We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for train and car travellers in Tuscany”
Review of Hotel La Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Riviera
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This clean, close to the station, small hotel offered us a friendly and relaxed experience in Montecatini. Vincenzo and his wife, Antonella, prepared a wonderful breakfast each day and also provided the option of a 3 course, delicious dinner that we enjoyed on one evening. Montecatini itself is, in parts, is a little 'tired', although a drive up to Montecatini Alto is a must! It was a very convenient place from which to visit Pisa, Lucca and Florence by train, with cheap and reliable trains on a regular basis. We hired a car from Europcar from Montecatini, which would have been cheaper online. This allowed us to visit the Chianti area, Siena and the gorgeous San Gimignano. Overall it was a great value hotel, with wonderful hosts, in a very comfortable, accessible location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights (23/10/12-27/10/12) The hotel is a short walk from all the shops/bars/restaurants in the area! But you would be crazy to eat anywhere else but la riviera! The food is amazing, and there's loads of it, so make sure you have a light lunch :) Vincenzo is a sweetie, he's extremely helpful! Theres loads to do in the surrounding area as well and As you can see from the other reviews its clean, welcoming, comfortable etc. it's a "perfect place to stay" ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

La Riviera is convenient to get to as it is a 4/5 min walk up the street directly opposite Montecatini Terme station (beware: Montecatini has 2 stations and the Centro station is further away). The hotel is about a 8/9 minute walk up a straight road to town centre.Montecatini is convenient for travel to Florence, Pisa, Lucca and Viareggio by train - which is a very cheap way to travel and avoids the dreaded ZTL (no cars here zones in Florence and Pisa). If you get car hire I suggest you look these ZTL zones up in detail, as failure to comply will be very expensive. Lucca is a lovely place not to be missed and make sure you go up to Montecatini Alto.Have a coffee before you go as Montecatini Alto prices are 3 times what you would pay in Montecatini Terme.For toilets in Montecatini Alto ask for the key from the funicular railway attendant at the top.La Riviera is clean and comfortable and what it lacks in modern up to date bedroom furniture is more than made up for by the excellent food and welcome. Take the evening meal option as it is inexpensive and very good in quantity and quality ( seconds are available, even having a second (different)starter that you hadn't ordered!).Simple, not particularly expensive, ingredients but cooked to perfection by Antonella. I am quite fussy about food but I was impressed.The house wine is ok but it only costs 7€ a bottle or 1 and a half € a glass. Vincenzo will chat to you in English or Italian and this is a pleasurable change from places where they don't seem to have time for human contact. You will no doubt already know that Florence (and Pisa to a lesser extent) are much more expensive for hotels than Montecatini, so using the cheap trains and using Montecatini as a CENTRALLY PLACED base is a good idea. Also recommended is the confectioners Giovannini just off the main square (Piazza del Popolo) where you will get a BRILLIANT ice cream.(although Vincenzo said La Goma was an even better ice cream parlour, though I find that hard to believe).Admire the window displays at Giovannini's and you can have a good inexpensive coffee there (though there are only 4 seats and no tables!) as it is only really set up for people who want to stand and have a quick coffee. The automatic ticket machines in the stations are easy to use and take cash or credit card or both.You can choose your language before embarking on the ticket purchase process. Don't forget to validate your train ticket by having the date stamped on it at the small machines dotted around the station. You then have 6 hours to use it. Checks we found to be infrequent but I think it is 40€ each if you get caught (not recommended!). There are also buses from Montecatini Terme station to various locations eg Florence. I believe the journey time is not much different to the trains and is probably a bit cheaper.

Room Tip: Balconies at the front seem advantageous but there is traffic noise starting at 7 / 7.30 from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My first time in Italy was Easter 2012 and La Riviera had very good reviews and was reasonably priced. I took a chance and was thoroughly impressed. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the service was second to none, very polite and attentive, especially during meals, and was ideally located just a short walk from the main square and train station. The food was excellent and just kept on coming, and I have a big appetite! The owner, Vincenzo, clearly prides himself on giving an excellent service throughout the stay and made us feel more than welcome. I intend to return to Italy next year and will definitely be staying at La Rivieria.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor provide a beautiful view of Montecatini
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RGDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Montecatini's jewel of a hotel! Our stay at La Riviera topped off our trip to Italy with its welcoming owner Vincenzo making us feel very much welcome at his hotel. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent and the food was a perfect authentic taste of Italy with plenty of it, along with the wine! I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and families who are visiting this part of Italy for its ideal location - with the train station being in walking distance, the local facilities in town and its lovely parks for those after dinner strolls.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

For anyone looking for a friendly welcome in Monticatini then look no
Further.
Having just returned home
From another stay in la Rivera all u can say is excellant. It's not only the warm welcome that this establishment gives. But the superbe food. And plenty of
It. Look forward to going back again for my 6th visit next year. Thankyou again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALSgpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just got back from Montecatini and I am very pleased to say that our stay at Hotel La Riviera was lovely. The owner Vincenzo was very welcoming and attentive and the place had a friendly, cosy atmosphere. Our room was clean tidy and smart, with very plain and neat furnishings. The food was a real treat, typical italien family fare, with good wine and great service. I would say that this would be a good hotel to choose for a romantic weekend away or a fmaily holiday as it is near enough to town facilities for convienience but far away enough to limit traffic and noise. This town is very pretty and has great rail connections if you are visiting the many tourist sights in the north of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts - they are very helpful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostintrans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#13 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#19 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#12 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pia Hotel
La Pia Hotel
#25 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Riviera

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 17, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel
La Riviera Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing