We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wine and Primi”
Review of Ai Quattro Venti

Ai Quattro Venti
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine and Primi”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had dinner here (second seating at 9 pm-2100). It's in an excellent location, across the street from the Duomo and next to the Gran Palazzo. All four of us had been wanting a Florentine Steak, but they are huge and pricey, so we decided to order two - one for each couple. We all ordered from the primi menu and all four were excellent. Our wine, the Nobile di Montepulciano Talosa 2006, was superb. It was, perhaps, the best red wine I've ever tasted. (We tried to buy some at the Talosa tasting room the next day to discover someone from the Wine Spectator had bought all the 2006.)

The steak was a disappointment. It was cooked properly (rare), but was tough. Our shared steak had a large inedible grisley portion. I know that can happen, but considering the price, it should have been excellent. Our dolci, tiramasu, was quite good.

The service was adequate, though certainly not warm. I decided on 4 stars for Ai Quattro Venti because of the wine and primi. If we'd had house wine, this would have been a 3-star experience. Perhaps it was an off night, but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    128
    40
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Spot on the Main Square”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Montepulciano is a bit of a tourist trap so I wasn't expecting much for lunch, but this place was great! Lovely little patio right on the main square is perfect for people watching. Good range of dishes, we shared a 1/2 ltr of the house red wine which was nice and I had the lasagna and my husband had a cannelloni with cheese and veggies. It was delicious, just the right size and reasonably priced. People next to us got steaks that looked really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GretchyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scrumptious - ate here twice”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We ate here during the wine festival in August, was not as exciting as the BBQ around the back of the restaurant (BBQ wild boar(?) ribs, etcetera, which we had for dessert, with lots of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano), BUT still Amazing. Came back the next day for the same dishes, so I have no idea if the other dishes were up to par. Had the Caprese, Hand-made Pappardelle Ragu, and Salsicce alla Griglia [no idea if my adjectives or nouns are correct or even in the right order, but you get the idea]. We found the food here to be authentically Italian, a few simple ingredients made into something extraordinarily scrumptious and flavourful. Would recommend. We thought the family/close friend team that made up the service-team at this restaurant were also great, authentic service with funny jokes. Our American niece on the other-hand was not impressed...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrystal.t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Recommended by one of our travel books. Loacted on piazza grande which we stumbled upon while walking he streets. We enjoyed the lunch special which was tagliatelle con funghi (around 8 euros) - one of our favorites on our trip. The service was efficient albeit not overly friendly :).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TS2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Overpriced and unfriendly.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The lunch menu was bit steep, but it is right on the main piazza in Montepulciano so perhaps it is the price for the location. The server was very unfriendly and, at times, rude.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Quattro Venti also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ai Quattro Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing