We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but with special atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel du Park et Regina
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 1 week. The stay was very nice. Hotel is quite old, not renovating many times I think but it has its own old style and atmosphere. Big swimming pool and free car parking is great addition when you think you have to pay for parking on the street. Hotel is close to funicolare and big park with alleys, trees etc. It is 15-20 minutes walk to train station. When you book using booking.com WiFi is free of charge but its not highspeed. I would recommend this place. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polak_krk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel du Park et Regina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Cork Youth Orchestra from Ireland stayed for a week at the Hotel Regina Montecatini. The Spa Town of Monticatini was the perfect place for our group, it is a quiet town, with a small market, plenty of cafes and ice cream parlours, a lovely Town Hall and the Terme Tettuccio, with it's famous spas is a fantastic setting for concerts ( there seemed to be something on every evening). There is a train just 200m from the hotel which will take you up to Montecatini Alto, with it's beautiful little town, and fantastic views.
The hotel Regina is a step back in time in terms of the character of the building, and the friendly staff. Virtually all requests were accommodated, Franco in the bar will give you a nice drink and Resturant staff dealt with our group with an ease that hid the effort required to feed 152 people at a single sitting, three times daily.
The hotel reception staff were always helpful, and at hand when we arrived at 3am.
The bedrooms are large, very well decorated, with nice bathrooms, the only negative point was the air conditioning which was a bit noisy and being controlled from reception and was not always on.
There are plenty of meeting rooms, and the main dining room is large and well decorated. Food was great, breakfast is typical continental, meat, cheese, bread and croissant, but there is also cereals, and the loads of juice. Lunch and dinner was also typical Italian, a pasta dish, followed by a meat dish, dessert and coffee.

The pool is a nice size, and there are plenty of nooks and crannies where you can sit out on a warm evening.
We will certainly be returning and would without hesitation, recommend a stay here.

Adrian O'Mahony
Chairman
Cork Youth Orchestra

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Direttore at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Customer,
I make them on behalf of the entire staff of the Hotel the best thanks for your kind comments issued,hope to have you as our customers for the upcoming seasons.

Gabriele Cearini
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

After staying at a hotel in Rome that had NO air conditioning, we were thrilled to find that we had some air conditioning. We found out after the first night that we had no control over when it was on and when it was off. But for the most part, it was an improvement over our previous hotel, so we were grateful. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We had issues with the guests at the hotel next door on Tue Wed and Thu nights. They played techno pop and Italian polka music until midnight or so. The speakers must have been aimed directly at our windows. It was extremely loud. When we spoke to the front desk, they said they couldn't do anything about it until midnight. Then, if we called, they would contact the police. Since our room was directly above the kitchen, we were awakened early with the noise of breakfast preparation. Needless to say, the short nights were frustrating. We worried that the weekend would be worse, but the group must have left, because it was quiet! We had thought about asking to change rooms, but someone else said they had done that and ended up away from the music but closer to the street noise and the room wasn't as nice. Glad we stayed put! The pool is pleasant and the bar is always open. We enjoyed the meals and didn't mind that there was little choice in what we got. It is an easy walk downtown, or to the park area surrounding the spa next door. There were lovely concerts there most nights - usually classical music of some sort. We noticed many tour groups stay in this hotel. We had our 23 yr old son with us who felt out of place since most of the guests were 50+.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ticketless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

I stayed in this hotel in May 2007 as part of a group. This hotel is not a new one and has a little bit of cachet from an architectural perspective. The outdoor with the pool is rather nice. The lobby and the main entrance is not that bad but the rooms were very ordinary not with cachet… but with old and uninteresting furniture.

My first room was overlooking the main entrance and the very busy street in front of the hotel it was very noisy. I did ask to change my room and they gave me something less noisy but overlooking the backyard and the rooftops so at the end I was not necessarily more pleased. As for the bathroom it was not very nice and with the shower set up we ended up having a lot of water in the bathroom.

The hotel itself is not very far from the funicular that brings you to Montecatini Terme Alto from where you end up in a typical little village with a very nice view. Other than that there is not much to see except for the old thermal baths.

I would not have selected this hotel myself as my destination was Firenze and I would not have stayed there any longer. I guess that overall it was ok since I was there mainly to sleep

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmanuelleMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed in this hotel in September 2006 as part of a group. Overall the hotel was fine. The rooms were clean and spacious.
Our room overlooked the park so we were woken by the lovely classical music and operas that played there everyday from early morning to late evening.
The pool was clean and almost always empty (it is and open air pool and it is not heated).
The food was a little bit of a let down. There was a limited choice for breakfast, the ususal bread, meat, cheese, juice, and no choice for dinner (some guests had to ask if there was a vegetarian option). Portions were small but the food was fine.
The location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of the town, all down hill. It is very near the funicular and the park.
Montecatini itself is a nice town with some nice restaurants and shops.
Overall I enjoyed the stay but if i was looking for a hotel myself I don't think I would stay at the Regina.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LBWJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank monia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#24 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#22 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torretta
Hotel Torretta
#14 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Settentrionale Esplanade
Hotel Settentrionale Esplanade
#45 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#10 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Park et Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Park et Regina

Address: Viale Diaz n.8, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $99 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Park et Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina is situated in the green adjacent to the thermal park of Montecatini-Terme and Hotel is a four-star hotel boasts 108 rooms equipped with all modern comforts, 2 restaurants, 1 bar warm and cozy, wi-fi in all the hotel 2 meeting rooms for meetings, our private parking located within the facility remains available to all our clients emphasizing the possibility of to park the bus without any additional cost (our parking can arrange until 6 bus). Our kitchen offers various types of menus, and is able to satisfy all your kind request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel du Park et Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing