We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Agriturismo in a wonderful country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Serraglio
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We spend a 2-week vacation with our friends at "Il Serraglio".
We ´ve booked the nice House "I Girasoli" (http://www.ilserraglio.it/appartamenti.de.php) with two Bedrooms and two Bathrooms inside. From the terrace you have a wonderful view down to the valley and you can look up to umbria!
The rooms are very clean and directly nearby the house is a nice pool.
Emanuela and Roberto, the Landlords, operating a vineyard and a dog breading there. The Redwine is one of the best you can find in Montepulciano!
They are very nice people and are very helpful in every situatiuon!
We spend also in 2008 our holidays there and i´m sure it was not the last stay!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWolferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Il Serraglio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

This little villa and winery is a little rustic but filled with all the charms of Tuscany. Our room looked out over their beautiful vineyard where we watched the sun come up and the grape harvest begin. The property is lined with ancient oak trees where the owners would take their dogs and look for the elusive white truffles. Roberto and Emanuela were the perfect hosts. Roberto was very gracious showing me around the area that is filled with history that Americans don’t truly grasp until they have visited Italy. Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities we desired. It is not a five star hotel but that was not what we were looking for here. It was very peaceful and gave us the opportunity to rest and relax. Montepulciano, one of my favorite destinations in Italy, and only a 5 minute drive from the villa, is filled with wonderful shops, restaurants, and historical buildings. On the eve of our departure we were treated to a traditional Tuscan meal by Roberto, Emanuela, their two sons, and a friend who happens to be a chef in a near by restaurant. The evening was enchanting, Italian flat bread and pizza cooked in there outdoor brick oven, local meats and cheeses, and of course Emanuela’s wonderful wine made right on the property. A must do if you choose to visit this property is to ask Roberto for a wine and olive oil barrel tasting, what a treat. Once you have tried olive oil straight from the cask you are spoiled for ever. I highly recommend this property; it is close to Montepulciano and many other sites and wineries that you will not want to miss.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed 3 days at Il Serraglio in Montepulciano. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the accomodations, the location and the incredible hospitality we were shown. We shared 2 well equipped, clean and very traditional Tuscan cottages, we ate delicious fresh picked figs and grapes everyday and our host, Roberto, brought us coffee and cornetto every morning. We had a wine tasting in his ancient winecellar - his wines and olive oil are second to none! He took us on a fabulous day tour of the gorgeous Val D'Orcia area and when we returned that evening his wife and friend showed us how to make homemade Tuscan pasta and it was great.
He sat at the table with us and ate and we talked all evening. It was an experience we will never forget! I highly recommend this agriturismo.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We just returned from a week in Montepulciano Tuscany where we stayed at the Agriturismo Il Serraglio. We spent a week in one of the one bedroom apartments which are offered on the amazingly beautiful property. Lots of wine groves, fruits trees and olive groves as well as a fabulous swimming pool with an even more fabulous view.

We loved Roberto, and his lovely wife who were outstanding hosts. Roberto gave us many tips on where to go for our day trips as well as where to eat some of the best Italian food we have ever eaten.

We loved our apartment which we found very well equiped with all we needed for our weeks stay. We met some wonderful people who were also staying in the other cottages from the Netherlands. We made some new friends.

We will most definitely go back again before the next 2 years are up. Roberto spoke wonderful English and great German.

If you want to stay at a place where you can really experience the Tuscan way of life as well as the spectacular scenery, then you need to stay at Il Serraglio.

The property is in a great location with easy access of all roads leading to the many villages and towns in the Tuscany hills. As well as Sienna and Florence to the North.

Try the Il Serraglio wines and olive oil, you'll never taste better.

Thanks Roberto. We had the best vacation ever.

We will be back.

Evelyn & Jack Taylor
Toronto, Canada
August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jack Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Excellent, Roberto was wonderful...we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JSTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Tombask X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.0 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#12 of 28 in Montepulciano
196 reviews
8.1 mi away
Podere Le Manzinaie
Podere Le Manzinaie
#3 of 79 in Montepulciano
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Metina
Agriturismo Metina
#2 of 10 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Gonzeto Agriturismo
Il Gonzeto Agriturismo
#6 of 79 in Montepulciano
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Fontecastello
Agriturismo Fontecastello
#19 of 79 in Montepulciano
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Serraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Serraglio

Address: Via della Montagna 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: $108 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Serraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing