We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we could want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parma e Oriente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All we could want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Having flown into Pisa airport from the UK we opted to use the bus to Pisa railway station. This has a stop 50 yards outside the airport as you exit on the left. Tickets to Montecatini, however, have to be purchased inside the airport but on the right hand side as you leave the baggage hall and do remember when boarding the bus to punch them in the machine by the driver.Consider buying return tickets from the airport to Montecatini.
Once at Pisa Centrale station, punch your outward ticket using one of the wall-mounted machines. Information on trains is sparse though announcements are made in English as well as Italian just as the train is arriving. Nearly all trains to Montecatini require one change, - at Lucca for the more direct one or at a station in Florence. Finding the right platform, via the subway and lifts, can be frustrating but the locals are helpful if you ask "Lucca?". Do exit the train in Montecatini at the Terme station NOT at Montecatini Monsummato which is out of the way.
Now to the hotel slightly uphill about a mile away and best reached by station taxi (10 euros).
Its plus points:
Elenor is very helpful at reception: the waiters, Mark and Pasquale, are great.
Meals are of a very high standard; a wide choice at both breakfast and dinner. Wines are
mostly local and reasonably priced; Mark is very knowledgeable.
The bedroom (but see below) was nicely decorated and kept spotlessly clean as was the
whole hotel..
It's in a quiet situation with a garden and outdoor pool. There's also a well-furnished and
comfortable hall to sit in.
Its prices are very reasonable.

A big advantage of staying in Montecatini is its proximity to interesting places served by bus, train and local tours. The lady in the local Information Office, who speaks excellent English, can provide maps and advice. It's only 5 minutes walk away.
Close by is a huge park with a few, still operating, thermal baths. Do visit the Tettucio Spa
there for a coffee and see the beautiful decor-but not until after 11 am when the
admission price drops to 6 Euros!
A return trip up to Montecatini Alto by a Funiculare built in 1896 is a must, to see the views,
churches and interesting old buildings. Stand outside the front or back of the wooden coach for a thrilling 12-minute ride.
Frequent trains serve Lucca, Florence and Pisa from Therme station. Train timetables are available on Google. Note that taxis are expensive.

Minus points
See the comments on the en-suite bathroom. There are no others.

Room Tip: We booked a "Superior Double Room" and paid a supplement which gave us a towelling dressin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    126
    32
    7
    0
See reviews for
83
110
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

we booked 3 nights at the Hotel Parma e Oriente well in advance as we had 19 days throughout Italy and this was a good base for the later part of our trip.
Let me first say , we are well travelled , have stayed in hotels rated from 3 star to 5 star plus throughout the world
we feel that customer service is most important to us.

the pros of this hotel
clean
reasonably priced
location is ideal
Cons
front staff need more training exception -Elia)
front desk staff we encountered were very rude
only one key per room
if you dont go out with each other and have to be let in with the master key, the staff show annoyance when you need to get in to your room
we got no sleep at all due to the hotel guests next door , talking very loud , shouting , and non stop noise
we asked them twice to be more considerate, management did nothing and offered no compensation nor showed any concern they are better hotels with customer service

Room Tip: front rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monty12069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A wonderful , very well run hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The double room was small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The location of the hotel is very good, 5-10 min walk from the train station. Hotel near some lovely restaurants and eateries. would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

4 nights here as part of an 18 day trip in Italy and we loved our stay here. The town of Montecatini is about 55 minutes from Florence by train, which run up to every 30 minutes and came highly recommended by friends.

The hotel is central, less than a 5 minute level walk to the main street and just 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The hotel has a swimming pool, plenty of sunbeds and a small garden. We were booked for our stay as B&B and delighted with the quality of our breakfast with plenty of choice. There is also a large lounge area plus a popular restaurant which has received high praise in other Trip Advisor reports and is certainly worth a visit.

The hotel staff are quite excellent with nothing being too much trouble and very informative about what is available in the area. Our room was very attractive, comfortable and well equipped with unusual painted furniture and plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage. The en suite was provided with lots of towels which were changed every day, toweling robes, shampoos, soaps, etc., and seemingly unlimited hot water.

I find difficulty in accepting that this is only a 3 star hotel as we have stayed in many other hotels that do not offer anything like the facilities and service being provided here. This hotel is well worth a visit.

Montecatini is a really lovely little town, with lots of shops and restaurants and a pleasant atmosphere. There is a funicular to travel to the small hilltop resort of Montecatini Alto which is also well worth a visit.

Great stay, good accommodation, pleasant people and excellent staff, thank you Hotel Parma E Oriente.

Room Tip: Room 306 overlooking the pool area is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Try to eat here: they have a very good resturant and they know what they are doing! The service is also good and kind. The morning breakfast is continental style with a little add of "tuscanity". Worthwhile!
So, if you plan to stay in Montecatini and want to stay at hotel for a dinner picking this hotel could be the right choice.
A good sleep quality. Too bad we were in autumn: the pool outside was inviting. I think this has been so far the best hotel i've slept.
The only bad thing is about parkplace, but isn't an hotel's fault: Montecatini have strict laws against car's traffic. There are anyway free parkspaces in the neightborhood. Ask to the staff.

Room Tip: Ask first a parking space if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burlone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

from florence this is an easy 55 minute train ride. a family hotel wth well appointed rooms and a gracious lobby . there is also a very pleasant pool in warm weather which is exactly why i went. did not opt for meal plan only had simple lunches on terrace and was perfectly content. Montecatini has a reputation of catering to seniors but over the years but you will also see many young families since hotel rates are much more affordable here than in florence.

Room Tip: if traveling alone try the single room. single bed, same ammenities and alot less expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5/6 nights in 1993 and returned again this summer; glad to say, just as we fondly remembered it. Friendly, low key family run place that compares favourably to higher starred places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parma e Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parma e Oriente

Property: Hotel Parma e Oriente
Address: Via Felice Cavallotti 135, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parma e Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a semi-pedestrian street in the centre of Montecatini Terme, just 150 metres from the main thermal buildings and magnificent parks, and 400 metres from the funicular to Montecatini Alto, the Parma & Oriente Hotel was built in 1922. Elegant and harmonious, the hotel is enriched by the Liberty terrace that perfectly reflects the style of the building, which has itself been renovated many times, most recently in 2010, and is equipped with all modern comforts without ever betraying its spirit. Everything in this hotel emanates personality, style and balance: the hospitality culture condensed into a harmony of shapes and colors that let you experience a unique and different holiday, aa thermal health spa holiday in the green heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Parma e Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing