We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for evening drinks”

E Lucevan le Stelle
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wine Bar & Bistro in the heart of the old town, it's located in Piazza San Francesco, famous for the stunning view on the valley and on San Biagio Church. "E lucevan le stelle" is open for lunch, apéritifs and dinner, offering a unique location in town for admiring the incredible sunsets on the valley. More than 200 labels of fine Italian wines are available by the bottle, together with a selection of about 20 wines served by the glass. Wide selection of whiskeys, rhum, gin and other spirits. Live jazz on season and temporary art exhibitions.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for evening drinks”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A short walk from Piazza Grande the west facing terrace offers evening sunshine and sunset views in a quiet piazza. They offer a good choice of wines and interesting menu of local dishes and foods to complement the wine. We liked the divergence from a conventional Italian menu structure in favour of good quality food and ingredients that support wine tasting. The staff are friendly and very welcoming and we have already visited several times during our stay in Montepulciano.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamourna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    130
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view and food”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The best Caprese salad I've ever had and a beautiful spot to drink wine and enjoy the view from the patio. Staff was very friendly. We arrived a bit late for lunch and the owner was very nice and served us food Asa well as wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shefstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch location”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Their menu does not really look like a dinner menu, although it is offered. We ate here for lunch. Great homemade ravioli, nice wines. Location is wonderful, especially in the afternoon as it is on the west side of town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The wine selection was great and also allowed for you to taste different wines. The food was outstanding - some of the best we had in Italy!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cblevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“for the food and wine”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I don't know what happened that day but I was starving raw ham when I entered this restaurant/enoteca so I was very happy when I received the antipasti with raw ham and mozzarella di buffala covered with olive oil. I also took one of their sandwiches with raw ham. My wife took the raviolis. The wine by the glass was very good and the jazz music playing inside topped off the meal. We highly recommend this place for lunches and we think it would also be great for dinners. The patio is on a parking lot behind a church but the tuscan hills can still be viewed in the distance. Definitely not a tourist trap (apparently common in Montepulciano).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNJ_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E Lucevan le Stelle also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to E Lucevan le Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing