We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely Location and views, wonderful hosts"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo le Caggiole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from Tuscany. We spent 2 wonderful nights at le Caggiole, our only regret is that we didn't plan our itinerary so that we could have stayed longer. Giacomo and his 'mama' Ornella could not have been more attentive, although Ornella doesn't speak much English, she did try to converse with us, talking to us about William & Kate's wedding. I phoned Giacomo to advise him that we would be arriving early, he asked where we were, told us to stay put and he would be with us in 10 minutes, - he was. We followed him back to le Caggiole, where he checked us in, introduced us to his mama and then showed us to our spotlessly clean room, with the most beautiful embroidered and crocheted bed linen, we to stayed in Il Maniscalco, it wasn't a problem and it most certainly was a room with a stunning view.
What you need to realise is that this is a working farm, producing wine, olive oil and honey. How can guests expect Giacomo to be on hand in person 24/7, he told us that if we needed anything at whatever time to phone him on his mobile. You can't say fairer than that. Yes you do need a car, how many working farms do you find in the middle of a town or city?
Now to Ornella, she is the most amazing pastry cook, her breakfasts were absolutely beautiful at least 3 different cakes or pastry dishes each morning, as well as fresh fruit, yoghurts etc., and again even though her English was limited she was always on hand in the kitchen ready to refill the splendid breakfast table. Our only regret was that we were unable to sample one of her amazing dinners, some fellow guests from Canada had dinner there and they said it was memorable, but as I said to Giacomo, whilst we were disappointed, his mama should 'have a life' outside the B&B. We would like to extend our thanks to Giacomo and his family for their kindness and hospitality. We most definitely would stay again and can highly recommend le Caggiole.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at Le Caggiole over six nights. The room was spotless and the freshly-ironed embroidered linens an unexpected treat. The highlight had to be the wonderful homemade breakfasts prepared with pride by sweet mama Ornella, who spoke little English but is a baker extraordinaire. Each morning the large and satisfying continental spread included three different kinds of exquisite, artisanal-quality coffee cakes, often fruit-filled. Luckily, our days' adventures involved so much walking and climbing that the calories did not seem to matter!

We know Ornella's cooking skills extend far beyond breakfast and were very disappointed that not once during our stay could a special homemade dinner be arranged on the premises. Giacomo had warned us in advance that the availablity of the meal was not guaranteed, and he told us one morning that they need at least eight guests signed up for dinner in order for it to be economically feasible. Because of people's different schedules, unfortunately the most we could come up with on any given day was six. We understand this and only want people who are making new bookings not to count too much on having Ornella's Tuscan dinner. We heard nothing about cooking classes either and perhaps should have asked, but it probably would have been the same thing, with a minimum number of enrollees required.

One thing I'd point out is that, if you're relying on the website for information, as of this date it does not appear to have been updated for some time because Giacomo's father has apparently passed on, and also, saffron is no longer grown on the farm. Giacomo himself, a beekeeper incidentally, is a reserved gentleman and tends not to fraternize with guests; but when asked for assistance during regular office hours, he very graciously provides information and can be drawn into conversation about the interesting history of his family on their property. He also offers helpful suggestions on dining and lesser-known places to visit in the area (heavy on scenery and views, maybe a bit less on absorbing real-life Italy). We recommend not loading too much into one day's itinerary so you can enjoy time at each stop. Also, be proactive in asking about farm tours or other advertised services you might be interested in (and any associated fees). You should have a lovely time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Il Manascalco and did not mind that the large private bathroom was just around the corn...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank yourstrulyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leCaggiole, Proprietario at Agriturismo le Caggiole, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

I would just like to clarify that:
1) Our website is updated, in fact (except for the cultivation of saffron, which we have not done this year), my father, though old, is very well, and still helps me in many of the activities of the farm (especially for the bee-keeping), but does not speak English, so he prefers to remain aloof when it fails to communicate.
In addition, it would simply read the characteristics of our accommodation (like I always ask to all), to see that it was shown that the entrance of the bathroom of the room IL MANISCALCO is outside to the room (while there is not written that is not a discomfort because it is also very close and that's the only room to ground floor);

2) about the dinner, as I always say to everyone, even before the reservation, as well as the availability of my mom (who is not a robot, but he needs to rest sometimes), depends mainly by our guests, who often prefer to stay to dine out or eat on the terrace, the food they buy at the market in town. (you should believe me when I say that this thing creates a greater disappointment to us that some of our guests!)

However, I thank the two guests in Atlanta for writing this review, (that although some penalizing), shows that after all this time is still alive, a pleasant memory of their stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Everything the advertisement of Le Caggiole is basically true...the location NEAR Montepulciano is in a beautiful part of Tuscany (but it's not close enough to walk to town up a dangerous road; you MUST have a rental car & good luck with that!). It's true that the location is a lovely farm (but your "tour" of the farm means a mowed path through the olive trees where you can walk; there is not a guided tour). It's true that the sweet (but non-English speaking) mom cooks Italian sweets for breakfast each day (don't look for any eggs or meat!). It's true that the farm has some of their own products like honey, olives, grapes (but don't expect to see them served or offered other than one sign about olive oil). It's true that the family offers to cook traditional Tuscan dinner if enough guests want to eat (but don't bet on it happening & definitely don't arrange your day to come back to the farm for dinner even if they say they're cooking; it didn't happen twice while we were there). It's true that the view from the upper deck is really nice at sunset (but make sure you take your bag of groceries purchased in Montepulciano so you can have a PB&J on the deck since dinner was inevitably cancelled again). It's true that the room you stay in is very quaint and very "Tuscany farm." In our experience it is best to enjoy a VERY brief stay here because it does have some nice qualities, BUT plan well & don't expect to have dinner. This part and the lack of a real farm tour disappointed us greatly. Thankfully, the owner did try to help us get some food the first night we arrived by taking us to the market and dropping us off. Thank the Lord for peanut butter, Nutella, fresh fruit, and crackers!

Room Tip: La Nicchia was nice for us as a couple. Good size room, nice bathroom, good place out front to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelltx1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leCaggiole, Proprietario at Agriturismo le Caggiole, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Hello,

this morning I found your review, so I thought I'd write you this message.

About your comments, you did not say that you had been warned several times (before your booking!!) about distress you'd have to come here without a car, (first describing the road that connects us in Montepulciano, underlining repeatedly that the dinner on a farm could not be guaranteed because it depends on the number of guests) but you described this as a surprise...

You did not say that you was warn that the standard breakfast is based with the sweets that my mother made everyday, (bread or meat was not expected!).

About the dinners, you know that was not my fault: I have always tried, but we could not force the other guests to stay here ...

About the tour of the farm, I remember we talked about farming while I was accompanying you in Montepulciano, on the evening of your arrival: why you did not asked for anything more than this to me (except where to go for a walk on the farm)? To take a guided tour, at least we should agree on when to do it and at what price!

About our products, you did not say that our wild plum jam, our honey, and our sweets made ​​with our eggs, are always available for breakfast. Furthermore, if you had interest in our oil or our wine, why you have not followed the instructions of the sign in the living room to ask us about them?

These are the reasons why I appeal to your honesty and fairness, to review the scores you have assigned to us: this review is very detrimental because if it was read with little attention, could give a wrong image of our farm!


Sincerely

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Agriturismo le Caggiole was very quaint, clean and comfortable. We were in the room "la stolliere" and the view from our window was breathtaking. The furnishings were lovely and the bathroom was large, compared to other bathrooms in Italy. The freshly washed and air dried towels were great. We were nervous about booking a room in July with no air conditioning, but the weather was amazing and we slept comfortably with the windows open and a light blanket.
The breakfast made by the mother was one of the best in Italy. The homemade cookies, cakes, tarts and jam were delicious and there was lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal to balance it out.
Giacomo was helpful with amazing restaurant recommendations and even drew out a route on the map for us to follow to hit some small, beautiful villages. The location was only about a 5 minute drive into Montepulciano so we could go back and forth throughout the day when we needed a rest.
Our only complaint is that during our 3 night stay, there were not enough people for them to offer the home cooked dinner. I'm sure it would have been wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We wanted to stay at an agriturismo durning our two week trip to Italy. After a lot of searching we found this one run by Giacomo and his mother to be the perfect location. We had no issue finding the location with our GPS after we were warned that the drive can sneak up on you. The area is surrounded by olive trees and small lizards that like to sun themselves on the side of the buildings. We stayed in the Il Cantiniere room in the heat of the summer and the natural conditioning was perfect. It was lovely to be able to sleep with the windows open and be woken up by the sun. Breakfast freshly made by Ornella was fantastic and was served in a shared dining room where we met some of the other patrons. There was wifi available and it was easy to connect to. Giacomo provided us with a map and locations of some of the best restaurants in Montepulciano and directions to the easiest lots to park in. Getting around was no issue and the top of Montepulciano was less than a ten minute drive. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone else interested in a authentic Tuscan stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Giacomo is a wonderful and helpful host. Our room was great (lo stalliere) and very clean.
Breakfasts were just right and the perfect place to meet fellow travelers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glee3439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Very beautiful room (lo stallerie) with a great view. Giacomo was a very gracious host and even took the time to come meet us at the gas station when we weren't sure how to find the Agriturismo (turns out the location was very easy to get to...). He offered restaurant suggestions and sites to see. The bed was made every day, towels changed just as often. Breakfast was HUGE! Ornella makes one cake for each guest so wake up with an appetite.

The only negative, the rooms are not soundproof.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodyw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
286 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 79 in Montepulciano
208 reviews
7.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalie...
#10 of 79 in Montepulciano
47 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Sanguineto Montepulciano Hotel
Agriturismo Sanguineto Montepulc...
#1 of 10 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo le Caggiole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo le Caggiole

Address: Via Provinciale, 12 | localita` le Caggiole, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by secular olive trees, oaks and helm-oaks, immersed in the heart of a faunal reservoir. All the premises,have been wisely restructured, and enriched with original furnishings finely restored. .The intention is that of making our guests feel a dive in the calm rural environment of the past, without lacking any comfort: nature, history, art and relax in this part of Tuscany where you will rediscover the pleasure of simple things. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Caggiole Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing