We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The time of our lives”
Review of Osteria del Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Osteria del Borgo
Ranked #12 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Staying here was a wonderful experience for us. We were on our honeymoon and had been unwell prior to arriving. This place made us feel so warmly welcomed, we immediately relaxed and truly enjoyed our holiday. The staff are genuinely kind and friendly, the food is excellent. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and all within walking distance of spectacular views and shops. Being so close to the Piazza Grande, it is an ideal location in all seasons. We will always treasure our time here, and plan to go back in the future - for longer next time!

Room Tip: There are only a few options, and from what we could tell all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thyri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

At the beginning of December, I've spent 4 days in the beautiful hill top town of Montepulciano, to the south of Siena. I choose Osteria del Borgo apartments for their central location.
We had a great stay! The location is fantastic, being right next the wonderful Piazza Grande. We had book an apartment for 2, but the very kind owners upgraded our accommodation to a larger apartment with a stunning view over the enchanting surrounding countryside! The apartment is fantastic! A large and fully equipped kitchen and living room with sofas and a wonderful panorama! Upstairs there's a very romantic bedroom and a large bathroom with hydromassage bath. The apartment is furnished in typical Tuscan style. Osteria del Borgo is very good value for money, the free wi-fi connection is an extra bonus. I highly recommend it!
You can read about my holiday in Montepulciano on my blog:
http://tuscanychic.com/travel-blog-tuscany/four-days-in-montepulciano

ciao,
Elena

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ele-tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We're a mature couple who stayed here for 5 days. It's a well-restored property just off the Piazza Grande. The management will do anything possible to make you happy. Unfortunately they cannot do anything about the difficulty driving in the "Centro" of one of Tuscany's highest hill towns, but when I once got stuck with my car on a side street, someone from the hotel actually walked to where we were and drove our car for us back to the hotel's parking lot. He said it was just "part of his job," but I couldn't have been more relieved.
Breakfast is simple and enough to start the day. The view from the patio is awesome and we spent a couple of afternoons there, savoring the local wine.
The only negative is the noise from the piazza at night. The laughter and merriment at local cafes is quite loud until the wee hours, but at least it's happy sounds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1946Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We only stayed in Montepulciano by chance and wow what a place. The Hotel was fabulous and the views from our room were unbelievable. The room was great and very clean though you have to be prepared to climb quite a few stairs but it is worth it. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel the two nights we were in Montepulciano and we enjoyed all our meals including the breakfast. The hotel is situated at the top of the city so be prepared for the long climb to the top of the mountain, there is a bus but we couldn't find out much about the times it ran.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you're considering a visit to Tuscany, make sure you allocate at least a few days in Montepulciano and stay at the Osteria del Borgo. The "rooms" are more like full-fledged apartments. Our family of four stayed in a very affordable two-story(!) accommodation with high ceilings, skylights, washer and dryer (though don't use both at the same time - we did and blew a fuse which the wonderful proprietor fixed immediately), free parking and large windows overlooking the main piazza. Plus free internet, a full kitchen, and a decent breakfast to get your started (croissants, coffee). The staff is very friendly and helpful even if your Italian isn't very good. They also are a wine bar and serve snacks and appetizers after mid-day until late. Montepulciano is an incredibly charming hill town with wonderful restaurants, rich history and easy access to some incredibly gorgeous Tuscan towns. Plan a day trip to Florence by driving to Incisa (about 35 min from Montepulciano right on the A1), park for free at the station in central Incisa and take the 30 min train ride in to Florence. We loved everything about our time at Osteria del Borgo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmomSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights and we managed to get upgraded to a suite which was a nice touch and we had a great view over the countryside.

It was great value for money and perfect for our stay, there was no room service but it didn't really matter. The only thing I would not recommend was the breakfast but the amount of good food there is in Montepulciano, you may be better off without it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fay0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Osteria is near the Duomo, at the top of the town. Just to go somewhere you have to walk up and down all the the time. Good to open up an appetite. Not so good for the ones who have problems walking. However, there is a small city bus that can be taken. We had a third floor room with windows overlooking the valley. Spectacular sunsets from there or on the terrace of the Osteria. There are no elevators so if you have heavy suitcases, it is quite a hike. Staff is very friendly. They do not speak English. The lady who checked us in did but we never saw again the five nights we were there. Conversation was limited but we managed. Parking is nearby and free, a definite benefit in these hill towns. Breakfast is basic croissant and coffee. Adding a few items to the menu might enhance their offer. The bathroom is large, modern and quite stylish. However, the shower is very small. There was no maid service during our 5 day stay. It wasn't a problem for us. We had a light dinner one evening at the Osteria. Their menu is limited but the choices of wine were more impressive. We loved the town, the friendliness of the people. It was a perfect home base to explore southern Tuscany. Our accommodation was very comfortable, views were spectacular and the staff quite friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JacquesLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
278 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
267 reviews
8.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osteria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osteria del Borgo

Address: Via Ricci 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: $108 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Osteria del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osteria Del Borgo Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing