We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“i enjoyed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Torretta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Torretta
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“i enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very good people run this hotel and help us to feel welcomed.
When i just arrived and went to get my mineral water prescription, i come back late to breakfast. Lady on reception in advance put some food aside, so i could have my breakfast that day.

Before i booked hotel i was concern that rooms and swiming pool on pictures are not very big. Which is true, but hotel has very convenient location to terme Tettucino; they managed to cook my diet food which is not on menu. Jacuzzi is nice and warm.And people are friendly, helpful and nice.So i am completely happy with my choice and reccomend other people to try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    79
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
124
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

What this hotel lacks in mod-cons, is made up by the personal, over-the-top attentiveness to customers satisfaction. The owners and staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.
We have just returned from a 4 night stay and can only say that a lot of other establishments can learn from this hotel.
The hotel is clean, well looked after and the staff are well informed to advise you of activities in the area. Service is with a smile and nothing is too much of a bother. The grounds are beautifully kept. We did not eat there so I cannot advise about the food. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the pool, with a balcony.
The only points I would mention is, on the 4th floor the WiFi signal is not great, and when the connection is lost, logging in again is necessary.
We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The is wonderful hotel run on "old world" principles. First of all, it's owned and operated by a family (three generations) not a multi-national corporation. The kindness and helpfulness of the desk staff cannot be overstated. One day I came home with my hands full and one of the desk staff - a family member - without being asked helped me with the elevator and even carried some of the stuff up to my room. I've never experienced that in any hotel anywhere else on earth. (Not a bell boy, the desk guy. Granted, it was a lull in the day and he had time, but still.)

The rooms are European-sized, but not too small and the bathroom absolutely sparkled every day it was so clean and had such well-chosen fixtures.

The building is 60s style and the patriarch of the family says he wants to "upgrade" to a more modern style. I say leave it. It's fine. It can even be advertised as "retro." OK, maybe it's not 21st century "cool", but it's very comfortable and friendly. Not one hotel out of 100 (1000?) manages to achieve this level hospitality.

Tip: Read the hotel's web site. In addition to the hotel, the family offers cooking classes and olive oil tastings from their own trees, but they don't market this in the hotel itself.

Montecatini is an interesting town. The spa buildings are beautiful. The hill town above the town Montecatini Alto is a must see. The restaurant up there "Le Maschere" is awesome, possibly the best food I had in Italy and totally unpretentious.

Finally, the city itself makes an excellent base to relax and take day trips to places like Lucca, Pisa and even Florence, not to mention exploring the area if you have a car. There's a train station in town that can get you to anyplace the trains go.
Monticatini.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tivolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked at the last second as we were travelling by car. What a friendly family run hotel. Why can't all hotels be like this? Staff couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. Relaxing place. We were upgraded to one of their junior suites which was a lovely room, modern and nicely done. Restaurant does a very affordable fixed price (limited choice) menu that changes every day. This is the sort of full/half pension arrangement you get in resort hotels Italians like to go to and reminded me of how Italy used to be. Food not bad and there's a fair choice of local restaurants in the new and old towns. Does get coach groups, but as they are off and out at 8.30am you get the place and the pool to yourself. There three nights. Very good base to use for train excursions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As well seasoned travellers it seems a little strange that other than for business we had not visited Italy before this trip. We chose Hotel Torretta from the reviews on Trip Advisor and can confirm that it is as good as the other reviews advise. We arrived late evening on a Friday, rather tired from the drive from Rome. Dinner was almost finished, but that was no problem, we were given time to freshen up and then served an excellent dinner. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the swimming pool and garden. The rooms on the first floor have larger balconies than on other floors, but all rooms facing the pool have a balcony. The staff are fantastic, especially Florin. Everyone was polite and helpful. Lots of information available from reception on where to go and what to see. They also sell train tickets which is a bonus as the ticket office at the train station is not open all day and the automatic machines are a little unreliable. The hotel is 5 minutes from the funicular railway and 15 minutes to the town centre. Hotel has a small car park but there is a large and free car park opposite the hotel.
We would visit again and would recommend this as an excellent base to anyone wishing to explore Tuscany or enjoy the thermal baths.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have larger balconies than on other floors, but all rooms facing the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel was built in the sixties, and the current owners are the same family who built it. And they are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble if you take the trouble to converse with them.

As well travelled Australians for work and pleasure we found this to be a gem. It is not pretentious in any way and do not expect five stars just expect great service and fantastic food for dinner. Tonight was a lemon sauce pasta, beef stew and 'pork chop' but there was nothing ordinary about this food - it was fantastic. Oh and the tiramisu was the best.

Then there is the town of Montecatini. It seems forgotten next to Pisa and Lucca but while it doesn't have a faulty tower it does have some real attractions such as its parks, its spas and of course Montecatini Alto - a must see via the second oldest funicular railway in Italy.

Four days here has been a pleasure. Half way between Pisa and Florence it is a good base and the hosts at Hotel Torretta just make it that more enjoyable and easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful haven in the heart of Tuscany! A lovely, friendly, family run hotel with very attentive staff. Exceptionally clean, quiet and tranquil, yet only a 10 minute stroll from the town centre of Montecatini.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#24 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torretta

Property: Hotel Torretta
Address: Viale Mario Bustichini 63, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torretta 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Torretta is situated in the beautiful green and panoramic views of Montecatini Terme, which is very close to parks, Spa establishments and sports grounds. The feeling of being part of family who owns this hotel, together with the carefully throughout kitchen that can cater for all your dietary requirements, makes your stay here as comfortable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torretta Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing