We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
161
25
21
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
25
21
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his mother cooking class cakes each morning pasta working farm yogurt guinea fowl tiramisu spacious accommodation extra pillows places to visit great suggestions separate building wonderful cook rooms are nice highly recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 215 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at Le Caggiole with another couple in April 2010 for 4 nights. The rooms are big; very clean with a most comfortable bed with beautiful linens. The breakfast every morning was homemade baked goods, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee and fresh fruit. The hosts (mother and son) were very cordial and accomodating; making suggestions and helping with directions for day trips. The farm and surrounding area is gorgeous. It was our first trip to Tuscany and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. I would suggest you bring your own washcloth and some soap but otherwise it was perfecto!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank workfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

During our first trip to Italy my wife and I stayed at Le Caggiole for 3 nights in Oct 2009. There is nothing to complain about staying at Le Caggiole. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and the overall stay was true to the website. However, we were not able to enjoy a true Tuscan dinner from mama Ornella during our 3 night stay. We asked about dinner twice while we were there but Giacomo said it was unavailable which was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at le Caggiole over the Christmas holiday and had a wonderful experience. For a few nights, we were the only folks there. The location is quiet, but close enough to Montepulciano town that you can mesh with the locals from the town. We traveled quite a bit during our holiday, and this was the perfect home base. Accommodations were spacious and warm, with wonderful views. Our room was cleaned each day and fresh towels were provided. Breakfast was served each morning with care, and included cereal, yogurt, breads and homemade cakes. We had a very nice stay and would consider staying there again. Would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at le Caggiole during September 2009 and had a great time! In reflecting back on our trip, we wished we had spent at least one or even two more days enjoying Tuscany from this beautiful home base. Giacomo and his mama were gracious hosts, baking fresh (sugary!) treats every day and setting a beautiful farm-house spread each morning. We were fortunate to have 4 other couples staying at the same time so we were treated to an authentic Tuscan dinner one night! They made everything from scratch, even the spaghetti pasta was hand-rolled! It was a four course feast fit for a Tuscan king and we loved every minute. Giacomo even makes his own wine, honey, and jam on the property which were equally delicious. All the rooms, including ours, seemed very spacious and spotless. There was a person who came and cleaned every day and it was obvious they took great pride in their home. As Giacomo said, it has been in their family for generations and is his home too.
To get to le Caggiole, we took a train from Florence to Chiusi where it was an easy walk across from the train station to a Hertz rental facility. From there is was a quick 20-30 minute drive to Montepulciano following well marked signs (and the help of a Garmin GPS) We liked that we were close to the A1 and central to some other great Tuscan towns, Cortona, Montalcino, Sienna were all easy drives away. I would definitely recommend renting a vehicle if you're planning a stay in Tuscany. Parking outside each of the towns is simple and usually a short uphill walk into the town center. Montepulciano had some great sights, restaurants and wineries that we came back twice to enjoy. Out of all the other towns we visited it was by far our favorite.
We cannot recommend le Caggiole enough and can't wait to return ourselves!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mongolianyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Le Caggiole. Giacomo and the martinelli family are very gracious hosts going out of their way to help every guest. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Giacomo!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smac_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews