We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”
Review of Hotel Reale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Reale
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Close to everything, the staff especially Don Matteo the manager was knowledgeable, and informative, its clean, just a walk from the main street, I loved staying there and would recommended it to everyone from South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    142
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
124
129
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great location for a hotel when visiting Montecatini Terme, a spa town. Parking in the town is really difficult but they have garage parking at a cost of 8 euros a day.
The staff members are always friendly and welcoming. We had bed and breakfast here because we enjoy eating out on holiday, Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice from cooked -on request - to cold buffet.
There is an outdoor pool that would be great in the Summer but although very warm outside - the pool was rather cool for April.
The only negative is that the bedrooms are rather small and we had noisy neighbours for the first 2 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just returned from staying at this hotel and it certainly lived up to its expectations.

The rooms were basic but clean and the beds were comfortable with linen changed every day.

As we were with National holidays we had two nights evening meals which were good in quality and very tasty.

The staff were very helpful and obliging. Well done and thank you for a pleasant stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starofstockton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My sister and I booked this hotel for one week in August 2013. While we were initially pleased with the cost of the room, we were very disappointed with the service(s) that followed:

PROs:
Friendly staff (although only one or two members of staff speak fluent English)

Great location within walking distance to a park, restaurants, 'town centre', Funicolare cable car ride, markets etc.

Clean room, with towels changed daily.

A good range of breakfast items (you can request hot items from the staff).

We received complimentary Prosecco and snacks for a national holiday.

CONS:

1)The swimming pool is absolutely freezing, and so along with the majority of other hotel guests, we did not use it once.

2)The price of wi-fi was ridiculous, and one day when the system was down, our money was not refunded.

3) The price of in-hotel snacks was appalling. Over £4 for a grilled cheese sandwich, when in a cafe two minutes away it cost just £1-£2!

4) We did not received the complimentary drink we were promised as a reward for booking through their website.

5) Our air-con broke and we had to wait two, very warm nights without it, until someone was sent to fix it.

6) As the hotel is family run, tensions ran high and on our final day, a huge argument erupted in the reception area of the hotel which lasted for well over one hour. Hotel guests looked worried, and I was horrified at how unprofessional it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheniceclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Reale for 7 days, on arrival we upgraded to a superior room, which gave us a nice room with great views. Although the room at first seemed a little basic compared to an equivalent UK hotel, everything was there. The staff were wonderful, very helpful, always friendly and the room was cleaned to a high standard each day.

The town itself is very pleasant with plenty to do, eat and buy!! We used it as a base to visit, Lucca, Florence, Pisa, etc, and found it very convenient.

Recommened, A+++++

Room Tip: ON arrival, ask to see the room that you'll be staying in, when you check in, that way you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A hotel with an excellent team, with great rooms, with pool,.... furniture was a little outdated.... very clean and very important thing: YOU CAN RENT A BIKE FOR FREE. We toured the town on a bike, I cycled to the funicular, I saw the old town on the hill ...

Kinda bored in Montecatini, not much to do unless you have between 70 and 90 years, from 10 thermal-baths just one is opened and that has some absolutely incorrect prices ... a normal person can not pay 30 euro for an hour! !!!!.
Should learn from the Austrians how manages a Termal-bath ....
But accommodation is ok!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabivaduva74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in Sept for 7 nights whilst touring Tuscany. Good base in centre of a delightful spa town.(funicular to Montecatini Alto is a must if staying a few days ) Rooms were basic but clean with good air con and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK with a fairly good choice but dining room very quiet (maybe some background music?) Pool was lovely after a day sightseeing and although not heated wasn't too cold. Plenty of chairs/sun loungers and towels provided. We did not use hotel car park which looked very small but didn't have any problem parking in free car park (as long as you don't mind a little walk). Good value for money and a good 3* hotel . The only downside for me was the bed was too hard but that's a personal opinion (my husband was fine)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4559jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#15 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reale

Property: Hotel Reale
Address: Via Palestro 7, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Reale is an example of a typical Tuscan building, immersed in the tranquility of its garden with secular plants and the comfortable swimming pool provided with hydro-massage. The owners of the hotel have been in the hotel business for three generations. Their management together with the comforts and the modern equipments provided, guarantee the guests a pleasant and relaxing sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reale Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing