We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with air-condtioning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
West midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Problems with air-condtioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour and had four nights here.
The first room on the second floor was very nice but I couldn't sleep due to the room being far too hot and air conditioning not working properly.
After two night they moved us to the basement and we were able to control the air conditioning and was thus able to sleep. However, the room was grotty and had a damp smell to it.
The reception staff were unfriendly and I would definitely not go back to the hotel. WE went in the middle of august and there were hardly anybody apart from our tour staying there. I am sure there must be lots more hotels you can go to.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    52
    38
    29
    27
See reviews for
28
106
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we pulled up to this hotel I thought the grounds were just beautiful, almost mansion-like, with a beautiful pool out back. This is where the fantasy stops. We had a terrible room....in the basement! It smelled so bad of mold and mildew and the carpets were damp. The bathroom light was terrible, so dark and everything was in general OLD. My friend went to get in the shower and grabbed the bar in the tub and almost pulled it off the wall! Underneath is was all corroded and rusty. They obviously have electrical problems here too. I went to dry my hair with my dryer, using the proper converters, and ended up blowing out the electricity in the hotel. Or maybe the problem was several people were using the electricity at the same time.

Then our two friends were staying in the room next to us and they went to open the sliding patio door, which was a huge door, and the thing came off the track and almost crushed them both. I also heard about the cat burglars but apparently this has been a problem for quite some time. I'm sure there are a lot nicer hotels in Montecatini and I would definitely stay elsewhere next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room out of the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had a nice large room, bedroom, sitting room, two bathrooms. Service was spotty.

BEWARE, they do not tell you that they have a serious problem with cat burglars, I woke up to one in my room, and he ran out the second bathroom balcony, only getting my companion's purse. The police, when we made the report say it is common and that they will climb to the fourth floor. The security guard was no where to be found, until I started ringing the alarm in the elevator. He insinuated it was our fault because our window was open (we were fairly high up). He said it shows on the computer. He said it a couple times. The following morning the lady at the front desk, also accused us of keeping our window open, and to use the air conditioning.

There is no warning to keep the windows closed, no note, no attempt at putting in a security device that lets the window open slightly for air (other hotels I stayed at in Tuscany let the window tilt slightly in from the top). I met one other person staying at the hotel who was at the same conference, and he too was ripped off, but he didn't wake up and they cleaned him out including computer, camera, money, etc.

Given that this occurred with me and the only other person I knew at the hotel, and given the attitude of the security and front desk, and given the complete lack of warning or other measures to curb the incidence of ROBBERS IN YOU ROOM WHILE YOU SLEEP, and concerning the police also says it happens all the time, I couldn't help but think that the hotel or at least some of their employees were complicit with the thieves.

Room Tip: Get one on the pool side, I think the mold was in the ones on the spa side. Don't leave your w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wnmkr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our hotel room was huge...4 rooms for th 2 of us: an entryway, with a chair, sitting room with couch, desk, tv and balcony, bathroom and bedroom with balcony.

It was hard to get service at the bar...we melting having to too the recption area an ask for a bartender, but al in all, thi was by far th nicest hotel we stayed at during our Cosmos tour.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ToucanBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed there with our family in September and where pleasantly surprised, after reading all the previous reviews here. The service was on top of everything and the breakfast had everything you would have wanted. The front desk staff was knowledgeable of the area and very friendly. They made us choose between two different sections of the hotel and the rooms were well maintained, very spacious and clean. The dinner was traditional Italian and authentic'. The Hotel is situated just behind the Spa's of Monecatini and walking distance through the park to all the stores. We were lucky to get a relaxing massage while our kids had fun in the outdoor pool.
The Hotel staff must have taken the previous comments here to heart, because we had an excellent stay and I would definitely recommend the place to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

What a disappointment. Mold, mildew, peeling wallpaper in the halls. Ugh! At least the room was spacious and the bathroom was one of the largest we encountered while touring Italy. Our bathroom had standing water a couple inched deep in one corner. The breakfast was impressive but I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliRob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I read the earlier reviews and was afraid to stay here to say the least but since my husband and I were traveling with a group we didn't have a say. We stayed here for 6 nights.

The room was fine but nothing special for a 5 star rating which this hotel doesn't deserve. It was clean and neat as a pin with a generous bed, two bathrooms, a very large closet and lovely balcony with chairs and a table. However, it was very outdated and the bathroom tub and shower had some mildew and an unreliable shower. Also, our phone never worked. After reading reviews I am beginning to think that the phones never work in this hotel. Also, only some of the outlets worked to recharge camera batteries and phones so keep that in mind if you're there for more than a one night.

The food was actually pleasant and delicious. Breakfast was hearty by Italian standards with yummy brioche, rolls, bread, yogurt, cereals, juices, hard boiled eggs, cold cuts and cheese. It certainly filled us up daily. Even the milk for the coffee was warm which was a nice touch. Dinner was equally pleasant aside from the 'fresh fruit' for dessert which turned out to be canned fruit cocktail. It became a tour joke.

The service at this hotel was NOT good except for housekeeping. The wake up calls were a nightmare. The night porter literally slept (snored) on the job. The bartender was crabby and rude. Our tour director had to fight to get breakfast served at 7 am.

The common spaces were lovely. The lobby was comfortable and welcoming. The pool area was beautiful. All these spaces were clean and well kept. The location on Montecatini was perfect. Close enough to walk to shops and restaurants but far enough to be quiet at night with windows open.

I would love to recommend this hotel to a friend but I couldn't do it without giving them a full disclosure and letting them know that they could wind up in the basement which some on our tour did. They all said those rooms were damp and unpleasant. What sort of 5 star establishment is willing to risk their reputation over that? Apparently the owners of this hotel don't care. Tour groups keep booking here for unknown reasons.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristiLaCrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#10 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#21 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#13 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel

Property: Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel
Address: Viale Fedeli No 2, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Bellavista Palace E Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Bellavista Palace e Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing