We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely old hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minerva Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Minerva Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 14, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was part of a Cosmos tour and we stayed at Minerva for 1 night. My room was small with a single bed but as I was only using it to sleep and the water was nice and hot, it was all I needed. The breakfast next morning was one of the best so far on my tour - with lovely bacon and eggs and this is the first time toast was available. We had an included dinner in the hotel which included chunky vegetable soup, a pasta dish, chicken and green beans and a cake/icecream slice for dessert - all were very nice. Besides the best breakfast so far, Minerva had the best cappuccino I had tasted so far. Thank you to the lovely man behind the bar who made it for me. I found the staff in the restaurant and bar to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineH4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
26
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Thank you Hotel Minerva for making our stay in Montecatini extra special. Special thanks to Mary for making our dinner and breakfast very pleasing and very memorable. This is one experience that my family and I will never forget:-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeShe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Although the hotel is in a central area it is very dated and the upkeep poor. The room was very depressing with a bad smell. The shutter and the lock were very difficult to open. The A worn patch on the carpet. Peeling ceiling in the bathroom. The air conditioning worked constantly and we did not manage to turn it off at night. The bathroom was also dated but roomy with running hot water. Buffet breakfast was average but plenty. The evening meal was very good. The staff in the restaurant very friendly and helpful. We traveled in a group but I would not choose this hotel again. The general atmosphere is very depressing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Cute old hotel, lovely location. My favorite bathroom, large with huge bathtub. We were on first floor above lobby with lovely balcony. Quite frankly I do not remember the food . The breakfast was fine, the only that I recall scrambled folks their eggs and served hot right onto their plates. One friendly older guy waiter, and a very unfriendly blonde older woman.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel must have been something spectacular during its day.  Stayed here as part of a high school group during the March break.  It's a bit dated but the rooms were spacious for Europe.  The beds were a bit hard and the pillows a bit flat.  Although the hotel was not noisy, voices and noises traveled quite easily though out.  The bathroom again was a bit dated but very roomy.  I would have loved to explore around the hotel more but there was never time.  The area looked interesting.  The food for supper was excellent and the service excellent.  Breakfast was also fairly good with a variety of bread, meats, fruits cheeses and cereals.  Wireless internet was available for a $5 fee.  The was also a good variety of juices and coffees available.  Other than the fact that it needs an update, the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever seen in Europe. Al-tough located in convenient location, food and breakfast worst. Bad service. Lousy staff. Very bad rooms. Suffocating in summer as no fans and no breeze from outside. Horrible experience. Never to stay again. Needs lot of renovation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarajog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minervapalace, Direttore at Hotel Minerva Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir ,
we are very sorry and so surprised about it. It's difficult for us to understand it, because all reviews about our hotel are very different.
Then, we cannot find out, how the fan in your room was off as usually, air conditioning system is working 24 hours per day.
Really we cannot believe that you are talking about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely old world hotel in a geat location (centre of town is short walk). Unfortunately, the rooms stink of cigarette smoke and showing the years. The rooms do have a fridge. The food at the hotel was not great. Try something in town. For ice-cream head to Giovanini in town, known for its homemade ice-cream. Note that the hotel does charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as the street is noisy with late night revelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#1 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Magg...
#8 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
#15 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tettuccio
Grand Hotel Tettuccio
#29 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva Palace

Property: Hotel Minerva Palace
Address: Via Cavour 14, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minerva Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Minerva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing