We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed at Villa Maria for three nights. It was a central location for our trips to Florence, Pisa and Lucca. We booked the "attic" room which came with an excellent price tag, but when we arrived, they gave us another room that was much nicer for the same price. We had a little balcony facing the garden and the hills of Tuscany. Their breakfast buffet was very nice, and included in the price. We got Internet for one day at a nominal charge. Free parking. The bed was small and the room was small...but the charm of the hotel more than made up for this. It was like staying in your rich aunt's mansion in the Tuscan hills. It felt very homey, safe, clean, and well cared for. The staff was helpful and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay with no setbacks whatsoever.

Good job Villa Maria!

  • Liked — The charm
  • Disliked — smallish room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
25
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

We were rather disappointed to find that our booking for a standard double room was in fact an attic room which was not detailed on the website we booked on or on our confirmation.
The attic room could not be walked around by myself at 5'4" let alone my partner at 6' tall because of the sloping roof. In fact, he would have had to bend double or aim across the bathroom to use the toilet! The window was a skylight and had a vague view of the sky.
We discussed this with the owner and were offered a standard room (which was what we originally booked as detailed on confirmation) for 15 euros extra per night. We paid this as we could not be this cramped for 3 nights.
This new room was a good size and had a very nice bathroom which would have benefited from heating especially in the middle of January. The bedroom had heating/air-conditioning. The only problem with the room was that there were 2 single beds made up as a double and a gap kept appearing in the middle!
For the first night we turned out to be the only people in the hotel and had our breakfast in the lounge area not the breakfast room as shown in the hotel photos. This was fair enough but did not have all the items as shown on the hotel website and general hotel photos.
The hotel was very clean and on the whole, the staff were friendly enough. It is situated in a good area for sight-seeing in Tuscany.
If you wish to book this hotel, make sure what room you are booking (details on different sites appear to differ). Be careful unless you are under 4 feet tall.

  • Liked — The position for touring and the cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The attic bedroom which was not specified when booked.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-L-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

n.ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

We were travelling round Italy and found Villa Maria by pure accident. And what a lovely find it was!!!
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, modern and had a wonderful view over the beautiful garden.
The view from the balcony was awesome.
And the choice for breakfast was more then adequate.
In fact we enjoyed it so much we are planning to return.
Go on, book it!! You'll love it!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank N_irelandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in August and arrived, exhausted, the day after we had moved house. The setting is wonderful and just enough distance out of the main town. We stayed in the newer house and although we didn't have a view, the room was large, clean and comfy. On the first night we arrived back after a meal quite late, sat on one of the many terraces admiring the view of Montcatini Alto and a member of the villas staff came to us and asked if we would like a late night drink - wonderful, it really made what had already been a great day into relaxing evening. I can't fault it and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

From the hotel's website, we were mistakenly led to believe that our booked double 'executive' room with a view was situated in the delightful-looking period property illustrated and described. However, when we arrived, we were shown to a room at the rear of an entirely different, new, separate property built at the back of the 'old' hotel - not at all what we expected! This building is also named 'Hotel Villa Maria', and although it is very fresh, clean and up-to-date, we were very disappointed to find that not only did our room not have a view, (it overlooked a tatty carpark at the rear), but that it wasn't even in the old property we had so looked forward to staying in.

When we politely queried this, the receptionist's attitude was quite unbelievable and over-reactive. She became arrogant, beligerant and very argumentative. The owner (more helpful) was able to move us to a room 'with a view', but not in the 'old' hotel. Rooms in the new hotel were poorly soundproofed, interconnecting doors were thin and the slightest sounds could be heard clearly from adjacent rooms.

On the second morning, due to 'a sudden influx of guests', there was no ham, cheese or even bread, for breakfast. We had a wait of 40 mins for a cup of tea, and were offered watered-down orange juice. Staff appeared to rather do other tasks than serve.

We were booked for a week, but checked out after only three days.

This hotel is in a lovely, quiet position, with attractive gardens and pool, within walking distance of the lively town. It is exceptionally clean and excellent value. Such a shame that our experience there was marred by misleading hotel information on booking, and a very rude, unwelcoming member of staff who took exception to our perfectly reasonable query about this.

Montecatini Terme is a bustling, lively town with oodles of excellent restaurants, and an excellent base for visiting Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena etc. Recommended.

  • Liked — The situation, gardens, pool, good value, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Misleading website info., rude member of staff, lack of food for b'fast
  • Tips/Secrets — Check with hotel which of the 2 properties your room is situated, new or old. No soundproofing in new!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

Excellent hotel. Well furnished spacious bedrooms with elegant public rooms. Beautiful garden and terraces. Nice pool area. Service excellent very helpful and welcoming.Breakfast good.
Though a little out of town pleasant walk to town or to the funicular to Montecatina Alte.Car necessary.
Would highly recommend this accomadation excellent value for money a gem.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago North Suburbs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2005

We stayed at Villa Maria in Montecatini Terme for 4 days in March. The rooms are clean and adequete. The grounds in which the house is on are beautiful. Outdoor pool, boci ball court, Huge patio to have your morning coffee on. Located just 40 miles outside of Florence is an easy drive in. Also not far is Lucca and Collodi. Cinque Terra also accessable. You would need a cab to get to the train station, but all in all location is quiet and comfortable. Only B&B I know of with an elevator.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#21 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#27 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa le Magnolie
Villa le Magnolie
#46 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#18 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cappelli
Hotel Cappelli
#37 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Via Maona 21, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Maria boasts a new concept in luxury accommodation, offering 31 rooms, furnished in a warm, cosy manner, featuring vibrant colours, elegance and style. The establishment offers nothing but the latest in comfort and technology. Not to mention that from selected rooms you can enjoy a relaxing view. All rooms are tastefully furbished to offer a home-away-from-home feeling and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing