We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Godimento DiVino

Godimento DiVino
Ranked #20 of 101 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've been there twice because we've been with a group. And both times it was the same - the food seems as if made a day before. "Tortino di verdure" is tasteless, beef tagliata was too chewy, my daughter had a chicken which was more dried then baked... simply not interesting at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guntheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    174
    35
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The food and service are great, the outside seating is spectacular, and the grotto is, well, amazing”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our favorite dining spot during our ten-day stay in Montepulciano. It was tucked away from the crowds, had a fantastic view of the city rooftops and the valley beyond, and featured an excellent menu with great wines. The coolest part was the visit to the wine cellar, situated in an ancient grotto carved out by Medici royalty as an escape route under the city. Be sure to visit the cellars when you visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ending of our holidays”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have found this place by chance when strolling in the old town. This is a family run place with quiet outside sitting on a patio. The interior is also very nice with own cellar that is possible to visit. The service is very pleasant giving also advices on the wine to select. Gnochi al fume were just excellent. Secondi are mainly steak oriented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ondra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Nice Dinner”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stumbled upon this location around 8pm for dinner. Lovely dining room and cellar area (also where you can dine), with charming atmosphere. Classic Tuscan dining; our favorite dish was an excellent penne with sausage and truffle cream sauce. Our side of steamed spinach was delicious too! There is a nice terrace for summer nights, but it was too cold when we visited. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallerinaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

On our last night of 8 in Tuscany we chose this little restaurant in a corner of Montepulciano on the recommendation of our hotel, and were very glad we did. Unfortunately for them, they had a very quiet night with only one table besides us. I hope this is not typical for them as they deserve better. Very friendly service,despite the language barrier, a lovely ambience inside, with some outside seating for warmer nights , an excellent wine list with a visible cellar, and delicious food. The Pappardelle with Cinghiale (wild boar) was a dish we had enjoyed several times in Tuscany, and was excellent here, with chunky pieces of meat in a tomato sauce rather than the minced boar we had elsewhere. 3 of us then went for the steak with rosemary and pink peppercorns for our Secondo, which was utterly superb. Cooked rare, it was meltingly tender, perfectly seasoned and flavoursome, I imagine from the local Chianina beef, possibly the best steak I have ever eaten, and my children thought so too. Both dishes were well complemented by the excellent Salcheto Vino Nobile 2009 I chose from the extensive list of mostly local wines.

For dessert, the children chose a chocolate torte which was soft and nutty, and not too sweet, moreish enough for us to order a 3rd piece for my wife and I to share, all rounded off with good coffee, and way we went well contented.
Montepulciano is a small town, so wherever you are staying,it won't take long to find this little gem for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godimento DiVino also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Godimento DiVino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing