We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medici

Hotel Medici
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medici
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

This is a clean and friendly hotel, inexpensive, so short on luxuries. Our room was tiny but did have air con. which was appreciated in the heat wave. Staff are helpful and friendly, especially the lady serving breakfast! Breakfast was disappointing; bread rolls, cheese and ham, no fruit or yoghurt. Rather stale cereals and warmed up, watered down milk.
The town is pretty and convenient for visiting sights including Florence, Lucca and the coast. Train travel was very cheap and reliable. There is a lot to see and do in the area, we were there 10 days and weren't short of things to do.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murielle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Called here on an overnight stop through Italy and although the town was thriving, it was a Bank Holid;ay in Italy, it is a very pretty town with many bars and restaurants. Also quite a few shops for the ladies! As I said, it was just an overnight stop so the place was only really viewed in the dark but you would certainly not struggle to get a meal or a drink. I'm sure in the daytime it would be a nice enough place to look around. We stayed at the Hotel Grand Duca Leopoldo, a hotel quite nicely situated, just a short stroll to the centre, but although it looked very nice from the outside, our room was more like a prison cell! The decor was not so good and we had a triple room in which there was certainly no room to swing a cat!! There was a very rickety wardrobe and a small table with a TV - we didn't bother - and the bathroom was only adequate. There was air conditioning in the room though but we found it quite noisy. The foold at the hotel was quite good and the staff did all they could to make it a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank thefamilyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

We stayed in a room on the side of the hotel with a balcony .

The room is small but lovely furnished the bathroom was very small and the toliet was next to the shower which Im not sure I liked .The rooms have been modernised I understand

The foyer is small and the desk was only manned on one occasion the people across the road in Hotel Granduca di Leopaldo Hotel recpetion seem to look after the hotel. The room walls are quite thin and you can hear the shower next door

The hotel has a rooftop terrace with wonderful views and loungers up there , the pool is cleaned daily and we had it to ourselves which was nice . there are balconies overlooking the pool .

There was a group of schoolchilren staying one night in the hotel upstairs

The room had no safe or minibar ...we kept our vauluables locked in our cases

it is a 5 minute walk from the motecatini terme train station adn 5 mins from the main centre.

Breakfast was served daily in the hotel Granduca di Leopoldo hotel across the road . The staff there are very friendly and you only have to ask for anything and they quickly help you

We had continental breakfast , croissants, lovely cappucino, there was yoghurts , ham cheese , rolls , boiled eggs ..go to breakfast 7-730am or 820pm to 9am to avoid the school party children that stay in this hotel, they also hang around the hotel at night ..We were out at night so it didnt bother us

I would definatley stay at this hotel again it was good value for money!!!! and a great base to explore Florence and Pisa

Great friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

We were booked into the hotel Medici across the road which I think is a sister hotel but they put us in this hotel for the first few nights

The staff are extremerly helpfull, cant do enough for you ! we asked for a room with a balcony and our request was met straight away .

The dining rooms was lovely , we had croissants ,yoghurts, cheese and ham and boiled eggs too the cappucino was yummy , there is a small bar and a relaxing area with sofa's to relax on. A clean hotel

The rooms were clean , although small , the bathrooms were very compact !

It is a good value hotel and the staff are great I would recommend it and its a 5 min walk from the station and close to the centre.

You can use the pool at the hotel across the road which is a nice small pool and there are loungers to relax on we had the pool to ourselves on the occasions we were there

The only downside is that parties of schoolchildren tend to stay there for one night at a time and parties come and go if you go for breakfast go down after 815am or 7-730am to avoid them !
they can be noisy at nights knocking on doors , some rooms have two bunbeds in them on the third floor and tehy hang around the hotel at evenings

It didnt bother us apart from the first night, to be fair the staff do their best to minimise disruption to guests .

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2005

Hotelpronto.com - triple room B&B 4 nights £184. We're always lucky - pic looked great. Took a chance.Having it's fotos taken for a new brochure-been refurbished v recently.Spotless, 3 beds, crisp linen, shower better than 1 at home, balcony etcc. Typical continental b/fast-tasty croissants. Bar for a nightcap. Pool across road at sister hotel. If going back to MC would stay here - cheap - clean - quiet position, cuddly owner.
MC-look at the Tettuccio Terme-wow.Eat at the Grande Cafe D'e MC. Corso Matteotti from the hotel,turn right 3 mins along on left. Art deco, food, staff excellent. Panna Cotta & caramel sauce 2 die 4. Lovely gardens..
MC Alto -a must. Went 4 sunset-gorgeous-nice eating places in square reasonable price. Ran out of time to go back to C & find out more of the history.
Lucca - stayed the day. Narrow streets-lovely architecture-good feel about town. Lunch at K2 next 2 piazza anfiteatro.C gardens Palazzo Pfanner. Cheated & saw them from the walls.
Firenze - took train-ideal.All famous landmarks in
easy walking distance. Check open/close times-busy with tours.Plenty artists-u can barter.
Pisa. Landed lucky & parked 2 mins from the piazza miracoli. Walked through walled gate-the white of the marble against blue sky was something else. Just as well tower quite small why still standing. Had a sore leg or would have climbed the steps? Didn't stay in Pisa-went on to Viareggio for a paddle & see (old faded) art deco hotels.Torre del Lago where Puccin lived.
Re car hire - be careful where you park or 72 eur fine. On motor way drive to PAGARE toll section. Others 4 residents have a car ticket sensor auotmatically opens barrier&reg cost.
Had a fab 40th birthday with the girls.Love Italy go back in a minute - Tuscan area v pictresque as is the rest of Italy. a il prossimo tempo.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDV&HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

We arrived here and were instantly whisked away to anther hotel which was actually closed andwas dirty and so run down.when i complained we were booked into a 4star hotel for the night at their expense with the promise that we would resume our stay in the Granduca the next morning. The pictures on the internet are so misleading.the hotel looks nothing like them and is very run down.Staff were very unfriendly even though it's a family run hotel.Breakfast was disgusting with nothing fresh available.at night and in the early morning we were awoken by peole having showers and flushing toilets because the walls were that thin.the town itself is nice but only warrants a two day stay.after that boredom creeps in.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#61 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera
Hotel La Riviera
#28 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#40 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#7 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Redi
Hotel Redi
#37 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via Venezia 11/B | Angolo Via Monte Llo, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing