was fully furnished, comfortable, and spacious. Meals are not provided here, but a very good grocery store in town allowed us to stock some essentials and cook meals right there, which was our preference. There are any number of restaurants/trattorias in the neighboring towns if dining out is preferred. Wines and olive oil produced on site are available and both are excellent.
Having a car is recommended. Overall, a wonderful place to stay, and would suggest this place if you are looking for an experience in Tuscany that will afford you relaxation or any amount of activity you wish.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProjectItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Accomodation exceeded all expectations. Great location, wonderful views and apartment il Tiglio excellent. Wine and honey produced at Villa Mazzi definately worth trying. Thanks Loredana, family and dogs for a lovely stay.


Amanda and Leigh UK

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Loredana was so wonderful, our little apartment was cosy and beautifully decorated. But the best part was the view of Montepulciano, the most beautiful I have ever seen in Tuscany! Every morning a herd of sheep would come by the bottom of the garden with their bells ringing. The little dog Leo was adorable, and this visit to Villa Mazzi was the highlight of our 12 day, 6 city tour. Thank you, Loredana!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

We've had the privilege of staying at Villa Mazzi on several occasions. We absolutely love the location, the view, the peace/serenity, and the hospitality that we have found in Villa Mazzi and in the owners, Mario and Loredana, who have become friends. We like to call Villa Mazzi our home away from home, and every time we return to Italy we try to make a special trip to visit this special place. And the wine...ah, the wine! Their Rosso is very good, but their Nobile is spectacular. And the farm next door has the best pecorino cheese we have ever had. We love the view of Montepulciano from Villa Mazzi better than we like Montepulciano itself. We went into town a few times, but after a while we found the most enjoyable thing was to buy some bread, sausage, peccorino from next door, open a few bottles of Nobile, and just spend a lazy afternoon on the fabulous veranda. Villa Mazzi is also a great place to stay as a base camp, and you can drive to other great towns such as Montalcino, Pienza, Siena and Assisi. If you have two weeks, spend one in Florence, and the other at Villa Mazzi, exploring southern Tuscany and having the best time of your life.
Again, we love Villa Mazzi! Grazie Loredana and Mario.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Loredana, owner extraordinaire, thought of everything that our apartment needed to make it feel like a home away from home. Our apartment was lovely and very spacious with beautiful Tuscan tile floors and a terrific view of Montepulciano. Being in Montepulciano made traveling to other parts of Tuscany easy and we took several day trips to Firenze, Siena and Pienza. We can't wait to return during the harvest season!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed at Villa Mazzi for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Loredana was very helpful and friendly. It was only a 5 minute drive from Montepulciano which was great. The room was very clean and spacious and it was really nice having a living room and small kitchenette. Our favorite part was sitting on the lawn sipping wine with picturesque views of Montepulciano up on the hill and the Tuscan countryside below. It was so relaxing, a perfect getaway from the everyday stresses of life. I would definitely recommend this agriturismo to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#3 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casalone
Agriturismo Il Casalone
#8 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
10.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Fraternita
Agriturismo La Fraternita
#14 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villa Mazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa Mazzi

Property: Agriturismo Villa Mazzi
Address: Strada Per Pienza 32, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mazzi is beautifully situated, immersed in the lovely warm colours of the Tuscan hills, surrounded by olive trees, vineyards and lush meadows dotted with the farm's grazing sheep.The farmhouse's position offers stunning panoramic views overlooking the hillside town of Montepulciano, the temple of San Biagio, Valdichiana and Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Villa Mazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing