We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have visited the famous spa-town of Montecatini Terme four times, and every time I have stayed at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio. Definitely a hotel worth visiting! A family-run hotel where guests are at the center and where staff do their absolute best in terms of providing good service and make the guest feel at home. The hotel has an excellent kitchen and the hotel's kitchen staff is very focused on creating the best of Tuscan cuisine. Located in the center of Montecatini, you step right in to Italian evening atmosphere when the night approaches – characterized by pleasant street and cafe ambiance and pleasant Italian hospitality, which is also very characteristic of the hotel staff. I look forward to visit the hotel again this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRF-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Would never recommend this hotel to others. Best thing that can be said is that it's clean. Food average minus. Okay, its a "continental" breakfast, but anything but inviting - not one piece of fruit or a hard boiled egg to be seen. Resorted to taking in own food. Dining room long and narrow with no windows and tables set together down each side - thought we were in a school canteen. Hotel very tired looking, walls all need a coat of paint. There is no outside space other than the pavement. Others have mentioned the noise, so I won't reiterate. Terrible hard pillows on the bed and when we asked them to be changed, we were given more of the same. Booked this holiday through Mistral - first and last time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hantsh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario B, Proprietario at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Ledies and Gentelman,

Thank you for the compliments on the cleanliness of our Hotel.

About your restaurant review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our Tuscan cuisine like the rest of your group. Other participants in your trip have also praised our restaurant on tripadvisor.

You were doing a group of 40 people and why you eat together at tables of 4-6 people, as do all groups in the world and not as a school canteen.

The breakfast was everything included our contract. If you have not seen eggs and fruit because they were not included.

Our hotel is painted every year.
We are open all year and working hard, maybe there are some points to be repainted.
But if you want to be so fussy, they will find in every hotel of the world.

With regard to our space outside besides a large roofed veranda of about 30 seats,
In addition, we have an exclusive Dheor with 25-30 other places reserved for our guests.
I consider that his judgment is not correct !

In general I consider his review too hard and partly incorrect.
Fortunately, the other part of your group Mistral is playing very pleased and thanked the hotel for spending a pleasant holiday.
Unfortunately, writing reviews are often the very few people unhappy Instead the majority has found that good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is family run with excellent service, good meals (extra helpings for our tour group!) and a welcoming atmosphere. Unfortunately there is a major down side. Rooms (particularly those on the main street) are very noisy right up to 1am and sometimes even later. This is due to groups of youths congregating on the street -there are stone benches where they can sit together- and loud music blaring from a shop and cafe till late on. Add traffic noise vibrating through the walls and you will get the idea. I have been reassured that it is not my own particular sensitivity because many others on our tour group had similar comments- a pity because otherwise our treatment was excellent.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the main street if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario B, Proprietario at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Ladies and Gentelman,

Thank you for all the nice words on our Hotel.

Our Hotel is located right on the main street of Montecatini, considered the most exclusive area of the whole city.
To this during the day there are many people who pass by the hotel.
During the night, the stores are closed and from June to October also the traffic will be prohibited to cars.
In this way there will surely be more silence.

We hope to have you as soon as customers.

Best Regards
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

will recommend to others to book this hotel nice location with shops and restaurants around and enjoy a beautiful walk in the evening.

Room Tip: nice location,the staff is brilliant especially the receptionists where very helpful good b'fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very good positioned hotel, but during weekend very noisy. If you are exhausted from sightseeing doesn't mind but if you really need peace...Streams of youngsters driving motorcycles and cars with bumping bass music all throught the night. Despite all of this, rooms are clean, clean, clean. We remembered a young waitress, always with smile on her face and young barmen nervous because his football team lost the crucial match (but it's tipically italian). Any way highly recomendable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisthemeneace14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This summer, 2011, it was the fourth time we did spend our summer holiday here, and we could not imagine a summer holiday without visiting Hotel Massimo d' Azeglio. We started by being 3 friends here in 2008, but now every year we return with extra people who wish to stay here as well! In 2011 we were 8 people spending our holiday here. The hotel is situated directly along the main street, with all the shops and very close to all the sights in Montecatini. In the evening the street is a pedestrian zone, which makes it really relaxing. It is also close to the train station if going to Florence, Pisa and Lucca. (But we prefer to stay in Montecatini, because it is more relaxing and with better prices:-) The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean and with aircondition and fridge so your drinks can be kept cold. You can close shutters by the windows which we like. This is a family driven hotel and everybody are so nice and friendly, and you feel very much at home. Good service as well. In the reception area there are a lot of couches for you to relax. In the kitchen (supervised by the grandmother) they make the best home made food! Fresh, simple and very good home made food!! And along with a bottle of wine from Tuscany and some cold water, we always leave the eating area very happy and very full:-) We can not wait to go back in 2012..... for the fifth time:-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorthe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio in June 2011 with some friends. We all really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was lovely, rooms very nice and clean, and all the staff were really helpful and most friendly. The food was to a very good standard, simply delicious home made food, what is very important to an allergic person like me. I could eat simply everything from the hotels kitchen, even the things which I am normally very careful with when I am at home. I felt that all my stomach problems were simply gone during that staying - what a wonderful feeling :-). Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely like to go back to wonderful both Montecatini Terme and Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
6  Thank Hanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Moderno
Park Hotel Moderno
#65 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#17 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#38 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
#11 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Corso Giacomo Matteotti 42, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $62 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing