We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marco Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spend in this hotel 2 nights, I have to say, that the hotel was pleasant, food was good and sufficient. The staff always was helpful and spoke good english. Spacious room was clean and comfortable. I can advise all people, who want spend their time in a pleasant hotel in a beautiful spa resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrosikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have just recently stayed at this hotel and NEVER again! From start to finish it was a nightmare. After a long trip I just wanted a nice room and a shower. I had a single and believe me it was a single. The room was very small and was dominated by large wardrobe. I went to the toilet and had to clean the bowl myself, even though it had one of those hygene labels on it. As I went to flush the toilet to clean it large pieces of brown waste washed out of the cystern. I took one look at the shower head and it was heavily encrusted with dirt. So much so that as the water dripped from the shower head it was leaving a light brown stain on the shower tray. I subsequently found out, from the receptionist, that they were having a problem with the plumbing and that said problem had meant that various rooms were uninhabitable.

The room was dirty. The dirt in wooden fretwork was a clear indication that the room hadn't been cleaned in a while. I ended up sleeping on top of the quilt as it was the only clean piece of bedding. I didn't bother trying to identify the stain on the pillow

No one seemed to know what they were doing. I got two single rooms when I only needed one and if you are a family don't assume that you will get rooms on the same floor. Come dinner the waiters had to look at the menu so they knew what to serve us. The food wasn't anything special. I had chicken and carrots in some sort of buttery sauce. The chicken was OK but the carrots in sauce looked like someone had thrown up on the plate.

This was the first time I have ever had complained about a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the San Marco Hotel in Montecatini for 3 nights in early June. The hotel was dead! Each morning at breakfast there were usually only a handful of other people present at the most!
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Montecatini, and a 10-15 minute walk to the cable car to go up to Montecatini Alto.
The rooms are large, and although once probably very nice, do need refurbishing, as they are looking old. However, they are perfectly clean and were acceptable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast itself was fine (cereals, breads, etc.), but we never ate dinner in the hotel as there are plently of restaurants nearby in the town.
Overall, pleasant but nothing special!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

The pictures of the hotel do not reflect reality. The pictures create high expectations of the hotel interior. But in fact the furniture is old and the rooms should be redecorated. We had the idea that for sure it should have been a beautiful hotel years ago.
But other than that we had a pleasant stay. The staff is very nice and client oriented, the hotel is clean and has spacious rooms. Furthermore its location is near to the city centre in a beautiful neighbourhood. Oh ....and a very important thing is that you can make use of the facilities of a very nice grand hotel, just 2 minutes walk. Enjoy.
John, Amsterdam

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — The hotel furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel was a substitute for a much nicer one that we had booked, so we were somewhat disappointed. The rooms were ok, clean but older furnishings. Desk staff helpful, food good but meals were small and not many choices. We had a major plumbing problem in our first room -- sink turned into a geyser -- but were quickly given another room and the staff moved all our stuff.

  • Liked — friendly staff, tasty food
  • Disliked — rooms only average
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIngoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#78 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf Hotel Corallo
Golf Hotel Corallo
#40 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#10 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#25 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#19 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel

Property: San Marco Hotel
Address: Viale Rosselli 3, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing