We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

A nice quiet hotel,beautiful views from our room, staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our breakfasts, and ate dinner at the hotel most nights, which we thoroughly enjoyed.
we took day trips by train, the station was ten minutes walk from the hotel, Pisa,Lucca and Florence less than an hours train ride away.Our favourite place was Montecatini Alto, stunning!
Would thoroughly reccomend and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior matrimonial suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skye7UnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    89
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
88
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

A smaller, quiet, well-run hotel, adjacent to a glorious park, the Mediterraneo had everything I could have wanted. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful - in fact, because of canceled flights, I arrived one day later than planned. They were gracious, did not charge me for the missed night and couldn't have been nicer. Always helpful with train schedules, dinner reservations, and general information, they were very easy to deal with, especially given my lack of Italian language skills. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with huge beautiful windows - I looked out over a garden with a view of the mountains. The rooms are not fancy, but have fridges, comfortable beds, and the bathroom was clean and utilitarian. Lobby and outdoor lounge spaces were very pleasant, and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the park was lovely. Can't say enough about the setting - the park is huge, yet peaceful. A quick walk into town (7 minutes), and close to everything. The pool at the sister hotel (Astoria) was across the park, and was well-kept and relaxing. The Mediterraneo has af ull service bar, great food, great staff, and did I mention a great location?

Room Tip: Some rooms had small balconies - not sure of size of the room, but would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notmuchtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We 3 middle aged females spent 6 days at the Hotel Mediterraneo in Montecatini Terme. This hotel is not like any in America, so at first we were dubious. It is an older hotel with furnishings that would be described as dated. But, it was very clean, and we felt very, very safe. The hotel offers single rooms at 1/2 the price of double rooms. It made it nice that the snorers could snore away without bothering anyone and it was nice we didn't have to wait our turn for showers, hairdryers, bathroom use. The hotel is situated close to town with a beautiful park outside the door. We didn't select the full meal option, just continental breakfast daily. The breakfast is served on a terrace at the edge of the park , a beautiful way to start the day. The most amazing part of the stay is the staff. They were wonderful and did everything they could to assist us. I would highly recommend this hotel to all people of all ages. Like I stated above, it was very different than what we are used to in major American cities, but by the end of our stay, we didn't want to leave.
We used ComeandseeItaly.com and booked day trips to Florence, Cinque Terre, Vinci winery. Our tour guide was Tania and she spoke excellent english and was very friendly and fun. We also booked a 4 hour cooking class where we went to a farm house and learned to make pasta, 3 types of sauces and tiramisu. We all then ate together at a table with the cook and her husband. One day we arranged for a free shuttle to Grotta Giusti, where we sat in actual grotto named after Dante's inferno, then chilled in the thermal pool. It was an awesome experience. All in all, it was a marvelous trip to Tuscany and because it was August, we spent most of our time under the Tuscan sun which was intense at 92 degrees farenheit. Thank goodness our hotel rooms were air conditioned. For some reason Montecatini does not attract too many American visitors but they assured us they all love America and treated us like royalty. We felt like we experienced the real Tuscany, we struggled a little with communicating but as long as you attempt to learn some Italian words and phrases, people would attempt to help. If not, someone who spoke english would come and help us. We had lots of fun exchanging words and phrases, it added to the experience. Never, for one moment did we feel nervous or unsafe. One thing I hadn't seen mentioned before, is that in the small towns, no one takes credit cards, but there are ATM machines everywhere.
The Hotel Mediterraneo provided transport service (just the 3 of us) between the hotel and Pisa airport. We never needed a car, but other guests did have car rentals. The hotel had wifi available for a fee.
This is the first time I'm writing a review like this. I feel so satisfied with our experience and I want to share it with others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panningen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had a great time at hotel Mediterraneo. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Hotspots like Firenze, Lucca, Viareggio etc. are near by. The food is delicious. Breakfast is simple but good. Diner exists out of three courses and is also very good. The rooms are very clean. They look a little old but that was not a problem for us.

It's a perfect hotel. We enjoyed staying there for a week.

Kim en Chris, Panningen (Limburg, Netherlands)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPanningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

We have just returned from our vacation @ the hotel Mediterraneo. The hotel is comfortable; situated near town centre and quiet. Breakfast and dinner is excellent. Staff is very helpful. Swimming pool in the related Astoria hotel is well seized and equipped.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaje100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Mediterraneo. Our first visit to the hotel.Good quiet position. The rooms are clean roomy and pleasant.The management and staff were friendly helpful and efficient. The food was very good and the half board option is the best value.We would be very happy to return to this hotel.

TG & PM Clitheroe UK

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank TGandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flevoland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed here in the last week of september and we enjoyed it very much. Staff, food, stay were excellent. Little problem in parking car, but receptionist solved this. Next time we book the superior room, when visiting Montecatini"s golfclub.
Bryan&Frieda

  • Liked — excellent service
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlmereFreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#25 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#8 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#16 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Pietro Baragiola 1, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in one of the most suggestive and elegant areas of Montecatini Terme, submerged in the greenery of the park, close to the baths and the city center. The renowned cuisine uses only fresh and local ingredients. You'll enjoy charming ample rooms with air conditioning, satellite-TV, fridge, WiFi and, on request, balcony. The use of the nearby Hotel Astoria's swimming pool is free. The hotel's management is personally attended to by the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing