We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
158
25
21
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
25
21
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis mothercooking classcakeseach morningpastaworking farmyogurtguinea fowltiramisuspacious accommodationextra pillowsplaces to visitgreat suggestionsseparate buildingwonderful cookrooms are nicehighly recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 212 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Very beautiful room (lo stallerie) with a great view. Giacomo was a very gracious host and even took the time to come meet us at the gas station when we weren't sure how to find the Agriturismo (turns out the location was very easy to get to...). He offered restaurant suggestions and sites to see. The bed was made every day, towels changed just as often. Breakfast was HUGE! Ornella makes one cake for each guest so wake up with an appetite.

The only negative, the rooms are not soundproof.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodyw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Decorated with antique farm implements on the eastern slope of Montepulciano Agriturismo le Caggiole fulfiled the hopes of two Florida italophiles with as much charm, warmth, and care as anyone could hope for. Giacomo was anxious to give us his great advice for touring southern Tuscany. Even though we did a lot of research, his local, on-the-ground advice made our visit to the area efficient and thorough, with recommendations for an itinerary and best choices for meals in the many towns along the way.
The room could rival a hotel for ammenities and comfort, was sparkling clean and had a view that was arresting. Our hosts kept the heat turned on for spoiled Floridians in the brisk March chill. Ornella, although not English speaking, was clearly concerned for our needs and was proud to serve her guests a breakfast that exceeded our expectations. The building and grounds were manicured for receiving visitors well, done in the very Tuscan fieldstone style hoped for. Those visitors wanting a petting zoo atmosphere will be disappointed, as we saw no animals, this being a wine and olive farm.
Using le Caggiole as a base, we roamed comfortably as far east as Cortona and west to Montalcino, filling 4 days with the experiences that Giacomo pointed us to.
We didnt ask for cooking classes or evening meals, nor wanted a pool, nor were we wanting a family resort. The generous hospitality in a Tuscan hillside olive grove was just enough, just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bycstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We returned to Italy this year for the wedding of a friend, and went back to Le Caggiole for a night because luckily it was on our way. Once again, Giacomo, and his mother Ornella went out of their way to accomodate our every need and desire. He suggested and made reservations for us at a wonderful restaurant, and also helped us secure lodging at an abbey for another night of our trip. He took us on a tour of his small estate, and showed us parts of the buildings that are over 1100 years old. The rooms were perfect! Spotlessly clean, with perfect views and ambiance. MaMa Ornella's food was so good!!! She is a wonderful cook, who enjoys seeing her guests be happy. You will not leave her breakfast table unsatisfyed! This is a wonderful place, with wonderful hosts. we really enjoyed it..... AGAIN!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMasters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Things are simple at Le Caggiole and it works. I stayed in the “Lo Stalliere” room, beautifully furnished, spacious bathroom, complete with a long view of the olive trees and Le Crete hills beyond – something out of a postcard. Giacomo is a special person. His passion for the integrity of his family’s farm - vineyard, olive groves and honey bees- shows up in the food and the timeless feeling of the place. I was one lucky enough to get a tour and couldn’t keep up with the knowledge he was spitting out (probably from years growing up on the farm) about planting orientation, harvesting tricks, old Tuscan superstitions etc. Along with the guests, he still manages the grapes and olives around the property, which adds to the authenticity of the operation. Mama Ornella’s lasagna and rosemary pork chops will never be forgotten. Just a great place. Beautiful area. Unforgettable memories. Genuine people.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank LIJames24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This agriturismo consists of two ancient buildings lovingly rebuilt with modern amenities. It is practically in an olive grove and has a vineyard just up the road. Pomegranate and fig trees are scattered around, also bee hives. Our apartment included a full kitchen, although we were only there 3 nights so didn't use it much. The host, Giacomo, was very nice and helpful, recommended some good sites off the beaten track. He has researched the history of the site and is clearly close to the land. It is only a couple of minutes drive into Montepulciano which is a great example of a Tuscan hill town.

Le Caggiole can house only 4 or 5 couples at a time so there was no crowd. Mama's breakfast cakes are made with fresh fruit and baked fresh each morning. They are spectacular! We were able to attend one of the Tuscan dinners that are offered irregularly. The food was very good, but authentic Tuscan food seems to revolve around meat, meat, and more meat so we were uncomfortably stuffed. Not knocking it just too much. We loved the area and the place and would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronjon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews