We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Butterfly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #63 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just spent a wonderful week staying at this hotel and visiting the nearby area. The hotel is great for a happy, relaxing base from which to travel to Pisa,Florence, Lucca, the coast, Bologna. Everywhere can be easily reached by train from Montecatini, although if you have a car there are plenty of lovely villages to visit, or drive through the hills. Also, don't miss a visit to Montecatini Alto while you are there. It can be reached by car or fenicular rail. It's a gem and great for views and has a lovely 'restaurant square' for wonderful dining.
The staff at Hotel Kadampa are extremely helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. This is a very good value place to stay for anyone who likes to get away from the 'touristy' type accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kenjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

If you are looking for a warm and friendly atmosphere, efficient service and exceptional value for money in Tuscany then Hotel Kadampha is the place to stay! We stayed for 6 nights on a bed and breakfast basis.

The staff at the hotel went out of their way to ensure that our stay was an enjoyable one. Our room was clean and well presented e.g. fresh flowers on our arrival. We also had a wonderful view of the Tuscan hills from our veranda. Leisurely breakfast were delicious and included fresh fruit, juices, fresh croissants/rolls delivered from the bakery that morning ....and wonderful coffee.

Staff were available when needed to provide information and advice about the local area, transport, the people and local customs. This ensured that we were able to make the most of the time we had available for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MaureenUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at this property for 2 nights - Dec 30 and 31,2007. What confusion!! The confirmed room reservations were incorrect and it took 2 hours of negotiating to get the correct rooms. Although in Italy, no one was able to speak Italian - they were all English speakers. When called by phone,they were unable to direct us to the hotel from anywhere in the tiny town of Montecatini Terme. The front desk was manned by 2 "volunteers", both of whom knew virtually nothing about running a hotel. The hotel was COLD - in fact all heat turned off completely at 1:30 AM and turned back on at 6:30 AM. You could see your breath in the rooms. This is an absolute bare bones establishment with no amenities. Since it is under new management, I would give it a long time to get on its feet before ever booking here.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ProfessoressaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Although visiting Italy is always a pleasure it is often hard or almost impossible to find any hotels or restaurants that cater specifically for vegetarians. Needless to say I was so happy when I discovered Hotel Kadampa on my recent travels in Tuscany.

The hotel is clean and occupies an idyllic setting, peaceful and beautiful, yet close enough to Florence and Pisa to provide ample opportunities to visit the sights that make Tuscany so famous throughout the world.

The staff at the hotel really went out of their way to try and make sure our experience was as special as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tsangpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Proprietario at Hotel Butterfly, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank streghetta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Proprietario at Hotel Butterfly, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,482,015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#16 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#13 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#17 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#67 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alassio
Hotel Alassio
#61 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Butterfly

Address: Viale San Francesco d'Assisi, 15, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $62 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prestigious area of the beautiful spa town of Montecatini Terme , there exists a refined hotel with particular attention to every detail: Hotel Butterfly. In this relaxing place, each and everyone has the unique possibility to experience and appreciate the beauty of life in all of its simplicity and originality. Thanks to the new proprietors, the Cantoni Family, courtesy and ospitality are priority to every need of our guests. And at the end of your stay, your sensation will be to come back and visit us again !! The hotel, newly restructured, has 28 rooms, all with private bathroom, central heating system, air- conditioning, hairdryer, minibar, direct phone to the external line, sat TV, wireless connection and some rooms with balcony. Our menus have something for every taste, from traditional dishes from Tuscany, to lighter Mediterranean or international cuisine, all prepared by our chef to whet the appetite and delight the eyes. The wine list is carefully planned to accompany each dish right through to our range of delicious desserts. A few kilometres from the most important Tuscan art cities, Montecatini is a lively, modern and hospitable spa town where taking the waters also means movement, fun, shows and cultural activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing