We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected discovery - my #1 choice in Tuscany”
Review of Hotel Michelangelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Michelangelo
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected discovery - my #1 choice in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were staying in Michelangelo Hotel for a few days on our road trip from South to North of Italy. It was my first time in Tuscany and my whole experience was even more impressive thanks to the place of our stay. The room was nice and clean, though not very big, but in Italy you wouldn't expect a large room anyways. However the amazing terrace completely exceeded our expectations. The view from our room on the top floor provided the most breathtaking panorama of the whole city. It gives such a beautiful ambiance, that you just want to stay there from the morning for sunrise and breakfast to the evening with a bottle of champagne to be envelopped in romance.

I would strongly recommend this place for your stay and if you can, book the top floor suite with the corner terrace. Its unforgettable!

I loved the atmosphere of the family hotel, we met the owners and were taken aback by their hospitality, charm and personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    128
    52
    18
    25
See reviews for
78
218
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my school were on a trip round Italy this was our second and last hotel that we were staying in. Our original hotel could no longer hold our group, so we got upgraded to the Michelangelo. we got told that this hotel would be better, though the were quite a few faults with this hotel. The room I shared with two other people was quite spacious, though i was expecting more room inside the room. Also the our room didn't have curtains, though it did have a shutter and net curtains. It did leave the feeling of that there was no privacy, continuing that feeling was in the bathroom. Though in the shower there was a window, this was in the most inappropriate place as this was in the place where you stand. Seeing as our room was at the front and on the first floor it was easy to see into. Though other rooms in the hotel had a shutter over there bathroom as well. In the end I ended up putting one of the hotel towels over the metal bars on the window. The balcony was a nice plus though, on the balcony there was a couple of deckchairs. Though other people had just a couple of chairs.
The food in the evening we had no choice about, though it was to a high standard and was very nice. The disappointment about the food came in the morning it was a selection of either over baked bread, or dried out bread. You could have had cereal as well, though when i tried that the milk was warm. They didn't seem to have a wide selection of normal breakfast foods. Though for the paying/ normal guests that got the normal breakfast foods which looked really nice. Though we were kept from going to the other side.
The staffs helpfulness changed on depending who you got served by some of them were okay though some of was service with a snarl.
The photos on the website did not correspond to the reality that was the hotel, the photos are of what the hotel would like to be. So it is a case of don't believe it all. The hotel was in a good location it was a 12 minute walk away form the town center. Though you have to be careful in the town though it is advertised as safe a member of my school group got her purse stolen there.
Though another bad point about the room that we stayed in was that there was damp up on the corner of the bathroom ceiling.
Overall it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 226anonymous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukbs361lb
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just come back from Italy -Monticatini- hotel Michelangelo-4 /11 May
what a wonderfull part of Italy

Close to Pisa- Florence-Lucca- and a train ride to Modena should you wish to visit the the
Ferrari museum with a connecting shuttle bus to take you to Maranello-what more could you
want-

EXCEPT- the hotel-- While it is very clean and comfortable the food is absolutly bland and
restricted in every respect with very limited choice-more on this later in the review

BUT beware the rooms can be quite noisy-roll up shutters at midnight and 7 am most days
not soundproof and we could here voices CLEARLYmost nights in the rooms near to us

And i say this as we booked a package tour with Newmarket travel and they were wondeful in locating us in this hotel as we did want a balcony and this hotel has them with good views

Shawn the agent was 10/10 and an asset to Newmarket travel
He went out of his way to help me with information on the train journey i made to Modena

The trips Newmarket put on were very good and included in the cost of the holiday-very good
and the guide on the return to the airport was very very good- Italian lady with MANNERS

So we arrived to a team behind the desk and only the manager Max is worthy of mention
(He is the DIAMOND at this hotel and without him it would have been unbearable)

The owner and the rest of the staff are very stiff and uneasy people to deal with not much english spoken here and ok i know we should learn some Italain but then we are not in the hotel business

I feel if this hotel want to be a success then they should be able to cater for all nationality's not just our German friends- yet again and the reason we come away from Thomsons as they most certainly favour them over the English

And i do not appologize for this remark as we are finding this more and more and with the rudeness and lack of manners i think they think they are above other people -
which is a shame as as they will never get respect from people while they act the way they do-

So on to the food-- As we were on a package deal with Newmarket i suppose we got what we paid for--
Not cheap tho as this one weeks holiday was close to £1500 for the two of us half board

This is a set menu---no choice- take it or leave it-and we did leave quite a lot of it-not nice food

The breakfast was cereals and a selection of meats and cheese -not too bad-
BUT rock hard rolls also some cardboard eggs- bacon burnt to cinders and scrambled eggs very very mushey- not nice ---and cake

The meals were 4 course- same selection of salad every night and rock hard rolls YET AGAIN
that stayed there until they were eaten up-

Then pasta every night - just different shapes with maybe a different sauce ( or soup if you wanted it) sounds good-- think again --very very boring no real presentation or care or taste

Then the main which was Pork 3 nights out of 7 -
Turkey that i think was long retired and
Fish that no one knew the name of-and we never found out what it was

And a mystery meal which we think was processed Ham--
tasted like jellyfied luncheon meat--not nice

The veg was always overcooked to mushy- mostly french beans and mushy carrots or peas
not much else -somtimes mushy brocolli-
NO BEEF-- NO LAMB--very much on a cheap cheap budget

And the sweet was always cake -mostly chocolate- no cream or custard- just cake-cake cake

There was fruit behind a screened off area going rotten and when i asked about it i was told its
the cost-

I think if you went b&b and took the paid for menu option then you were ALLOWED the fruit -
and maybe a better selection of food- not sure on this -never asked as conversation was strained
and difficult with the waiters

So there you have it - if you want a loverly hotel that's what it is but no more
and be prepared for the 10/15 min walk into town down hill and back up the hill

We would never stay here again as the location and food did not suit us or its rude occupants
and the uneasy feeling made it very uncomfortable

You would do well and stay nearer the town and make sure of what you are getting for your money--
ASK for the room location and the food menu- go online and look at where your room would be and ASK what food you will be getting

This is a true and honest review of our stay at this hotel and regardless of the other reviews
i am not paid by any company to say anything but the truth as we found it-

My suggetion to this hotel is that they should value there customers much more and treat them all the same with respect in a more comfortable manner would be welcome

And the food situation needs to be much much much improved
might be an idear to get a chef as the one you have is not inventive enough by a long way

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you are getting -room location and food menu before booking this hotel- ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wallack4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is located in quiet green residential area of Montecatini Terme, about 15 min walk from the city centre and five min walk from famous Terme Regina (? - проверить) or funicolare. Looks slightly outdated on the outside, but pretty modern inside, although a little tired. Don’t be misled by the pictures on the website, this is what the place would like to be, not what it is, unfortunately. The biggest issues for us were the mattresses, which should have been replaced a while ago, and the fact that the place is not sound-proof at all, which gets very important when somehow a school excursion group of about 25 energetic teenagers are there at the same time with you.

Room Tip: Corner ones, which face back yard looked better and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezzo_giorn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Have just returned from a great stay in this hotel , although we were on a coach tour we were given a Penthouse suit on the 5th floor with a hugh balcony with breathtaking views up to Montecatini Alto and the surrounding countyside.
Although was a set meal at dinner the food was excellant with only one problem when on one occasion they served some strange fish dish (Sea Pike ?) which no-one liked at all.
We found almost all of the Hotel staff to be most helpful ,would definately use it again but realise that we were very lucky with the room ,The Hotel was in quiet well maintained quiet area of tree lined streets a little away from the centre of town , Montecatini Terme itself is well situated as a base from which to explore such places as Florence ,Sienna,Pisa and Lucca

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennyb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice and clean hotel with modern lobby. Very kind staff.Our room wasn't big, but it was OK for 2 people. The room was not as modern and renovated as the lobby and restaurant, but it was clean and with very big balcony. Good breakfast. The hotel is not close to the city center.Montecatini is a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenniBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here in July because i couldnt get a hotel in the nearby town of Lucca and thought Montecatini to be a good location to base ourselves - conveniently located for day trips to places like Lucca, Florence and Siena.
Montecatini has real charm so we were pleasantly suprised to find ourselves happy to stay put... exploring the local restaurants and coffee shops as well as easy train journeys to other parts of Tuscany. Hotel Michelangelo was great... we had a good sized room with all the mod cons expected in a hotel of that level. We ate good food and enjoyed the outdoor pool.
The staff were friendly but hardly any could speak English which made things a little bit difficult. However, Max the manager is a fantastic host with good English and was very helpful. Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,056 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#23 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#16 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelangelo

Property: Hotel Michelangelo
Address: Viale Fedele Fedeli 9/11, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing