We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but beware of thieves...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fedeli 1, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Hessle, east Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but beware of thieves...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed with family for a week (7th-14th July) through Ingham's and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a perfect quiet location, a few minutes walk from the town and train station. The food was absolutely delicious, really good quality and generous portions. The silver service staff were very friendly too. The only thing I would say is keep ALL your money in the safe at all times, and do not leave any windows open, even at night. My mum and auntie who were staying in the room next door to me got robbed in the middle of the night while they were asleep, and quite a lot of money stolen out their purses. The thieves climbed onto the balcony, and in through the bathroom window. Apparently this has happened before, and security needs to be tightened, especially as it is a 4* hotel. Ingham's have been advised of this. Also, check your drinks bill at the end of the week before paying as we were nearly charged an extra 20 euro's for other people's drinks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a charming older hotel set adjacent to a large park. It is quiet, and away from the noise of the town, but close enough to all the facilities. It is air conditioned throughout, which when we were staying was a big plus! Public rooms, the lovely pool and food are really excellent. Above all it is the charm and courtesy of the staff that is our abiding memory, Arturo at the desk and a wine waitress who actually can talk knowledgably about wines on the list. All the wines are Italian, no Jacob's Creek here. The night porter can even be persuaded to play many melodies on the grand piano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Astoria from 23rd to 30th June 2012. We booked through Inghams having had a good experience of their hotels previously. The location and room were very good and the pool certainly helped a lot due to the unusually hot temperatures we had but that is as far as the good review can go. We booked half board and expected a certain level of food and menu as it is rated a 4 star hotel. Every single night consisted of a pasta course with a very limited sauce, repeated at least twice during the 7 nights we stayed. This was followed, every night, by meat and potatoes with no Italian influence at all. The hotel could also be classed as a fast food restaurant as well, every night the waiting staff made sure you ploughed through the 4 courses in less than an hour, frequently hovering over your shoulder and removing your plate before you had finished chewing your last mouthful. My partner and I are in our 30's and were expecting far more Italian food from a 4 star Inghams hotel. We actually resorted to eating out at La Cascina (excellent btw) so that we could experience Italian restaurant cuisine. Following this review I am composing a letter to Inghams complaining about their description of this hotel in their brochure. I would advise to avoid if you are wanting a taste of Italy.

Room Tip: Do not go half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Hotel Astoria, and it won't be our last. We stayed for 7 nights this time, and things just get better each year! The food was even better than last time...make sure you stay on a Friday night for an excellent selection of fresh fish....superbly prepared and served professionally by their wonderful staff. Excellent wine list too, with a great choice of local wines. The Hotel Astoria is a great base for exploring Tuscany...there is even a train station in the village which takes you to Florence in half an hour!! Lucca, San Geminano, and Pistoia are even closer. Or, if you want to chill out by the pool, lunch is served in the cafe at the pool too! Yes, it's old world style, but that's part of the charm of this place. They keep the high standards of quality and service that are not aslways easy to find these days. A real Italian experience, in a family run hotel. Thank you again Mr and Mrs. Taddei, Enrico, Arturo, and all the great staff who, as always, took very good care of us.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank newyorkersEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a charming old fashion style hotel. The fact that its in a spa town probably determines its nature. The common rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. The bedroom lacked character but was adequate. The receptionist and our waiteress were from a different era, both of a certain age with the courtesy that goes with it. The meal was pleasant enough but reminded me of hotels that go in for mass catering as opposed to cooking each dish individually. This hotel would appeal to many but just didn't do it for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel Astoria is a lovely hotel with great service, a wonderful cuisine and a fantastic traditional flair. The rooms have been renovated lately and offer a fantastic comfort. The receptionist Signore Arturo is always very helpful and friendly. The owners Mr. and Mrs. Taddei are very friendly and always at your disposal.
But the best Hotel Astoria has to offer is its cuisine! This is true Italian cuisine at its best. The "spaghetti alla Signora Maria" are simply the best spaghetti in the world! Three Michelin stars to the cooks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank principality7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We found this hotel to be delightful and very convenient for our stay in Montecatini. It is close to the funicular that goes to Montecatini Alto yet close to the many spas and within easy walking distance to the main town and railway station. We were greeted by Arturo, a kindly gentleman who escorted us to our room. This was decorated in traditional style in pastel colours with ample wardrobes and drawers and a charming balcony overlooking the park. The bathroom was fully tiled with a large shower area and spotlessly clean throughout. Several areas are set aside in which to relax, including the bar and television/audio room. The dining room is rather grand with chandeliers and high ceilings giving a light and airy feel. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and served by friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast served outside surrounded by pink Oleander was a treat and the tables laid to the same high standard as in the dining room with beautiful table linen. What other reviews seem to neglect is the lovely swimming pool and changing rooms situated in the garden with many private areas in which to relax. A light lunch is served by the pool if desired. This family owned and run hotel is a real pleasure and one to which we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyJagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torretta
Hotel Torretta
#17 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#18 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#9 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Viale Fedeli 1, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria may not be for everyone! It is for individuals who enjoy a restful and quiet environment...It is for those who enjoy a "step back" in time, by providing you with service unheard of in these "modern times." Yes, this is Italy at its best! Once you've spent three days in this unusual hotel, the Hotel Astoria will become a part of your life, for the rest of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing