We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but the rooms are a bit 'Cell Block H'..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambrosiano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambrosiano Hotel
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok but the rooms are a bit 'Cell Block H'..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a holiday touring Italy for our Florence and Pisa stops.

Our initial impressions weren't great as the room we had was quite small and dhingy and painted in the most hideous 'prison' green colour. This prison impression also wasn't helped by the metal shutters that covered the small window. (It took me a while to figure out how to open them as they slid sideways rather than opened outwards as I expected!)

The bed wasn't the best quality but we slept well. The aircon also wasn't great but at least worked a little bit although noisy.

All this aside though the hotel and rooms were kept very clean and it was generally comfortable.

We ate at the hotel restaurant as part of the package and the food was not bad although a bit salty for me. House wine was reasonanbly priced but other drinks were quite pricey although I put this down to the poor Eur-£ exchange rate. The restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly but as seems to be the case a lot in Italy, poorly organised!

The hotel had an indoor pool but amusingly you had to wear a swimming cap to use it! We didn't bother using it but it did look ok although it was literally right next to the restaurant tables.

Overall the hotel was ok but i wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than the 3 nights we were there. Montecattini Terme itself is quite a nice town and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front of the hotel as the main road outside is quite noisy all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rorsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    32
    37
    48
See reviews for
57
63
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is on a busy street so if you stay at the front be prepared for a lot of noise. The room we had was basic, but very clean, the air conditioning was ineffective and could not be adjusted.

The food was awful, breakfast consisted of cereals that were put out the night before and not covered and a few cakes and biscuits. The evening meal was of a canteen like quality.

The plus side is that the hotel is on the main street within walking distance of lots of bars, cafes and shops.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Goasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very dirty and uncomfortable hotel. Need a renovation. Bad food. Better stay away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaBrzeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

stafford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Noisy location on main shopping street. Air conditioning available but not effective .Breakfast is basic whilst dinners are average with deserts consisting of a variety of cake.
The staff, including the management, are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henry38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore Worcs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Too often when checking out an hotel I come across reviews which are negative and mean-spirited. Such was the case when consulting the majority of these before my trip to Montecatini. Yet again, I found that the only way to judge is on personal experience.For a three-star hotel Ambrosiano represents good value for money.
I agree that the hotel would benefit from a facelift but the most important aspects that a traveller looks for were in place.the rooms weren't large but were completely adequate and who spends much time in the hotel room when on holiday? The standard of cleanliness was exceptionally high: bedlinen and towels were expertly laundered and regularly changed. Food was generally good and in plentiful supply; the salad buffets were very impressive and on one evening a candle-lit dinner was served and entertainment provided.
Every member of the hotel staff , from the owners to the chambermaids and the entire restaurant team was helpful and superbly efficient
I agree that some people might have found that the late evenings could be noisy but, after all, the hotel is on the main street and Montecatini is a lively and busy town.
If you're looking for a value for money holiday there is much to recommend this hotel. If you want more then I'm afraid you'll have to dig deeper in your pockets.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank LizKPershoreWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

After reading earlier reviews on the AMBROSIANO we were considering eating dinner elsewhere, even though we had paid for half-board.However,we found the food never less than acceptable and on most days it was very good.
Thebed rooms were clean and tidy and ,although some of the furniture was a little past its best, nice and bright.
It could be a little noisy at night, but we did have the advantage of being in the centre of the town.
The staff were friendly and hardworking.
Overall good value for a 3 star hotel in the middle of Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BridgnorthKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

The hotel is modestly equipped. All rooms have en-suite facilities but they are generally small. Our shower cubicle was small enough that you banged your elbows on it when trying to wash and couldn't pick the soap up if you dropped it! The towels were like giant tea-towels - really thin and not enough to dry you properly.
It is advertised as Air Conditioned but the units were too small for the size of the room meaning you had to leave it on all day to make sleeping bearable. The stair well has a glazed roof turning it into a greenhouse and encouraging the upper floors to roast in the summer heat. Most communal areas were inadequately air conditioned.
The pool is in the dining room - which is a bit odd - luckily they close the pool before serving dinner. The pool was also freezing - some people found this welcoming in the 34 degree heat but even then you had to keep moving at all times to prevent your muscles seizing up.
The food was mediocre - a bit like school dinners. Breakfast wasn't great either - a choice of corn flakes or muesli and a selection of meat and cheese. Considering this is Italy - the coffee was abysmal and beyond unacceptable.
You have to pay a deposit to release the remote control for the television.
The bar was very expensive and appeared to be opened at the whim of the owners. There are plenty of good local bars outside to make up for this.
On the limited plus side, the rooms were clean and linen changed daily. The hotel is also very central with easy access to the spas and sites of the town.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The poor air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sta196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Innocenti
Hotel Innocenti
#60 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#40 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#23 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#26 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#8 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#12 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosiano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosiano Hotel

Property: Ambrosiano Hotel
Address: Corso Giacomo Matteotti 65, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambrosiano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Ambrosiano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosiano Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing