We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA(Montecatini Terme)(Great Value!)
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel & La Pace(Montecatini Terme)
$181
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montebello(Montecatini Terme)(Great Value!)
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ercolini & Savi(Montecatini Terme)(Great Value!)
$74
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Boston(Montecatini Terme)(Great Value!)
$66
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambasciatori Palace(Montecatini Terme)
$508
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Tettuccio(Montecatini Terme)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montecatini Palace(Montecatini Terme)
$142
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Puccini(Montecatini Terme)
$134
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
653
250
55
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
250
55
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotelshort strolltrain stationtour groupdining roomgate tourrecommend this hotellovely roomthe wait staffbeautiful parkswimming poolvery pleasant stayexploring tuscanylocation was perfectlovely townreception deskscrambled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 988 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Montecatini Terme is an excellent base for exploring Tuscany. The Francia & Quirinale a friendly family run hotel with incredibly helpful staff in a very convenient location within comfortable walking distance of the train station making Florence, Lucca, Pisa & Varregio easily accessible. Fabio on reception was absolutely charming giving a great impression as you walk through the door and amazingly helpful throughout our stay. Guiseppe, Ricardo & Adrianna very efficiently managing the dining room with a smile & a joke no matter how busy and Roberto the bar manager was exceptional radiating warmth and humour and really added a personal touch to our family holiday. Ok didn't see all the rooms but the public areas are all tastefully decorated and comfortable as was our junior suite no complaints at all. We found the food to be very good, fresh very tuscan in style with a plentiful vegetable buffet every evening and ample portions. Would acknowledge that the large tour parties occasionally present were perhaps not faring so well and did seem to have a different level of food choice but were thankfully sectioned well away from other guests at both breakfast and dinner. Would happily return and have no compunction recommending to friends. Would also happily recommend Bar Concordio just down the road from the hotel, a newly opened family run wine bar with staff as welcoming and considerate as those in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris16557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend & i were also on a Great Rail holiday & found this hotel to be a great disappointment, our twin room looked out over a couple of lean-to outbuildings which housed the kitchen area between our hotel & that next door, also next doors bottle bank which had the previous days bottles tipped in at 6am every day - very much a room without a view!!!
The bathroom although spacious had a very inefficient shower & no curtain to prevent the floor flooding. The bath towels were thin & face towels were only cotton teatowels.
The food was appalling & the dining room resembled Butlins in the fifties with plastic tablecloths & paper napkins.
Most certainly NOT a 4* hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmolePetworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights from 25th June to 2nd July 2013 after our original hotel closed down just before we were due to go on holiday, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Giuseppe, Ricardo, Roberto and Adrianna were great members of staff who made us feel very welcome and were good fun to have around. Everyday everything in the hotel seemed very well organised, our room was kept spotless by the cleaning staff who also did an excellent job.
We hope to get back to this hotel as it proved to be a nice place to stay and we will happily stay here again.
Thank you Hotel Francia & Quinale for helping to make our first stay in Italy an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: we were above the front entrance door and at the top of the stairs to the 1st floor so it could be noisy early morning (nothing we couldn't live with), a room on a higher floor would be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbandouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are just back from an escorted rail journey in Tuscany and stayed 7 days at this hotel. I had looked at the reviews and pictures before I left and was looking forward to staying there. How wrong can you be. When we arrived the public rooms and bar were classy and tidy. We were checked in and went to our room. Nothing like the pictures. 2 very hard single beds, view out onto the wall of the next door hotel and very tired decor. We had to keep the shutters closed for privacy. Bathroom was quite big but the bath had a shower on a pole against the wall and no shower screen or curtain. I went back to reception and enquired why no shower screen and the girl on reception just shrugged and said it was normal. Had a shower that night and had to bend over to get under the shower head. Needless to say water went everywhere and bathroom floor was very wet. A slip on the floor would have injured you badly. Next day went back to reception and asked to be moved. Girl I saw then was very helpful and got us shifted to a room with shower cubicle.Still dated but safer.
Then we come to the food. There was a menu outside the dining room but we didn't get any of it. Dining room was separated so that our large group ate on large tables. First meal veg was processed mushy peas. Another night we had spinach boiled within an inch of its life. No effort was put into the food and most times just slopped on the plate. One night I had what was supposed to be York ham. It was a processed meat of which I had 2 slices, no more than a dessert spoon of mashed potato and 5 slices of carrot. That night nearly everyone sent their food back to the kitchen. There was mixed salad every night as a starter which was lettuce, a couple of slices of cucumber and a couple of bits of tomato. To vary it they added grated carrot. Our tour manager complained and the next night we had parma ham and melon then after that back to mixed salad.Meals had to be eaten as soon as they arrived at the table as only luke warm with the result we were all eating at different times. At breakfast there was scrambled egg every day. One morning there was none left so my husband waited for it to be replaced. When it arrived it was cold. How can fresh stuff be cold? It says it serves Italian cuisine. We never saw that at all. We have been to Italy on several occassions in both 3* and 4* hotels and had beautiful food. What we were dished up in this hotel was most certainly not 4* standard.
The night before we left I went to reception to pay our bar bill and was told I had to pay it in the morning. As we were leaving at 7.15 and dining room opened for breakfast at 6.45 I went down at 6a.m. to settle up. The night receptionist told me to come back later as he didn't take bills at that time. I asked if he was joking and he just shrugged and went back to what he was doing before I arrived. I stood there shocked and after a few minuted he looked up again, sighed and went to a pile of invoices lying on the desk. He finally took my payment with no "thank-you" and went back to what he was doing as if I was dismissed.
I certainly felt there was a 2 tier system at this hotel and our group was definately on the lower tier for service.
In saying that the weather, train trips and places we visited were marvellous. Shame the hotel didn't live up to its pictures.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have just returned from a Great Rail Holiday and was based in this hotel for 7 nights, on arrival the hotel looked good nice reception area and bar and lounges all decorated nicely then we were given our room that was dated and in close proximity to the next hotel so we had a alleyway which also had kitchen noise from below. Due to the closeness we could see into the opposite bedrooms which meant they could see into ours , so we had to have the shutters closed which made the room very dark and had to have the lights on no matter what time of the day , size of the room was large and the bathroom was a decent size as well. We were lucky to have a shower screen on the side of the bath some rooms had neither a screen or curtain .
As for the food I don't know if its different food for different companies but what we got was not 4 Star food , we have been to Italy on numerous occasions staying in 4 Star hotels never before have we had processed meat and mushy peas and a dollop of mash potatoes for a main course , veal every night was one of the options would not be too bad if cooked properly and was presented nicely instead of being chucked on the plate . We also seemed to get a lot of mixed salad for starters consisting of a couple of shreds of lettuce 2 slices of tomato 2 slices of cucumber and some grated carrot never varied , the desserts were not much better one night a dollop of ice cream and 4 cherries of the tinned variety .This hotel prides itself on its Italian cuisine and Tuscan specialities our group on Great Rail journeys got none of this did the company pay enough for the food and rooms. The food when it arrived was not hot and the courses if you had something different did not arrive at the same time leaving you eating when others had finished . We are not picky people with our food and will try most things but often it seemed liked school dinners . It spoilt what was otherwise a nice holiday the town itself was very nice and the trips we went on were good the hotel really needs to get its act together with the food or they will start losing people on the Great Rail journeys others who had been on similar trips this was the worst one and we will not be going on any more with Great Rail . The whole group complained about the food not just us ,even the tour manager complained so something was amiss.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a front or rear room also some rooms do have a proper shower enclosure
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews