We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewell of Tuscany”
Review of Hotel Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torretta
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Pistoia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jewell of Tuscany”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a business executive, I have sampled many of the highest rated hotels Italy has to offer and all are exceptional.
But after spending almost two years, mostly in the Tuscany region and eating some of the best food in the world, one becomes tiresome of the same dishes.
So last year my usual Pistoia hotel was fully booked, due to the Pistoia blues festival and Paolo Nutini and his Company taking all of the rooms, so I checked trip advisor and booked in to the Torretta, what a hotel and what a resturant.
I am now back in Tuscany on business and have booked back into the Torretta and guess what it's even better than last year.
The family run hotel, Olav in particular can't do enough after a very testing days meetings at work to make your stay exceptional. The food should be given a Michelin star.
I am a very busy English man whom misses my home comforts whilst away on business but the Hotel Torretta make it so much more homely.
If I, as a genuine critic, can advise, then please stay and sample what I consider one of the best encapsulated hotels not only in Tuscany but the whole of Italy.
I for one will be back again but this time I shall have my family with me. AAA+++

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickfish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    82
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
132
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells, uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from our 3rd visit to Torretta, and were delighted to see that nothing had changed in the three years since we last stayed. As usual, the welcome, the level of service, the food were all excellent. Add in the peaceful atmosphere, the comfort and cleanliness
of the rooms and you have a combination that , in our view, cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the pool side of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunbridgewellsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s stay at Hotel Torretta. My husband, I and our 2 sons had a wonderful time staying in this lovely family run hotel. The positive reviews are all correct this truly is a little gem of a hotel and what makes it special is the wonderful family running it for over 50 years. From the moment you arrive and are welcomed into this lovely hotel everyone is so attentive and nothing is too much for the family working here. The hotel is lovely and charming, built in the 1960’s it retains its original splendour, although has the addition of a beautiful new pool and spa. There are plenty of chairs and sun loungers surrounding it so you can enjoy a relaxing time when not out travelling to other places.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, as are the bedrooms which receive clean sheets and towels every day. The air conditioning is perfect, and insures a very good night’s sleep during the heat of July/August. We asked for a room with a pool view, which is exactly what we got on the 4t floor, so we had lovely views from our balcony. We were given an apartment instead of a family room too so we had two bedrooms and two bathrooms and did not have to share with the children, which was very convenient. The hotel is ideally situated for the funicular railway, and the main station which is a short walk through the tree lined park. From there you can easily access Florence, Lucca and Pisa, so a car is not essential when staying at this hotel. The food is very good, whilst we did not eat dinner at the hotel, we enjoyed our breakfasts which were always fresh and plenty of choice, and some poolside lunches too.
Dante, the owner, took us on a wonderful tour of the town and spas. It was lovely to see someone so passionate about where they live and keen to share this with guests, and happy to spare the time too, such a lovely man. Nicolette and Gabriel, were marvellous in helping plan our days out, printing train times for us and for going that extra mile to make sure we were happy. In fact their assistance started from the moment we booked months before, they were so helpful with information about how to find the hotel, parking etc. Thank you for the welcome drinks and leaving Olive Oil too. So many things to mention….
The little personal touches go such a long way and will not be forgotten. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank currymonster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have recently returned from a great holiday with my wife and 2 teenage children at the Hotel Torretta in Montecatini Terme (from 31/7 to 10/8/2013). In March we booked direct with this family run Hotel for two rooms, one with double bed and another with two single beds in March and got a 5% discount. This was cheaper than going through one of the hotel booking sites. Gabriel with whom I booked was very patient with my booking which was made in English especially when I changed it from 7 nights to 10 nights.
The rooms with large comfortable beds and en-suite bathrooms, bath and over bath shower, on the first floor with balconies, overlooked the pool and separate Jacuzzi and were spacious and comfortable and very clean as was the whole of the hotel. The hotel has air conditioning throughout, which was very pleasant to return to after a day out sight seeking especially as the temperatures were in the high 30s particularly in the afternoons. The pool beside the hotel, which was actually larger than it looked on the online websites for the hotel, was also very pleasant in the hot weather. There is also plenty of seating and sun loungers to the front and side of the hotel for sun bathing (with trees for shade too) and also lots of sofas etc in lounge areas within the hotel.
I booked half board for 7 nights and B&B for the other 3. We actually had 8 night’s half board and 2 nights B&B. One evening we went on the funicular railway up to Montecatini Alto were we eat at the Ristorante Il Giardino which was excellent. We also enjoyed our visit one evening meal at Pizzareia Trattoria Il Vicolo in Montecatin Terme where it was just as well we went early as the place was popular with a queue for a table..
Otherwise we had breakfast (lots of choices) and evening meals in the Hotel Torretta restaurant where you could also have a set lunch too. It was also possible to have a course from the set lunch menu or a lighter choice (pizza included) to eat on tables outside beside the pool at lunch time. The food and wine at Hotel Torretta was primarily Tuscan and very enjoyable. The draft Menabrea larger type beer in 0.4 litre glasses was also refreshing! We especially enjoyed the soup and pasta courses which came before the main meat or fish courses. There were also vegetarian options and always a salad course and desert. All the courses were delicious. The staff of the hotel were all very friendly and helpful spoke English.
We chose this hotel because of its position in a town on the railway line with easy access to Florence, Lucca, and Viareggio and Pisa, all of which we visited during our stay. We also enjoyed a visit to Prato too which was quieter and a little less expensive. It was possible to purchase train tickets at the hotel. They even posted our postcards too!
In case you are wondering about weight gain with all the wonderful food wine and beer not to mention the odd aperitif (Aperol spritz is worth a try), Grappa or Italian brandy after your meal, try walking down to the railway station and around the towns we visited on a daily basis in the heat (You will need to drink plenty of water too). Somehow we didn’t manage to put on any weight!
Don't forget to take and use insect repellent to prevent insect bites especially at the crazy golf near the hotel late afternoon early evening under the trees as there are plenty of midges about which i didn't notice until it was too late.
I would say this hotel is great for couple and families but is not a place for young adults wanting a clubbing type holiday. I cannot fault the hotel and recommended it wholeheartedly as many other visitors have done.

Room Tip: As for a room with balcony on the pool side. son on the balcony in the afternoon so you need to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was our first stop in Tuscany and the warm welcome at reception made us feel like we were locals. We were immediately introduced to the family that runs the hotel and we planned extra time in our daily schedule to sit down with one of the hotel managers to chat about Italy, its history and interesting tidbits of trivia about Montecatini Terme (ask about his adorable black lab, Joey, and you might get introduced).

The location of the hotel is ideal. We visited the Tettuccio Terme (A MUST!) which was just a 10mn walk away.
Money saver TIP: The hotel gave us a special card to visit the Tettuccio Terme free of charge after 4pm.

We also went up the mountain using the Finiculare to catch the sunset (around 8pm in the summer) and eat dinner at the top of the mountain. The Finiculare runs every 30mn and costs €14 (I think) per person round trip.
Money saver TIP: Ask the hotel for a discount coupon for the Funicolare and other restaurants.

The center of town is only a 15-20mn walk. Nice area with a cheery evening atmosphere.

The dinner at the hotel was delicious! Highly recommended. It's a full, Italian four-to-five-course meal. Bring an appetite and heck, splurge on a bottle of prosecco! The restaurant staff was delightful (do try speaking Italian with them, even though they understand English) - especially Fabio who was absolutely charming and ready to meet our every need; one of those guys you want to take home with you and cook for because he works so hard.

The breakfast was simple, but satisfactory. The cappuccini were delicious!

The wifi worked very well and we didn't have any connection issues. A first and ONLY hotel in Italy where this is the case! Incredible!

The only drawback to the hotel was the comfort in the rooms. The beds and pillows were a bit too hard for my taste. There was an extra pillow, but that was hard too. And yes, the soundproofing isn't so good, so we could hear people speaking in the hallways late at night and in the morning. Also sounds of footsteps above. But it was pretty much impossible to find an affordable, well-reviewed hotel in Montecatini that didn't have soundproofing issues.

Overall, it's a great location to start your trip in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethCagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Your home in Tuscany is the motto of the hotel. Indeed, it is one of the best hotels I have been in, in a long time. Besides soundproofing that could be better, everything seemed so perfect and the owner of the hotel is so nice. We felt truly welcomed. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful hotel and would have received 4 or 5 stars from us had there not been a tour party of girls staying at the hotel on 3 of our 4 nights there. On the positive side, the rooms were lovely, the area quiet and peaceful, the locale restful and the food good value for money, and the staff friendly and helpful. However, one is hardly looking forward to spending part of one's holiday in a wing of a girls dormitory or to have breakfast or evening meal seeking to dodge a public school refectory. The noise of 40 or so girls in the swimming pool was just too much. Fortunately they were out most of the day. We think it poor that we were located in a room just above the dinning room and could hear the hub-bub and chairs scraping from our room above. Surely if the hotel has to accept tour parties - and they do - then one should either be warned of this, or one's room should be allocated as far from the main reception areas as possible. On those grounds we wouldn't risk going back.

Room Tip: Check they don't have tour parties of youngsters staying if you want to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#23 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#12 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#17 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torretta

Property: Hotel Torretta
Address: Viale Mario Bustichini 63, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torretta 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Torretta is situated in the beautiful green and panoramic views of Montecatini Terme, which is very close to parks, Spa establishments and sports grounds. The feeling of being part of family who owns this hotel, together with the carefully throughout kitchen that can cater for all your dietary requirements, makes your stay here as comfortable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torretta Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing