We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Ambrosiano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambrosiano Hotel
Ranked #89 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for three nights last week. The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very nice and just in the center of the city, near also to the Spa establishments. My room was clean and large with a balcony facing on the main street and with every kind of comfort. The bathroom was also a nice size with . Breakfast was just ok. Dinner also was good with choice for the first and the second course. The salad buffet was really a surprise; every kind of fresh vegetables on it and also a lot of typical tuscan dishes. If you are planning a stay in Montecatini I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a coach load of friends and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The owners were more than helpful and were available and seen by guests more often than not.

The rooms could do with a facelift and some more modern facilities and were quite small, but otherwise very clean.

There is a very nice swimming pool which very cleverly is floored over of an evening and doubles up as a dance floor

The food was much better than expected and definitely better than what is normally served up to "groups"

There was a lot of noise outside but it was a very special weekend with a Harley Davison motorbike convention on then football celebrations so I wouldn't expect that level of disturbance normally

All in all - excellent location for trips out and sightseeing, very clean, excellent staff and good food - would stay again if in the area

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank KathandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Having read reviews I entered this hotel dreading what I was going to find, however I was very pleasantly surprised. I agree that rooms are very dated and a bit like cell block H, noise from outside does keep you awake at night - sirens wailing, football fans celebrating and motor bikes roaring but it won't be every day that Harley Davison hold a convention in Montecatini or Juventus beat Milan!! The food, staff and communal areas more than make up for the bedrooms and after all they are only for sleeping in. The attention given to my husband was the best we have received anywhere at home or abroad. As a coeliac he is unable to eat gluten and invariably ends up with plates of salad. Not so here, the staff ensured he had a varied diet of gluten-free foods even providing gluten-free pasta - nothing was too much trouble for them. My overall rating therefore is higher than it would have been without the food experience but we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony to allow more air into the room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a holiday touring Italy for our Florence and Pisa stops.

Our initial impressions weren't great as the room we had was quite small and dhingy and painted in the most hideous 'prison' green colour. This prison impression also wasn't helped by the metal shutters that covered the small window. (It took me a while to figure out how to open them as they slid sideways rather than opened outwards as I expected!)

The bed wasn't the best quality but we slept well. The aircon also wasn't great but at least worked a little bit although noisy.

All this aside though the hotel and rooms were kept very clean and it was generally comfortable.

We ate at the hotel restaurant as part of the package and the food was not bad although a bit salty for me. House wine was reasonanbly priced but other drinks were quite pricey although I put this down to the poor Eur-£ exchange rate. The restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly but as seems to be the case a lot in Italy, poorly organised!

The hotel had an indoor pool but amusingly you had to wear a swimming cap to use it! We didn't bother using it but it did look ok although it was literally right next to the restaurant tables.

Overall the hotel was ok but i wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than the 3 nights we were there. Montecattini Terme itself is quite a nice town and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front of the hotel as the main road outside is quite noisy all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rorsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is on a busy street so if you stay at the front be prepared for a lot of noise. The room we had was basic, but very clean, the air conditioning was ineffective and could not be adjusted.

The food was awful, breakfast consisted of cereals that were put out the night before and not covered and a few cakes and biscuits. The evening meal was of a canteen like quality.

The plus side is that the hotel is on the main street within walking distance of lots of bars, cafes and shops.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Goasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very dirty and uncomfortable hotel. Need a renovation. Bad food. Better stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdaBrzeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Noisy location on main shopping street. Air conditioning available but not effective .Breakfast is basic whilst dinners are average with deserts consisting of a variety of cake.
The staff, including the management, are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#10 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Innocenti
Hotel Innocenti
#73 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#16 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tettuccio
Grand Hotel Tettuccio
#26 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Nizza et Suisse
Grand Hotel Nizza et Suisse
#31 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosiano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosiano Hotel

Address: Corso Giacomo Matteotti 65, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambrosiano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambrosiano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosiano Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing