We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday holiday”
Review of Hotel Reale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reale
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic staff..
This was a birthday holiday for myself and i choose the best hotel in Montecatini to spend it in. The hotel owner Alessandro was most helpful in finding me the best tour deals and train times to wherever i wanted to go and when he wasnt searching for me just chatted in general and told me some history on the town and made me feel at home. Also another member of staff Dino is so into his history he would prob tell you more about yr own country than you know, lovely guy to chat to..
Breakfast consisted of a vast choice of lovely food from toast to cereal to fruit and yogurts and cheese/ham to croissants with all the trimmings and two machines for any coffee, tea and hot chocolate awesome...
The hotel is a 5 min walk in the right direction from the train station and is walking distance to every other thing in town. A must is to go on the cable car to Montecantini Alto and there you will see the whole of the area which is breathtaking and the walk through the park to get to the cable car is lovely with many old churches and buildings to look at. plenty of cafes and restaurants at reasonable prices eg light lunch from 5 euro's with small wine 3 euro's and it is small..usual beers from about 4 euro's but dont expect quick service as most places seem to have one waiting staff who tend to look after the locals first and foremost. I would highly recommend this hotel in every sense as in my opinon was the best all rounder in Montecatini..A big thank you to Alessandro, his family, Dino and the staff for looking after me xxx

Room Tip: room with a balcony is the best to see the town and sunrise/set xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 421 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a good position in the centre of Montecatini close to all the bars, restaurants and shops. The railway station is just a 10 minute walk away giving good access to all the sights of Tuscany. The trains are really good and quite cheap.
Our room was nice with a large comfortable bed and lots of space. The balcony was quite small and only had 1 chair and no table. The room is cleaned every day and clean towels provided. Breakfast was good with a large selection - scrambled eggs/sausages can be requested. There is a small outdoor pool at the front and a pleasant garden.
Car parking is very difficult on the streets, but the hotel has a very small secure basement car park for which there is a charge of 10 Euros per day. Well worth it.
The hotel staff are brilliant - very friendly and helpful, especially the singing porter who sang out 'your room is ready ...' to the tune of O Sole Mio after the daily clean.
The Booking.com description advises that there is a laundry available for guests, but this turned out to be only an ironing room. There is however a launderette on the next road.
Montecatini is vibrant and busy with many bars, shops and restaurants. We liked Montecatini Alto which is an old town at the top of a hill accessed by a funicular railway. Very pretty piaza with lovely restaurants and wonderful views of the whole area.
All in all we had a great time and would recomend Hotel Reale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

At Hotel Reale we have spent our stay in a marvellous comfort doubleroom on fourth floor with a terrace with a marvellouse view about the whole area. How beautiful at night!!Exhausted from trips to very very closed Pisa & Florence&Lucca we relaxed at the swimmingpool and than at our terrace. The day we started with a good breakfast(fresh scumbled or fried eggs!!), supper coffee(much better than our german coffee!!)daily at the Hotels tipical toskani garden(have nowhere else found one so lovely arranged like here)and went by Hotel reale own bikes through the area around. We were glad to have booked a carplace at the Hotels garage. The staff was always so helpful like at a fourstar Hotel. The rooms are very clean and daily service of fresh towels. The cooling of the room by airconditioning let us sleep very well!!At first we planned to stay 6 nights, than went home after 8 nights and we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: higher floors have a marvellous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoFo Hamburg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in montecatini terme for 5 days in hotel reale during our trip through tuscany.
Given the normal travels we do for business or "all in" vacations/resorts, the first impression was a bit different. This is really a city hotel, that has some years on it, but after that initial impression, we found this hotel to be very good, and given the price we paid, I would even call it amazing. The hotel room was clean and spacious (we stayed there with a family of four) and had airconditioning and a refrigerator. it wasn't the most modern decorated room, but in summer in italy you live usually go to live outdoors. The pool area was clean, and towels were provided. The reception was always staffed en very friendly. The breakfast was good, and eggs were server to the order which ensured a fresh taste. We didn't have lunch or dinner in the hotel, but the option is available. The location of the hotel is ideal, right in the centre, but far enough away to avoid the noise. We could take the kids for a walk to teh restuarants or go for a starting drink by foot, and did not need our car at all to get around in the town. I would recommend this hotel for people travelling through tuscany and looking for a central place to stay, to go on day trips, with the convenience of a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dRobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

GOOD- THE locatin is good for walking around the city center. The city is quite expensive.
The breakfast is good - fresh and varied products, efficient breakfast team.
The hotel is clean. It has a nice garden with big trees.

BAD- The shower at our room was so small we could not bend! If you don't want to pay 10 Euro per night (for the hotel's parking) it is very hard to find a public parking!! The water at the swimming pool is small and nice but the water are- freezing cold!!! (I couldn't go in! and my son got a cold after swimming there). There is no design or decoration at the rooms. no free wi fi and only 4 TV channels (only one of them in English) at our room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Reale for 10 wonderful days in early
August 2012. We had a superior room that was large, clean, well
appointed, and updated with 24 hour air-conditioning that we could control that kept the room cool and comfortable when the windows or terrace doors were kept closed. This is important when travelling through Italy during the summer months since many hotels shut the air-conditioning off during periods of the day or night and/or regulate the coolest temperature that can be set, often at a temperature that is not sufficiently cool. This is not the case at the Hotel Reale. There was also a three speed ceiling fan that enhanced our comfort level, a flat screen TV with ample cable programs and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and well equipped for all our needs and even contained bath robes. The location of the hotel
is excellent. It is on a quiet, elegant side street, close to parks cafes
and shops. We walked back to our hotel each evening and felt
completely safe. The city is safe, clean, just lovely. We loved the
garden where you could sit and unwind from a busy day. Several evenings
we had a glass of wine under the large shade trees just enjoying the
beautifully lit garden and an Italian evening. I loved the pool area.
There were amble lounges and towels. The pool was delightful and
completely tiled. I made sure to swim often during our stay. The staff
was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Everyone wanted to make our stay
special. The owners were always there and even ate in the main dining
room with their guests. The dining at this hotel is really special.
Breakfast is a complete, full, varied buffet. My husband ordered bacon and eggs each day, which were cooked just the way he likes it at no additional cost. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. On one occasion when I had an early morning tour departure, the owner arranged for me to have breakfast earlier than the scheduled breakfast hours. We ate at the hotel most evenings. The dinner was moderately priced and delicious. You had a choice and new menus were printed and provided daily. There were usually three selections for the first course, three selections for the second course and a choice of fresh fruit or a set dessert. There was an ample selection of wines at additional moderate cost. The food was served elegantly and the servers dressed in proper wait attire. Dinner was an enjoyable and relaxful experience.

After a few days at the Hotel Reale, we felt quite at home and able to concentrate on the delightful and varied amenities that Montecatini Terme and the surrounding area of Tuscany had to offer. A stay at the Hotel Reale will not disappoint. We recommend it highly!

Frank and Diana B
Pelham Manor, New York, USA

Room Tip: Our preference is a front room overlooking the garden/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great hotel clean inside and out, friendly staff and well priced. Very relaxing in an evening sitting under the trees next to the swimming pool, no noise from attractions around
Good postion not far from everything, we'd stay again.
If you go with young children try out the baby park near the market,they can play all day on the inflatables for 5 euros

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#16 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#21 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#11 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reale

Address: Via Palestro 7, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#8 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Best Value Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $62 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Reale is an example of a typical Tuscan building, immersed in the tranquility of its garden with secular plants and the comfortable swimming pool provided with hydro-massage. The owners of the hotel have been in the hotel business for three generations. Their management together with the comforts and the modern equipments provided, guarantee the guests a pleasant and relaxing sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reale Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing