We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmmmmm!”
Review of Le Fonti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Fonti
Ranked #93 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmmm!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a very good holiday organised by National Holidays.
This hotel was our base whilst in Italy.
After a very long haul to get here upon entering the room our hearts really sank.
The "double" room was tiny and did not lend itself to being a room to relax in after such a long haul and was very disappointing. The entrance door could not be opened fully as it touched the bed as the room was that small. That said the bed was comfy and the room albeit dated was reasonable clean. Towels were very strange more like tea towels but the were clean and did the job and were changed daily.
Shower head was a bit of a challenge as there was no where to hook it onto so you could stand under it.
There is no tea/coffee making facilities so take your own.
Meals were not outstanding but were adequate, bothe evening meals we found to be quite tasty.
The saving grace was were that you were out on trips most of the time so very little time was spent in it really.
The two other hotels in France to and from this destination were fantastic.
Be bothered to go into this town and the park next to the hotel really very nice, we would have liked a day here to explore the town.
A little updating may make this a nice hotel but please remember what you have paid with National before destroying the place.

Room Tip: take a travel kettle with tea and coffee for your room. Tea and coffee in breakfast area is terrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from this hotel literally yesterday, we went with national holidays and paid a silly low amount of money, we were more than happy with our stay, the night porter was fantastic, really polite guy and helped us no end. No trouble what so ever, read lots of negative reviews about him on hear and our experience was nothing like other people's clearly, the hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff. We recommend this hotel and urge people to remember you are paying such small amounts of money and what you are getting is excellent value for money. Not sure if the night guys name was Luigi, but if not its the mature fellow, just want to say a special thanks to him for been great. We will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We travelled to the above hotel with national holidays the holiday was great it was just the above hotel, food has a lot to be desired breakfast was not worth mentioning they couldnt even be bothered to get up to make us it on the last day, the towels were tea cloths, our shower door fell of to be fair though it was repaired the same day. The staff were miserable and ill mannered we had to sit were they told us to. I must point out we are not pensioners but even we thought the hotel was awful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKIE w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

manchester
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Replace the 'cook', clean the showers and provide PROPER towels DAILY,..and they may get away with it! The Evening meals are average and the breakfasts aren,t even worth looking at, let alone eating. The 'cook' has a 'take it or leave it' attitude and complaints to the manager are met with a shrug of the shoulders in typical Italian style!

Room Tip: If you have the option of staying elsewhere,..take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

fantastic time at the le fonti hotel in montecatini!
fantastic staff and very friendly! perfect location in the centre of town
which really is fantastic in the evening! all shops open late with market stalls
selling bargain leather goods
all rooms are clean and tidy,owner valentina a delight,speaks perfect english!
please do not listen to pensioners who should stay in england if they want an english breakfast this hotel is perfect for the price!

Room Tip: lift to all floors,all rooms have large windows and shutters,plenty of sockets for travel kettles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travelled with National Holidays to Italy and arrived at 10.30pm. When we opened the bedroom door it did not open fully because the bed was directly infront of it. It was obvious that they had made a single room into a double room. The drawers in the wardrobe were dirty and we had to wipe them clean before using them. The towels were like tea towels. Our shower was broken and we reported it every day. The staff were less than helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a mish mash. We had 2 evening meals, the first was passable, the second horrible, most of which was sent back. We would NOT stay here again. Montecatini Terme is a very nice town and has a good market on Thursday. K & J Sheffield

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kEITH r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This review is in both English and Italian which is below.
[--]
I stayed at this hotel this summer with my husband. First impressions were good as our room was clean,spacious and nicely decorated for the price. The bathroom let it down however by having a leaky shower you couldn't adjust and to make things worse the tiles where slippy when wet making it quite dangerous. Our air con was a bit temperamental and switched itself off despite the temperature being 38 degrees. When my husband went down to as he was fobbed off by the female receptionist with no offer to look/show us how it worked.

Now this where I get to how awful most of the staff were, with exception of the friendly cleaners and the young male and female waiters at breakfast.When our air con decided to break again around 10.00pm at night I told the elderly male receptionist. His response was to basically say 'what do you want me to do about it?' and that it was too late, his general tone was he could not be bothered and I had annoyed him, disgraceful! He then topped it off by giving another guest our key the next night and not apologising/sorting it out. During dinner (which is actually quite nice with lots of food) I turned around to talk to someone on my right and had my half eaten meal scooped form me without being asked if I had finished. The staff seemed more concerned with turning tables, I was shocked at the rudeness!

Lovely location, nice looks but the staff and the bathrooms/air con need serious work. I realise there are language barriers but staff had proven their excellent english already.


[--]

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#48 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#19 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Palace
Ambasciatori Palace
#84 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
#12 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biondi Hotel
Biondi Hotel
#28 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fonti

Property: Le Fonti
Address: Via San Francesco, 4, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Fonti 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fonti Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing