We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mioni Royal San
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Montegrotto Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked through RCI who advertises the hotel as in Padova; it isn't, but it's only a short train hop away and the railway station is very close. We were given a double bedded room although we had booked, and RCI had confirmed, a twin. The hotel did change the room for us after one night and the room we the had was satisfactory. Daily room service, toiletries etc. as a matter of course and a nice touch was towelling robes and slippers for the duration of the stay. I don't know whether it was the same for all guests, perhaps only RCI, but a condition of our stay was that we were obliged to take the evening meals at a fixed cost. This was not cheap but the food was excellent and there was always a wide choice. Staff were efficient and spoke sufficient English for the guests' needs - levels of friendliness varied!
Montegrotto is a pleasant small town famous for its thermal spas dating back to Roman times and, although we visited late in the season, there was often some event taking place in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c_bloxsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I absolutely loved this property. I booked through RCI and could not have been happier. I took the train there from Rome. It is a cute little, authentic Italian town with great shops and cafes. I used a laundromat close by and it was very convenient. It is a beautiful resort, modern decor and friendly staff. My room was quite large with a king size bed and a double door balcony. Room service came every day to tidy up. The bed was perhaps a little on the hard side but I slept well regardless. I enjoyed the pool very much. They keep the water very warm and they have waterfalls that are excellent for pounding out back tension. It is also the most perfect location for exploring northern Italy. The train station is right next to the resort and tickets aren't too expensive at all (train station is Terme Euganee if you want to get tickets in advance from trenitalia.it). I did notice a bit of noise from train traffic but it was completely worth it for having the convenience of the train station right there. I did a couple day trips to Venice which I loved. Make sure you go to Murano and Burano, the outlying islands of Venice known for glass and lace-making respectively. I also did a day in Verona which was very fun. I participated in the mandatory half-board and was really thankful to have that. It was nice having breakfasts and dinners all ready for me and not having to find a place to eat. I do wish they would expand the hours a bit though. Breakfast is from 7:30 to 10 and dinners are from 7:30 to 9. It made for a little annoyance having to make sure I could be back in time for dinner but I made it work. Breakfasts were pretty standard, European. They did have eggs and sausage though along with cold cuts, breads, cereals and fruits. And they have champagne every morning for guests. Dinners were wonderful. Four courses and something different every night. The appetizer bar is amazing and I had to stop myself from filling up on appetizers before my pasta and entree courses. Desserts were great also. The bartender, Samy is very friendly and excellent. Front desk staff don't speak a lot of English but help you the best they can and I managed just fine. I didn't spend any time at the spa since I was more on an "exploring" trip but the treatments seemed very good and a good value. I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the hotel as a time share, and were pleasantly surprised. Located across from the small train station, it's an easy hop over to Venice, Bologna, Padua, and even Verona. Great place to relax after a hectic and crowded day in Venice. The four course dinners were amazing, kudos to the chef. We would actually look forward to the dinner's, embarrassingly enough, even plan our day-trips around them. According to our hotel pamphlets Montegrotto is a popular hot springs area with an interesting history and therapeutic qualities. The decor may of been a bit outdated, but the staff and charm of this little town made up for it. The hotel tries to keep the stay interesting by having varying entertainment in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlehappybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good location next to Railway Station (you can hear all trains passing by if your room is next to the railway tracks). The garden-view rooms are nice and quiet.
The friendly staff of the Fango Therapy station compensates for the outdated set-up.
Friendliness of the Wellness Area Staff could be improved. Same applies for the Front Desk Staff.
Pool Area and cleanliness are OK.
One night there was a wild party with awful music at 130 decibel until 1.30 am.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hzgraggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the hotel as a time share. We knew nothing about it or the area and were pleasantly surprised with both. Montegrotto is a 10 minute train ride from Padova and 30 minutes from Venice. It is a small quaint cozy town with interesting places to visit near by. According to our hotel literature it is the most popular mineral hot springs area in Europe. The hotel is also a spa with every type of treatment you would want. Many people come just for the spa. The waters supposedly have therapeutic qualities. We had half board and loved the food. All the employees of the hotel are very helpful. There was entertainment every evening. Wednesday evening there was a Hawaiian theme dinner around the swimming pool with fantastic food and free wine. There was also lots of excellent entertainment. We did wish we had know to bring more clothes for evening dining as we mostly had very casual tourist clothing. The rooms are spotless. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We picked this location to accommodate easy day trips into Venice and to allow relaxing in a beautiful historic location. We booked a RCI timeshare week but notified the hotel we would only be staying 5 days. By notifying them at least 14 days before checking in you will be charged half-board only for the days you’re there in lieu of the whole week. A required € 48 daily half-board charge per person provides a delightful European buffet breakfast and an excellent 4 course dinner, with several entrées to choose from. A carry-out lunch can be provided on request in situations where you will miss the evening meal. Such was the case on the two days when we traveled into Venice. The staff is friendly, helpful and most spoke enough English to satisfy our conversations. Special thanks go out to Michaela whose persona and attention at meal time was exceptional.

Hotel Mioni Royal San turned out to be an excellent introduction to the Italian culture. The hotel promotes itself as a Spa resort with an indoor and outdoor pool that are interconnecting and heated by a thermal spring. It’s a very leisurely atmosphere with other amazing services available at extra costs. We used their bicycle rental program to tour the area. Bicycles are a common form of transportation for locals. There are a number of nice restaurants close by to have lunch, snacks or just have a drink. One favorite that stood out is restorante pizzeria Principe at 35036 Viale Stazione. Located beside the restaurant are the ruins of a Roman bathing complex that dates back to BC.

On arrival to Italy we flew into the Venice Marco Polo A/P to start our 17 day vacation. Directions from there to the Hotel were somewhat confusing from the information we had and in not being completely familiar with Italian public transportation. We had decided when planning our trip not to rent a car but to use Rail-Europe train service to connect to our various destinations.

To linkup with train service from the Marco Polo A/P it turned out to be very easy by using local bus transportation to the Mestre Train Station, about a 30 minute ride. The A/P bus stand location is conveniently posted on an electronic billboard for service to Mestre complete with time schedules that identify several trips per hour. Purchase bus tickets within A/P locations at € 6.00 each. Tickets will need to be punched by a machine at the bus stand location that clips a corner notch. Luggage is accommodated under the bus. Purchase train tickets at € 8.20 each to Padova, the Terme Euganee (Abano-Montegrotto) stop. To do this, you catch a train to Bologna or Roma, line B tracks. Our experience resulted in the train’s first stop being at the Padova Central Station and the second stop being further away at the Terme Euganee (Abano-Montegrotto) stop, where you exit and the hotel is no more than 100 yards away. Train tickets must be pre-stamped by machines inside the station before getting on the train. Be careful, trains from Mestre to Milano do not stop at the Terme Euganee (Abano-Montegrotto) location. Some travel books may report they do but the trains to Milano only stop at the Padova Central Station and continue on west in lieu of taking the southward direction on to the Terme Euganee (Abano-Montegrotto) stop.

Train service to the Venice Santa Lucia Station which is the station that provides a direct approach into the city is about a 45 minute ride at € 8.20 each. Directly outside the train station, catch vaporetto #2 (ferry service) for a ride down the grand canal at € 7.00 each. Vaporetto #2 makes stops along the way and will get you to the Rialto Bridge and to St. Marks Square locations, which are stops to catch-up with some of the more popular tours of Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When I arrived, I was a little taken back, almost in culture shock. This was the first time I had traveled to an Italian town that did not have the traditional old buildings and old feel. This was definitly a resort/vacation spot, it had a very scandinavian feel! The hotel was beautiful, the pool was very relaxing, service and food were both great. Hotel Mioni is located just outside the train station which makes its location great for quick trips to Padova, Verona, Venice, Florence and much more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montegrotto Terme hotels
0.8 mi away
Esplanade Tergesteo
Esplanade Tergesteo
#4 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Terme delle Nazioni
Wellness Hotel Terme delle Nazio...
#5 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eliseo Terme
Hotel Eliseo Terme
#6 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellavista Terme Resort & Spa
Bellavista Terme Resort & Spa
#19 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terme Imperial
Hotel Terme Imperial
#17 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relilax Hotel Terme Miramonti
Relilax Hotel Terme Miramonti
#3 of 25 in Montegrotto Terme
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mioni Royal San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mioni Royal San

Address: Piazzale della Stazione 10, 35036 Montegrotto Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Montegrotto Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Montegrotto Terme
Price Range: $165 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mioni Royal San 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mioni Royal San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing