We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appartamenti al Poggiolo
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“An experience of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here a full 3 weeks and were delighted with the location, the spacious apartment, and our gracious hosts. We used this as a base to explore the Tuscan countryside including country and village walks, local wineries, ristorantes, and the surrounding villages. We een managed a side trip to Cinqueterre. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend our experience to our friends.

Bob & Evelyn Armstrong
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby154984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
And we are delighted, when we hear about our guests satisfaction! We love our place and our lovely town, and are greatly rewarded when our visitors - after their Tuscan experience - come to share our feelings. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

A wonderful week of respite from the exciting, but exhausting cities of Rome, Florence and Venice. The beautiful gardens, amazing views, and accomodating hosts made our time at appartamenti al poggiolo very special. Montepulciano is a lovely town and a great base for exploring Tuscany. And coming home to the peaceful apartment each day was a treat. One word of caution.... some of the apartments have many steps... we had 44 steps up from the garden to apt. #3. And the town is very steep everywhere. So this is not the place for anyone with mobility or health problems. Good, tho, for working off the pasta and gelato. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for this review, so positive about our apartment #3, and in the meantime so helpful for potential future guests who may want to have a clear idea of the energy they will need during their stay at Montepulciano! To complete the info, though, let us add that not all of our apartments are preceeded by steps: apt #1, for example, is entirely set at the garden level, while apts. #2 and #4 being set on two levels have only an inner staircase connecting the bedroom floor to the kitchen floor. Good contribution, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have stayed in the Montepulciano area 7 different times. This year,
thanks to Trip Advisor, we have found the most perfect place to stay for
our excursions into southern Tuscany and northern Umbria. Elena and
Domenique are so very welcoming, the apt. (we had #3) is large [2 bedrooms,
1 1/2 bath], well furnished, good beds, excellent lighting, with a lovely view
over the countryside. Going out one door, exits you directly into the town of
Montepulciano, while the other door exits you to a garden with secure parking
for your car. We have already made reservations for April 2012!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
First of all, thank you for loving Montepulciano! Secondly, thank you for appreciating our place. Third point, which makes us feel really proud after reading your words, thank you for ranking us 1st out of 8! And, since we are here, thanking each other… Lots of thanks to TripAdvisor for the excellent service they are providing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Great place for a long stay for two. Handy to Il Sasso langauge school. Clean, light, airy and very well appointed .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
A special thank for your flattering comment which has given us the temporarily thrill to occupy the third place in the rank position. For the time it lasts, we are Bronze Medal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goroka, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I spent two nights in the Appartamenti al Poggiolo (apartment #4) in November 2010, and it was enough to make me fall forever in love with Italy. The apartments and the town of Montepulciano were a dream come true.

Apartment #4 was beautiful, quiet, comfortable, and spacious. It was decorated with care, and had a rustic, romantic feeling that anyone dreaming of a trip to Tuscany hopes to find there. I also had the opportunity to peek into Apartment #3, and it was equally beautiful. The apartments overlook a lovely garden, and have a great view of the rolling hills of Tuscany.

Besides being beautiful, the apartments are extremely well furnished with everything you could want during your stay, including a nice living room and kitchen with all the cooking utensils you could need. It's perfectly set up for a longer stay, and I found myself wishing that I could have stayed for a week to explore more of Tuscany or even a few months to write the next great novel or just experience the tempo of life in Tuscany.

I cannot say enough about the kindness of the hosts, Elena and Dominique. Their warm hospitality made me feel perfectly at home, and gave me new insight into Italian food and culture, as well as the history of Montepulciano.

The apartments are just a skip away from the center of Montepulciano, so are in a great location. The town itself is a pleasure to explore, with its winding, narrow streets, ancient buildings, gorgeous views of the olive trees, vineyards, and forests covering the hills of Tuscany, and wonderful restaurants. It's also a great base from which to explore the best of Tuscany, so rent a car and enjoy yourself!

There is so much good food and wine available in Montepulciano, small town though it is, but if you want to try an olive oil that is truly divine, ask the owners of Appartamenti al Poggiolo if you can buy some from their olive groves, grown with utmost care just a stone's throw away from Montepulciano and processed at a local olive oil cooperative with the best available methods. This is truly some of the best (maybe THE best!) olive oil you will ever try - grassy, peppery, and luscious. Drizzle it on soups and salads and use it for bruschetta. This is the real Italian experience, folks. Enjoy! And while you're at it, bring some home for your jealous friends who didn't get to come to Tuscany. :-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Your review is great, thank you! Also, this is the first time a special mention is given to our last, newborn creature: the oil! Thank you for that, too, and thank you for being with us on the field, actively collaborating in the harvesting. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at al Poggiolo in Apartment #!. The homey atmosphere made it a wonderful place to come home to after exploring Montepulciano and surrounding towns, and the villa's location in the town is perfect. Elena and Margherita were thoughtful, helpful hosts. Overall, a beautiful experience! (Montepulciano is a lovely hill town with many great restaurants and shops. It is a walking town; we wouldn't recommend driving in the town. A car is helpful in exploring the surrounding countryside, but buses are available, and less stressful than driving in the hill country!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
Thank you for liking Montepulciano, the apartment, and us! Thank you, too, for offering helpful advice to future guests regarding the bus convenience in exploring the town. We wish we could email to you, saying that we read and appreciated this review… but we are not sure about your identity. So, if you ever happen to read this page: thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We recently returned from a 3 week trip to Italy and our 1 week stay at Appartamenti al Poggiolo was the highlight of the trip. Our hosts, Margherita and Elena were very accomodating. You felt like you were a part of their family. The apartments were very well decorated and had everything one would need. The town of Montepulciano was our favorite place to visit. We would definitely recommend this town and this villa to anyone wanting to visit. Tuscany.
Edie and Ed Holmes

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you! For your kind words, and for the quickness demonstrated in expressing your appreciation, you beated all records! Best greetings to you and your friends next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 29 in Montepulciano
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Borghetto
Il Borghetto
#26 of 29 in Montepulciano
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
L' Agnolo
L' Agnolo
#15 of 29 in Montepulciano
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza Fabroni
Residenza Fabroni
#19 of 44 in Montepulciano
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Bellarmino
Palazzo Bellarmino
#14 of 44 in Montepulciano
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartamenti al Poggiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartamenti al Poggiolo

Property: Appartamenti al Poggiolo
Address: via Piana, 17, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old house with garden in the historic centre of Montepulciano, restored and transformed into four holiday apartments - all equipped with every modern amenity and furnished with country style charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing